Yeah it's trueOriginally posted by hisoka:well truth is jc is probably better for the more academically inclined.
but as i said it might even be faster via poly and you have a back up plan if you don't do well. during my time never thoguth of poly cos jcs was like automatic entry into uni at about 80 or 90% rates of entering uni
yah lor.Originally posted by hisoka:![]()
reminds me of how singapore has no protection at all for pple earning above 1.6k![]()
yeah which is why pple wanna go poly.Originally posted by sbst275:Yeah it's true
But discrimination shouldn't be there if they are really want to open up more places for poly grads.
But I think now no more 80 - 90% liao bah
I think for dip holders, they can apply to any degree courses right? A lvl cert holders they still wanna see the subjects they took right?Originally posted by hisoka:yeah which is why pple wanna go poly.
i guess it applies to those more average students.
on the other hand, the better ones doesn''t matter where they go still can go uni but they might take poly cos if they then go some unis overseas can save 1 or 2 years
come on the chinese now is like so easy compared to alst timeOriginally posted by Fatum:I think it still is bah ....
my biggest fear of going to JC was not surviving mother tongue, it's my worse grade ... even though at B3 people still say it's a pretty decent score ...
so ....... I went to poly instead ... no regrets ... but then during NS I met kantangs who speaks mandarin like ang mohs do .... and they passed !!! ... I felt like kicking myself back then ... fark, if they could do it, I certainly could have !!! ...
yah, but my chaps were like only two years younger than me what ...Originally posted by hisoka:come on the chinese now is like so easy compared to alst time![]()
well you can either be the good guy and keep quiet do the same and hope don't get injured. or be the bad guy and either tell them to do it or complain to the managment about it but be sure nto to get injured during the carryingOriginally posted by av98m:And this sometimes bugs me:
the very people supposed to do the heavy lifting (move, carry heavy objects or misc manual labour) at my workplace are often too old, or have health problems, or just simply too weak. So I end up doing it myself most of the time. Now, if I get injured in the process, I don't get jacks_shit.
This happens only once in a while of course, its not a regular thing. Still, I've got to look out for myself. No one's going to sympathise with me if I mess up my backOriginally posted by hisoka:well you can either be the good guy and keep quiet do the same and hope don't get injured. or be the bad guy and either tell them to do it or complain to the managment about it but be sure nto to get injured during the carrying![]()
oh yeah ... they certainly have a surfeit of pride .... just like the other asian giant ...Originally posted by av98m:
"face reality and admit that many of the new expatriates will come here, make money and disappear, either to a new destination in a global world where their skills are in greater demand or back to their home countries which are throwing up opportunities galore."Originally posted by av98m:
That was the reason why I didn't opt for JC tooOriginally posted by Fatum:I think it still is bah ....
my biggest fear of going to JC was not surviving mother tongue, it's my worse grade ... even though at B3 people still say it's a pretty decent score ...
so ....... I went to poly instead ... no regrets ... but then during NS I met kantangs who speaks mandarin like ang mohs do .... and they passed !!! ... I felt like kicking myself back then ... fark, if they could do it, I certainly could have !!! ...
Thanks to the tactics taught by my chinese teacher I actually scored a B4. without bothering to study. I was running down the corridor and skipping and prancing with joyOriginally posted by the Bear:fatum want to die izzit?
only if there is a miracle that i can get anywhere near B3 for my chinese which had an average of F9 no matter what i did
in JC, i had a couple of F9s and by a stroke of some miracle, i improved to an E8
Originally posted by av98m:Thanks to the tactics taught by my chinese teacher I actually scored a B4. I was running down the corridor and skipping and prancing with joy![]()
I still remember the gist of what he told us:
1. For all multiple choice questions, just pick the odd answer
e.g. if you understand 3 of the choices but not the 4th one, pick the 4th option
if you do not understand 3 of the choices, pick the one you understand
if half, half, anyhow choose. Dun bother spending too much time reading the passages.
2. For compo, use the simplest chinese to write. Use only words you understand instead of trying to use cheem words. Don't be afraid to write like a primary school kid even though this is the AO levels. The idea is to minimise mistakes![]()
ahahhahahahhaa....thats what i did for my O levels chinese...Originally posted by av98m:Thanks to the tactics taught by my chinese teacher I actually scored a B4. I was running down the corridor and skipping and prancing with joy![]()
I still remember the gist of what he told us:
1. For all multiple choice questions, just pick the odd answer
e.g. if you understand 3 of the choices but not the 4th one, pick the 4th option
if you do not understand 3 of the choices, pick the one you understand
if half, half, anyhow choose. Dun bother spending too much time reading the passages.
2. For compo, use the simplest chinese to write. Use only words you understand instead of trying to use cheem words. Don't be afraid to write like a primary school kid even though this is the AO levels. The idea is to minimise mistakes![]()
I could only recognise like 50% of the words or less.Originally posted by the Bear:it didn't help because i could not read most of the words
i think i'll have problems passing primary school CL2 now
Originally posted by av98m:I could only recognise like 50% of the words or less.
Irony is, my chinese is better today than ever before because I started reading manga during my NS, and I haven't stopped.![]()
Reading that article, I felt that pride in our country is something we can really learn from themOriginally posted by the Bear:anyway, the powers are sewing their eyes shut to those who came here, took citizenship, squeezed us for what we are worth and then renounced it to go back to their own homeland..
heck.. a table-tennis player just did that.. Egmar Concalves did that too...
if they won medals or merit "for singapore", it is all pointless because ultimately, we bought them..
well inow i could read but i would fail my essay straight of for not being able to write 1 in eveyr 2 wordsOriginally posted by the Bear:it didn't help because i could not read most of the words
i think i'll have problems passing primary school CL2 now