*sigh* seems almost all employers screw their employees these days.Originally posted by jetta:Funny you should say that. When I started work, I told my boss that one of my conditions were: Sundays off. She said it was okay with her. Fast forward two months later, she tells me since it's a retail environment, I have to open myself up to working at least one Sunday a month, to which I agreed. The past couple of months, she's had me working almost every Sunday. Now, even though the family doesn't do much on Sundays, I just want to be home with the family and just veg out or whatever. I'm having the hardest time accepting the fact that I have to work Sundays because this is the first time I'm not in a 9-5 office environment.
Originally posted by jetta:I'm a member of this kitchen forum www.nurkochen.de Some of our members have posted cheesecake recipes there. Enjoy!![]()
Sian leh. You know lah, I have two teens in the house and I would really like to be home to be with them. I was a latchkey kid myself and I really didn't like it. I know they don't need me as much as they used to but the day will come when they go away to college and I'm going to regret not having spent time with them.Originally posted by av98m:*sigh* seems almost all employers screw their employees these days.
Often with the help of the government!(in S'pore at least)
Originally posted by jetta:Funny you should say that. When I started work, I told my boss that one of my conditions were: Sundays off. She said it was okay with her. Fast forward two months later, she tells me since it's a retail environment, I have to open myself up to working at least one Sunday a month, to which I agreed. The past couple of months, she's had me working almost every Sunday. Now, even though the family doesn't do much on Sundays, I just want to be home with the family and just veg out or whatever. I'm having the hardest time accepting the fact that I have to work Sundays because this is the first time I'm not in a 9-5 office environment.
Eh...wrong person to ask. I'm not into desserts. My gfs who like baking did try, and i think it takes quite a bit of work, and then the chocolate-cheese combo didn't quite harden well, and then the top was burnt...etc. So far, I can't say I like the result of their attempts.Originally posted by choco B:Sent!
Do you have experience in baking cheesecake?
Here's my take: you could crush Oreos and sprinkle over the top? Not that messy.Originally posted by choco B:Need to log in...
I'm thinking of giving this recipe a go, but in cupcake style:
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chantals-New-York-Cheesecake/Detail.aspx
Do you think I should add a topping? But fruit topping will be messy for storage or gifts, no?
the hilarious thing is that despite all the bullshit the pap times fed the public about trying to retain civil servants, fact is there are manpower freezes at many places and there are also others actively cutting manpower!!!Originally posted by the Bear:you know what's sad?
i work 8:30am to 6pm from mondays to fridays... and sometimes with unpaid OT because things have to be done..
now the section of 3 is being innundated with work because the boss can't seem to say NO to people, and the top refuses to increase staff.. or let us borrow staff from other sections...
I used to work in the Ad biz while in SG. During that time, I spent countless late nights at work, sometimes into AM. Unpaid of course.Originally posted by the Bear:you know what's sad?
i work 8:30am to 6pm from mondays to fridays... and sometimes with unpaid OT because things have to be done..
now the section of 3 is being innundated with work because the boss can't seem to say NO to people, and the top refuses to increase staff.. or let us borrow staff from other sections...

Originally posted by av98m:the hilarious thing is that despite all the bullshit the pap times fed the public about trying to retain civil servants, fact is there are manpower freezes at many places and there are also others actively cutting manpower!!!![]()
Would you consider moving onto new territory then? Or would a move be too difficult?Originally posted by the Bear:retain?
they seem to retain the REMFs who do nothing but cause more inconsequential and unnessary work to be added to the diminishing force of people who actually do the work..
the REMFs get the pay increases, while those who do the work get financially sodomised..
which was why i was telling someone last night that this is soooo familiar to me..
Originally posted by Wanda:Eh...wrong person to ask. I'm not into desserts. My gfs who like baking did try, and i think it takes quite a bit of work, and then the chocolate-cheese combo didn't quite harden well, and then the top was burnt...etc. So far, I can't say I like the result of their attempts.
I think I will try to bake some muffins next.
Originally posted by jetta:Would you consider moving onto new territory then? Or would a move be too difficult?
Originally posted by jetta:Here's my take: you could crush Oreos and sprinkle over the top? Not that messy.
Then you would get the mess that you said you didn't want/need.Originally posted by choco B:That's an idea
What about if I dissolve some jelly powder into canned cherries? Then slopping it on the top of the chees cupcakes?
Try it then... you'll never know.Originally posted by choco B:Hahahah *worrried*
That recipe is supposed to be idiot-proof... was thinking of trying for my extended family Mother's Day celebration this Sunday
I was about to page for you.Originally posted by Ferret:Morning....i heard food again....![]()
Originally posted by Ferret:Morning....i heard food again....![]()
Jettie~~~!!!~Originally posted by jetta:I was about to page for you.Hi Ferrie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ho boh? Are you still in retail?
Your food is not here.Originally posted by Ferret:Morning....i heard food again....![]()
*being orbit* Paging for Ferrie.... Paging for Ferrie...Originally posted by Ferret:Jettie~~~!!!~
page ?
wah lao. so orbit liao.
>.<"
yah. now at work![]()
How much does it cost per visit?Originally posted by the Bear:i was under the care of one... but then, hey.. it's bloody expensive!
anyway, nothing a lot of rest can't heal
Fancy video~Originally posted by av98m:![]()
Morning~Originally posted by Wanda:Your food is not here.Morning Ferret.