it's the parents, not the system lah .... I'm sure if you give small kids a few lashes in the house the police is not going to come knocking ...Originally posted by Rhonda:Little children need, no, they WANT to be taught boundaries.
I'm not going to raise brats in Australia, where caning constitutes 'physical abuse' and scolding becomes 'verbal abuse'.![]()
As a result, look at the selfish, spoilt brats around!
Sigh... life's like that. What to do?Originally posted by Fatum:so very often in life, those that doesn't deserve to be parents often are .... but those who want kids dearly, may not be able to have them, eh ....![]()
Sigh....body must have lost the fight.Originally posted by Rhonda:YOu caught the virus / bacteria, and it was incubating inside you. Your body's immune system was alerted to their presence and was trying to fend off the attacks but failed only like 24 hours later. Something like that.
Originally posted by the Bear:fell asleep.. not faceplant dramatic but i fell asleep
argh!! 4 1/4 hours more to knocking off
Let me share a story on Central Narcotics Bureau Operation:Originally posted by Rhonda:Sigh... life's like that. What to do?
It's sad to see druggies become parents in Australia. Most of the time, women become pregnant to take advantage of the one-off cash amount given by the state govt for babies born there.It's only what... A$2000+ nia, but some of these folks are very short-sighted and never bother to think long-term.
I've seen a druggie couple with a baby in a dirty, run-down pram and the poor bub was wearing clothes that are stained and looked like they haven't been changed for days!!![]()
It was a really sad sight and an eyesore! I wish I could do something for the poor, dirty baby!
I betcha the druggie couple probably took the baby allowance from the govt, and promptly spent it on drugs!![]()
The only good thing i did was warn that fat kid that since he is not wearing glasses, to make sure that teenager isint aiming at the eyes.Originally posted by Rhonda:viciouskitty, sometimes, it's on hindsight that we realise what we should have done. Don't be too harsh on yourself. At least the next time you encounter a similar situation, you'll know what to do.
It could be because it's an unprecedented experience to us so we haven't yet formulated an action plan in our minds and we never really thought about the impact and consequences yet. We can't be lightning fast in our responses and reactions all the time but hey, your intentions were good!
But the problem is: Singapore does not have a welfare system, a foster family system to take away the baby legally from that 'mother' into better care!Originally posted by Rhonda:![]()
A mom causing her baby unnecessary pain for the sake of protecting fellow drug addicts?!![]()
Betcha she probably fell pregnant cause of some drug-induced haze!![]()
at least IPSC & some defence tactics, on disarming someone.Originally posted by Rhonda:What sort of training have you done?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:But the problem is: Singapore does not have a welfare system, a foster family system to take away the baby legally from that 'mother' into better care!
We dont have a system that can handle child under 3 years old either.
Well, on the much much too late (36 hours toooo late) hindsight.Originally posted by the Bear:i do have some kind of training.. but i would have just told the punk kid that if he plans to run around with that, that he be ready to die in a hail of bullets if there are cops around...
then i'll tell him not to shoot anyone with that coz it constitutes assault and he'll be going into a PMITA prison..
see if you can do a home commute like littlestream does ...Originally posted by elindra:Anyway my boss is like oh no over something that will happen in a yr or two
But having said that, I need someone who can cover my work if I'm not around anyway
it's going to be expensive kopi ... I think you'd need more than that ...Originally posted by kopiosatu:i've just signed the papers to plonk my entire CPF to investments.
and $5K cash too.
hopefully from the $5K cash i can get enough money to attend a college in the states
$5K is just the extra i want to pump up a little.Originally posted by Fatum:it's going to be expensive kopi ... I think you'd need more than that ...![]()