I keep my phone bills in the low 30s.Originally posted by the Bear:i tend to get my phones really cheap.. a nominal sum but you got to sell your soul to them for 2 years
my phone bill is about S$40 a month and i don't look at how many minutes i use or have
Maybank has a $200 rule. I had to find out the expensive way. *cuss, complain, gripe* Several years ago on a short visit to Sg, I updated my POSB book and OMG!!! Four whole pages of nothing but $10 deductions!!!!! Mum hadn't been updating my book for me all that time so I was left with nothing. I was so angry, I closed my account. Gawd-dammit! To think I had had that account since I was 6. Do you remember having to paste postage stamps on cards to save money with POSB when you were in primary school?Originally posted by the Bear:the retards want to charge you money if your account falls below a certain amount..
i thought it was $200
my phone bill is usually between 30-60.Originally posted by jetta:Since you guys were talking about handphones/cellphones, how much do you pay for service? Is it expensive? Are you alloted a whole lot of minutes? What kind of phone do you have? Are phones there expensive?
And civil servants has a 50% discount in subscription rates if you show proof you are a civil servant.Originally posted by the Bear:i tend to get my phones really cheap.. a nominal sum but you got to sell your soul to them for 2 years
my phone bill is about S$40 a month and i don't look at how many minutes i use or have
So they've lowered it to $5000? It was a $10,000 minimum when I wanted to open one. Since I didn't have that kind of cash, as soon as I was able, I opened a Citibank credit card. I love their ATM lobbies. Easy to use, open 24 hours and you can find them worldwide.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Was seriously considering them. Except that I dont have $5000/- to start a a/c.![]()
I use a SIM card, and my bill ave $10 to at most $15 a mth...no need those freebies which I have to pay for.Originally posted by fudgester:I keep my phone bills in the low 30s.
It's pretty important to do so, considering that payment comes out of my own pocket.![]()
VK74 is currently living in US so opening a citibank account should not post any hazzle .. It's just need US$1,000 to start one.. For Credit card it don't even need to prove your credit standing as long as you have a valid social security numberOriginally posted by Wanda:Agree Citibank have great svc (used to hold their cr card)...but no freebies....have to pay for most things, and must keep higher bal in the bank a/c.
ha ha ....... those were the days when POSB is non-profit oriented and encourages kids to save upOriginally posted by jetta:Maybank has a $200 rule. I had to find out the expensive way. *cuss, complain, gripe* Several years ago on a short visit to Sg, I updated my POSB book and OMG!!! Four whole pages of nothing but $10 deductions!!!!! Mum hadn't been updating my book for me all that time so I was left with nothing. I was so angry, I closed my account. Gawd-dammit! To think I had had that account since I was 6. Do you remember having to paste postage stamps on cards to save money with POSB when you were in primary school?
IT's $5,000 to began with one... Monthly you need to maintain a $15,000 or else a $5 dollar service charge will be imposed...Originally posted by jetta:So they've lowered it to $5000? It was a $10,000 minimum when I wanted to open one. Since I didn't have that kind of cash, as soon as I was able, I opened a Citibank credit card. I love their ATM lobbies. Easy to use, open 24 hours and you can find them worldwide.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:And civil servants has a 50% discount in subscription rates if you show proof you are a civil servant.
argghhhh.....all my giros on that POSB a/c lah. Cant terminate it just like that.Originally posted by jetta:Maybank has a $200 rule. I had to find out the expensive way. *cuss, complain, gripe* Several years ago on a short visit to Sg, I updated my POSB book and OMG!!! Four whole pages of nothing but $10 deductions!!!!! Mum hadn't been updating my book for me all that time so I was left with nothing. I was so angry, I closed my account. Gawd-dammit! To think I had had that account since I was 6. Do you remember having to paste postage stamps on cards to save money with POSB when you were in primary school?
Wow, that's nice. I pay US$59.99 for a family plan. I can't remember how many minutes we share though. I don't text or email so I have to pay for each text or email I send. Even so, my monthly bill comes to about US$80-$90 a month.Originally posted by Wanda:I use a SIM card, and my bill ave $10 to at most $15 a mth...no need those freebies which I have to pay for.
Sian hor? It took me a long time, debating over terminating my POSB account. I was talking about it with some friends, telling them how sentimental I was over that account. You know what they told me? They said, POSB isn't sentimental about you so why should you be? I closed my account the next day.Originally posted by InnoHippo:ha ha ....... those were the days when POSB is non-profit oriented and encourages kids to save up
It's harder for you since you have so many standing orders on giro. I was only tied to my POSB account over sentimental reasons.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:argghhhh.....all my giros on that POSB a/c lah. Cant terminate it just like that.
Sorry lah, I aint no US citizen nor do I have a valid social security number.Originally posted by soulwinner:VK74 is currently living in US so opening a citibank account should not post any hazzle .. It's just need US$1,000 to start one.. For Credit card it don't even need to prove your credit standing as long as you have a valid social security number
erm... i'm on dunnoe wat loyalty prog, and gets $40% off my subscription... after discount, then plus caller id display plus dunnoe simi... mthly bill ranges frm $60-70+Originally posted by jetta:Since you guys were talking about handphones/cellphones, how much do you pay for service? Is it expensive? Are you alloted a whole lot of minutes? What kind of phone do you have? Are phones there expensive?
Wow. How I wish....Originally posted by the Bear:mom had to itchy fingers and get on another plan.. but then she increased her usage of the phone.. i'm paying anyway
it was a great plan.. $0.28 per minute or $0.10 per text message sent, and that's it.. minimum usage = once every 3 months...
there were times i got a $0.00 bill...
her bill comes to about $12 a month coz it's tied to mine
My good days, even with a discounted subscription plan for civil servants.....around S$128/- per month with Singtel.Originally posted by jetta:Wow, that's nice. I pay US$59.99 for a family plan. I can't remember how many minutes we share though. I don't text or email so I have to pay for each text or email I send. Even so, my monthly bill comes to about US$80-$90 a month.![]()
Wow. The only bill relief I get is 25% off for being a Sears employee. Can you believe that as a military customer we only get 10% off? Sheesh.Originally posted by fudgester:Back in the Army I used Starhub. For an average phone bill of $35/month, I got 80 min free outgoing, permanent free incoming, and 300 SMS.
Once it expired I switched over to the M1 Student Plan (I was already in NUS). For an average bill of $30/month, I got 150 min free outgoing, permanent free incoming, and 1000 SMS. And I got a good new phone (SE z520i) for free.
On top of that, they had a half-price promotion for the first year... I paid less than $20/month for the first year of my contract.![]()
Seems that Citibank credit card are really good but they annual memebership cost quite alot..Originally posted by the Bear:no such luck
anyway, i don't have a citibank account but i have their credit card.. good stuff.. they don't charge me anything for it and i get 'direct cash' bonus points which i use to pay my phone bills with