Yes they are! Trouble and expense. I don't know about Sg but here in the US, you have to keep your pet's shots up to date, etc. My dogs have their own medical folders! A 6 month dose of flea and tick meds are $32. And about the same for heartworm meds.Originally posted by Rhonda:Dogs are so much trouble!
Two of my colleagues, who own dogs, were telling me how cats are so much easier to take care of, cause one of them has a cat as well and she's complaining about how much more effort it is to take care of dogs plus they are dirtier than cats!
One of them said her dog went to dig up some half-rotting corpse, can't tell whether it was some racoon or cat, and brought it to her and refused to let go of it and she was screaming, trying to yank the half-rotting stinky thing out of the dog's mouth!![]()
Finally, she had to go into the nearest shop to get some chocs for the dog and he finally let go of the half-rotting corpse and went for the chocs instead!
I told her that chocs are toxic to dogs and she said at that moment, she couldn't care less!

Ronda!!!!!!!! how's thing back in Oz. recovered from the holidays and crabbing in Singapore?Originally posted by Rhonda:jettaaaaaaa!!! *hugs!! How are you doing? What kind of job is your husband looking for?
Originally posted by tare:i used to dream abt hubby ignoring me and talk to other char bor.... i will wake up frm my dream pissed, piak and push him away!!! tis is when he woke up totally blur
Aiyoh, those things shed like nobody's business! Hubby's granduncle had one and OMG, the carpets in the house were covered with fur.Originally posted by elindra:Anyway, if I can have a dog now I want a Keeshond (aka Wolfspitz)
Cats are much less trouble, jetta! That colleague who has both a cat and a dog says that the cat's so much cleaner and easier to toilet train but the dog's banished to her garage and outdoors because he pees and poos everywhere.Originally posted by jetta:Yes they are! Trouble and expense. I don't know about Sg but here in the US, you have to keep your pet's shots up to date, etc. My dogs have their own medical folders! A 6 month dose of flea and tick meds are $32. And about the same for heartworm meds.
After these 2 dogs meet their maker, no more pets for me.
SG not that strict with dogsOriginally posted by jetta:Yes they are! Trouble and expense. I don't know about Sg but here in the US, you have to keep your pet's shots up to date, etc. My dogs have their own medical folders! A 6 month dose of flea and tick meds are $32. And about the same for heartworm meds.
After these 2 dogs meet their maker, no more pets for me.
Originally posted by jetta:Aiyoh, those things shed like nobody's business! Hubby's granduncle had one and OMG, the carpets in the house were covered with fur.
They need alot of brushingOriginally posted by jetta:Aiyoh, those things shed like nobody's business! Hubby's granduncle had one and OMG, the carpets in the house were covered with fur.
Him ah, he doesn't know himself.Originally posted by Rhonda:jettaaaaaaa!!! *hugs!! How are you doing? What kind of job is your husband looking for?
I never had crabs in Singapore save for that one miserable baked stuffed crabshell I had mins before I entered the departure lounge!Originally posted by LinYu:Ronda!!!!!!!! how's thing back in Oz. recovered from the holidays and crabbing in Singapore?![]()
Eh?!Originally posted by jetta:Him ah, he doesn't know himself.But he's a lucky guy. With him being a vet with a top secret clearance in a sought-after field post-Navy, he has much to choose from. However he keeps second guessing himself and his abilities so I have to keep him propped up and moving in the right direction. He's attended the first of many job fairs to come which explains why he needs to do up his resume proper. Why? You got job for him? *all ears*
maybe he does. cuz when u dream of people, its usually ppl whom you've met ebfore.Originally posted by Rhonda:I never had crabs in Singapore save for that one miserable baked stuffed crabshell I had mins before I entered the departure lounge!
Maybe that's why in my sweet dreams yesternight, I dreamt I was back working in a corporate job and my boss, another colleague, and I travelled back to Singapore in Nov for a visit cause I very buay gum guan that I fell so ill this trip.
Siiiigh... such a sweet dream!Too bad that guy doesn't exist.
Har?!!!Originally posted by elindra:They need alot of brushing
Plus if I get one it is not getting into the house
My Japanese Spitz shed alot too and needs frequent brushing (And he hates it)
Originally posted by Rhonda:Eh?!If I'm Richard Branson's daughter, I might have some posh job for him but I think if I were Richard Branson's daughter, you might not want your husband to be near me!
Dogs *sigh* I have two, both Maltese. While it's nice that they don't shed, I don't enjoy spending on grooming. Here you have to tip so the grooming bill can come to $60, depending on the base price. Since I'm still new to this neighbourhood, I'm still shopping around for a reasonably priced groomer.Originally posted by elindra:Why don't you want one, Jetta?
Rhonda you know Chris hates cats and it's like over his dead and rotting body before he allows me to keep a cat.
Anyway I love dogs and it's really not that much trouble if they well-behaved
The thing is I have a tendancy to like difficult dogs who have a mind of their own (Spitz)
I love my flat coated retriver who is well-behaved and obedient but my naughty Japanese spitz captured my heart
If I get the Keeshond it means I live on landed propertyOriginally posted by Rhonda:Har?!!!You live in an HDB flat. If it's not getting into the house, then where, may I ask, do you intend to keep it? In the corridor?
Or poor thing, by the lift lobby?
I think a virtual pet is easier work.![]()
Just read an article on Prince William this morning and Branson's daughter was pictured in that article because she was one of the girls William was associated with.Originally posted by elindra:![]()
True![]()
You lucky I like you or this would be a kiam pak moment.Originally posted by Rhonda:Eh?!If I'm Richard Branson's daughter, I might have some posh job for him but I think if I were Richard Branson's daughter, you might not want your husband to be near me!
Alamak, when I first got here, I had the same impression of American women too. Why do they like to have their papayas hanging out?Originally posted by Rhonda:Just read an article on Prince William this morning and Branson's daughter was pictured in that article because she was one of the girls William was associated with.She was wearing this purple top that plunged down forever and her boobies were like bursting out of her top... well, almost!
One of my PRC colleagues said when she first came to Australia, she was a bit stunned by how the ladies here liked to wear those V-necked tops that plunged forever and exposed so much boobs!Actually it's true... if you were a guy and sitting down on a bar stool and the lady was beside you standing up, be careful not to get too close or else you might turn towards her and find your nose ta-daaaaah... right in her cleavage!
OK, I know stuff like that stella and av will not complain about!

Reminder hor. The bigger the dog, the bigger the poop.Originally posted by Rhonda:I'm going to have to own a decent-sized double-storey townhouse with a backyard before I contemplate getting my cats.
I might get a Husky at some point in my life, cause I think I will have a deep spiritual connection with a Husky.No yappy toy dogs for me... I'll want to smack them quiet!
I love my peace.