To this day, I still don't know what the *#$& is a noun, verb, adverb, adjective, and so on and so forth.Originally posted by av98m:*high fives the fudge*
I got A*, A1, A1 for PSLE Eng, O Level Eng, and GP
And up till that point I still had no fucking clue how to explain English grammar, or even what is a clause, noun, etc. Actually hor, now I also forget liao.![]()
What I did was read, read, read, and read![]()
Oh-ho! Not that easy! You're seeing rose bushes in a field of weeds! Take off your rose-tinted specs!Originally posted by stellazio:actually i am considering the prospect of a company internal audtior. but need a few years experience and abit of luck. esp for those MNCs, can travel round the world, and work lesser too.![]()
I was thinking, i'm filthy anyway, why bother?Originally posted by stellazio:same la! except u lazy to change side nia.![]()
no, i think because that time was only his 2nd month there.Originally posted by elindra:I think he telling you the slacker moments only
That or he has fine-tuned his system till he can afford to do that
But seriously usually it is like what Bear said
Originally posted by elindra:btw internal auditor is a very responsible job hor stella
I still read emails at work from people using bombastic words wronglyOriginally posted by fudgester:To this day, I still don't know what the *#$& is a noun, verb, adverb, adjective, and so on and so forth.
Back when I was in JC, my peers would often be reading through lists and lists of super-cheem words like 'garrulous' and 'salubrious'. I kept advising them against doing so, for their basic grammar was, to put it frankly, not up to standard.
I mean, if they still can't tell when to use 'every day' instead of 'everyday', then why bother trying to learn all those words? I've always been a lot more concerned with putting my points across in simple and digestible terms than trying to impress the examiner with bombastic words.
i should go check back with him again one of this days.. if he's in town, cause he work's kinda near me. shipping business too.Originally posted by elindra:btw internal auditor is a very responsible job hor stella
I can't remember, must go back and ask him again. He also taught me some army lingo - mostly bad ones.Originally posted by stellazio:i thought the maximum was 4?
side A and side B then after that turn upside down! where is the last 2?![]()
btw, i learn this in NCC.![]()
Precisely!Originally posted by elindra:I think he telling you the slacker moments only
That or he has fine-tuned his system till he can afford to do that
But seriously usually it is like what Bear said
Let's put it this way....Originally posted by av98m:I still read emails at work from people using bombastic words wrongly![]()
Originally posted by elindra:I got a A2 for english for my 'O's
and a B4 for my Lit. I got flake from my teacher
Anyway my english has gone down the drain coz I have to converse in mandarin and dialect and singlish![]()
Yeah. The worst example is getting your basic sentence structure wrong and using big words at the same time.Originally posted by fudgester:Let's put it this way....
If you don't know how to walk, then don't try to run.
If anything, I think that their strategy of leafing through all those lists of bombastic words backfired on them spectacularly. I mean, it's one thing to know the meanings of those words, but using them in the wrong context can get you into a lot of trouble.
And when you have non-existent words like 'alot' appearing in the passage, it goes to show that you're trying to hard to impress the examiners without trying to get the basics right first.![]()
I got A1 for English. And C6 for Literature.Originally posted by the Bear:oh.. my literature teech in sec 4 wanted to murder me.. i got C6
Originally posted by choco B:I believe there are jobs that entail easy work and good pay .
Just look at all the undeserving #^%@)!*s out there !
How in the blue blazers did u get a C6Originally posted by the Bear:oh.. my literature teech in sec 4 wanted to murder me.. i got C6
english has gone to blazes since talking to my friends at work, and email exchange usually consists of a lot of KNN, *^$# and hokkien obscenities
for formal work, it's hard.. you type correct grammar, you get bad grammar back...
or worse, where i work, stuff has to be "vetted" and the vetting person keeps changing the grammar into bad grammar
I got a C6 for Lit because I just plain hated shakesphere.Originally posted by fudgester:I got A1 for English. And C6 for Literature.
My Lit teacher nearly strangled me alive.... until I explained to him that I was running a very high fever at the time (which I really was).
Thank goodness I got A1 for Geography... I used that as my Humanities requirement instead of Lit.![]()
Originally posted by choco B:I believe there are jobs that entail easy work and good pay .
Just look at all the undeserving #^%@)!*s out there !
Originally posted by elindra:How in the blue blazers did u get a C6
I find that hard to believe too