it's in the SO fishing threadOriginally posted by Wanda:In the local mkt, it's called grouper, and that's good enough for me.
ps: I can identify 2 groupers in the photo...the rest, dunno their names.
LOL looks like I ID freshwater fish and you can do the sea onesOriginally posted by Fatum:it's in the SO fishing thread
the fusillier is called yellowtail at the NTUC, or "sweet potato fish, han chee herr" at the wet market, it's a nocturnal species, I guess mr pinky caught it at night ... just look at that eyes ... I've seen lots of big ones diving at night ...
the parrot fish needs no introduction, that one is a true blue parrot fish, also called a tusk fish, cos it has four canine teeth for grinding coral ... a lot of people confuse that with assorted wrasses (which are not edible, ciguertera poisoning)
the three big grey fishes are sweetlips ... members of the grunter family ... you can actually hear them making a rasping like sound underwater while diving, hence the name of the family ....
the middle one is a very rare member of the centropidae family ... a sea perch ... of which the gim bak lor or seabass is a member of ...
the one with a black mark in the rear is the fingermark snapper, also known as John's snapper (lutjanus johnii) or golden snapper, named after john the baptist supposedly, who left his mark on the fish .....
I perfer to see them alive n swimming or nice cookedOriginally posted by elindra:Names of the fishies
Originally posted by elindra:LOL looks like I ID freshwater fish and you can do the sea ones
I love to eat parrot fish
They are yummy
to me ....... they are all fishesOriginally posted by elindra:Names of the fishies
I'd be wary of eating them also ... they also have a high ciguertera poisoning risk ....Originally posted by elindra:LOL looks like I ID freshwater fish and you can do the sea ones
I love to eat parrot fish
They are yummy
oh hell yes ! ... the flesh is finer and has a better flavour ... I think it's because the fingermark snapper loves to eat squid .... the flesh is very sweet ....Originally posted by elindra:So is the golden snapper nicer to eat or the red snapper?
Apparently grouper and snapper also got this problem lehOriginally posted by Fatum:I'd be wary of eating them also ... they also have a high ciguertera poisoning risk ....
together with barracuda and red bass, I wouldn't eat those if I have other fishies to eat ...![]()
Wah then my mum really good at choosing her fishesOriginally posted by Fatum:oh hell yes ! ... the flesh is finer and has a better flavour ... I think it's because the fingermark snapper loves to eat squid .... the flesh is very sweet ....![]()
cos i've seen him EAT!!! *presses av's laugh button*Originally posted by X-men:tare seems to know av very well hor
Plectrodomus maculatusalmost all tropical coral species carry some risk ....
Ya the parrot fish flesh is very very goodOriginally posted by Fatum:almost all tropical coral species carry some risk ....
I'd happily eat a coral trout or a grouper than a barracuda though .... and a barracuda over a parrot fish .... even though the parrot fish is the best eating of them ....![]()
Oh dearOriginally posted by viciouskitty74:Just woke up.
Manzzz......lost of appetide, rush toliet 3 times. Now purging water.
Please....let it not be Stomach flu.
Thankfully, I told brother in law before I KO back in bed. He did the dishes and spare me from the washing up.
I couldnt even look at the pratas pics w/o wanting to throw up.![]()
yes of course .... it's delicious ....Originally posted by elindra:But that stripped coral trout looks very ugly
Are u sure it can be eaten ><
Coz it doesn't look very appetizingOriginally posted by Fatum:yes of course .... it's delicious ....![]()
yes of course ... all are steamable except the fusilier ....Originally posted by elindra:Coz it doesn't look very appetizing
So HK steam it is best right?
Just woke up, nothing to do lah.Originally posted by elindra:Oh dear
Go rest!
You shouldn't even be online!
Ok but the Fusilier look pretty lehOriginally posted by Fatum:yes of course ... all are steamable except the fusilier ....![]()
At least lie down and rest >< or try to sleep againOriginally posted by viciouskitty74:Just woke up, nothing to do lah.