*nods head*Originally posted by elindra:I guess to me I have never held tradition as one of my values (which is bad)
Then again, my family have never been one that is traditional. (My dad also thinks just ROM can liao)
To me it is just a ceremony and something done because "it has always been done in the past"
Plus, it is not something recognized in the eyes of law
Therefore to me the ROM is more important than the Tea ceremony
I don't consider myself not married because I didn't go through the tea ceremony (which is really a flawed thinking that alot of singaporeans have)
I don't know how you could do that in 3 months. I supposed we chose to do the wedding formally. Also in Oz, the reception venue got booked fairly quickly so you need to book it at least a year in advance especially you want it on weekend and the Spring season.Originally posted by elindra:A yr? We only had 3 months which really was only a month planning for us coz I had a biz trip and was busy
Heck I flew back like a day before my wedding
But everything was indoors for mine so it's ok
Only sad thing was my best friend didn't come for my wedding coz she was seriously ill
Yup yup yup I agree on thatOriginally posted by Wanda:*nods head*
I'm more concerned about making my marriage work...and lasts. It's a continuous work-in-progress.
i sat in a rolls royce before back when i was in pri 6. this mother of an indo chinese classmate of mine drove the grp of us to his hse.Originally posted by honeymouse:We picked a Rolls Royce because I wanted to spoil my parents with the experience of being in a Rolls Royce.
Originally posted by elindra:Yup yup yup I agree on that
I had too many friends whom I see went through everything and spend a huge bomb and their marriage don't even last 6 mths![]()
which, u r not allowed to touch, considering its...Originally posted by the Bear:leers rhymes with.. beers
Thanks don don. Ha ha.... I think when you talk about wedding, it's the same everywhere. All the prices gone up at least 2 or 3 times.Originally posted by the_don:your wedding was beautiful!!! love the set up. too bad sg dun have such nice places. everything is so commericalized.
Originally posted by elindra:I had my dad's support coz he thinks it is unnecessary
And I told them they got their dinner
And if I felt like it next time I will do it (which will never happen)
Originally posted by Ferret:which, u r not allowed to touch, considering its...
1. before 5pm.
2. u r at work.
3. you'd prefer something else anyway![]()
i did... to me it's respect and a way to thank my parents on bearing me [and bearing with me]Originally posted by stellazio:how many of u did the chinese tea ceremony tingy?
why is my mum so bent on getting it if any of us gets married?![]()
Coz we don't go around shopping for prices. We just chose the venue where we had the best memories and then tell the hotel what we want and leave everything to them.Originally posted by honeymouse:I don't know how you could do that in 3 months.
Actually, I was thinking of both my bros...their weddings had all the works....esp the eldest bro...but the first marriage din last. >_<Originally posted by elindra:Yup yup yup I agree on that
I had too many friends whom I see went through everything and spend a huge bomb and their marriage don't even last 6 mths![]()
Oooohhhh yah!Originally posted by the_don:skip the cert and show her the grandkid![]()
hanor hanor... why keep teasing av wor?Originally posted by Wanda:Poor AV.... my sympathies... about the teasing.
For me we just treated the buffet dinner as a treat lorOriginally posted by tare:i did... to me it's respect and a way to thank my parents on bearing me [and bearing with me]
plus it's when we collect all the ang baos and gifts
That's good. I think at the end of the day, as long as it worked out well for you and your SO, that's all it matters. It's important to have a wedding you want instead of a wedding someone else want you to have.Originally posted by elindra:Coz we don't go around shopping for prices. We just chose the venue where we had the best memories and then tell the hotel what we want and leave everything to them.
And coz ours is not a sitdown dinner but a buffet we could use a pretty function hall.
Make-up I just asked my friend to settle for me
Photography by my Uncle since he is free-lancing anyway
Dress was off the rack
Parents sent the invitation cards on our behalf
go forth and reproduce lah.Originally posted by tare:hanor hanor... why keep teasing av wor?
but he does need a gf.... and he said he's gonna do something abt it.... AV have u STARTED?
Yeah they say that the grandchild will really get rid of all amosity oneOriginally posted by viciouskitty74:Oooohhhh yah!
thats what was done by the sister of a ex bf.
She went to Canada to study. Comes back Singapore. The families was waiting to receive her at the airport. Sees her come back with a man and a baby in her arms. Father face was so red and ready to explode in anger.
She just put his grand daughter in his arms. And the baby gurggles at him.
And all is well.![]()
Originally posted by honeymouse:Then we bought a house about 4 months before the wedding