Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:Made a trip to ICA this morning. Wah... the queue to get in was so long!Got there at 7.45 & there were already like 300+ people in front of me in the queue.
Anyway, by the time I got out of the building with my new biometric passport, it was nearly 9.30am.![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Bear, since you're having a busy weekend with hardly a break, shouldn't you try to go to bed now?At least get enough rest, y'know? Otherwise, how to survive the coming week ahead?
Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:Made a trip to ICA this morning. Wah... the queue to get in was so long!Got there at 7.45 & there were already like 300+ people in front of me in the queue.
Anyway, by the time I got out of the building with my new biometric passport, it was nearly 9.30am.![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:![]()
Well, actually come to think of it, they worked fast. If you were to do the same thing in Australia, think you'd still be waiting at 11:30am!![]()
I'll remember NOT to go to ICA during school hols (or, even come back for a visit during school hols come to think of it!Originally posted by the Bear:it's the school holidays...
this happens EVERYTIME!
so much so we've given up putting up advisories.. because they never work as no one reads or listens...
Ya boy. I can't imagine... I think I'll start growing white hair just waiting in the queue liao.Originally posted by Rhonda:![]()
Well, actually come to think of it, they worked fast. If you were to do the same thing in Australia, think you'd still be waiting at 11:30am!![]()
Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:I'll remember NOT to go to ICA during school hols (or, even come back for a visit during school hols come to think of it!) My gosh... I was told people started queuing from 6.30 am!
But I like the epok epok at the cafeteria...![]()
Actually I was pretty impressed at the service once I got into the building!Originally posted by the Bear:remember to tell people that...
we still get 'complaints' that we're slow.. nevermind that they insist on coming during the beginning of the school holiday season..
Eh... dun complain leh, I think you guys have pretty good stuff compared to some of the food people eat in Sydney.Originally posted by the Bear:ewwww.. us guys there say the canteen simulated food is unfit for human consumption
maybe we're spoilt for choice with the North Bridge Road market, Golden Mile Market and the good stuff over at King George estate
currently sipping a bottle of Limonya.. just finished a bottle of Black (the blackcurrant version) and now on the lemon version.. is good stuff
Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:Actually I was pretty impressed at the service once I got into the building!Friendly, courteous staff, and even tho there were lots of people around, staff were stationed almost everywhere to guide people as to where to queue up.
Also heard a lady telling her friend "This is the fast part... once u get a number & wait to be called, very fast already lor!"![]()
Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:Eh... dun complain leh, I think you guys have pretty good stuff compared to some of the food people eat in Sydney.
Sandwiches, sandwiches, and more sandwiches! Roast pork sandwich, beef sandwiches, cheese & tomato sandwiches, vegemite sandwichesI mean, once in awhile is ok... but I don't think I can tahan eating sandwiches every day.
Ya... that's right, no matter how hard we try sometimes, we can never please 100% of our customers.Originally posted by the Bear:we spoilt our citizens...
we're not happy with it but a past No.1 listened to the con-men-sultant so much that we were hamstringing ourselves.. to the extent of compromising security..
now, we have a steady No.1 who told us: do what you can, be courteous and never compromise security.. never try to satisfy the 1% who will complain no matter what we do..
he's right.. and hey, as long as we do our duties well, and people are reasonable, everyone is happy
hope your experience with us was good
One of my friends who moved from Sydney to Melb said he preferred Melb much better cos there was so much FOOD around!Originally posted by the Bear:i like melbourne better..
sandwiches, pho, souvlaki, noodles, pizza, pasta...
Actually, I think our civil service scores tops! The CID lady at the counter when I tried to get my police clearance was very patient in explaining to me why I needed an extra letter before the procedure can be done. She was very sweet-natured.Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:Ya... that's right, no matter how hard we try sometimes, we can never please 100% of our customers.
Haven't had any bad experience with ICA...Even though the staff who served me today was very very busy, she still was able to make small talk with me... it's a refreshing change from the stoney faced staff I see so often in stores/shops across the island!
Izzit you take time off to celebrate me not being around anymore, ah?Originally posted by the Bear:oh.. talking about being tired a while ago, my boss told me to take the day off on monday.. but there's a meeting she told me to attend too
good right?
hopefully, after this week, i can take some time off
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, I didn't eat much mee pok (twice nia) nor wanton mee (none at all!) whilst here because ... the Mee Pok and Wanton Mee at Singapore Chom Chom is really goooood!!
I'm quite surprised that Melbourne has more food varieties compared to Sydney cause I thought in Sydney, the restaurants are also very cosmopolitan?Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:One of my friends who moved from Sydney to Melb said he preferred Melb much better cos there was so much FOOD around!I must really try & make it to Melb sometime this or next year, seeing I've a few friends / relatives there
Nope, I haven't gone there. The Singapore Chom Chom restaurant sells wanton mee just like theirs.Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:
You mean you didn't go to that stall in Lucky Plaza for wanton mee?
After you brought me there last time, I kept thinking about how yummy the wanton mee is!! Yummm..... I think I may go there tomorrow for lunch![]()
ROFL!Originally posted by the Bear:oh.. talking about being tired a while ago, my boss told me to take the day off on monday.. but there's a meeting she told me to attend too
good right?
hopefully, after this week, i can take some time off