Does it have that strong lamb taste? You used lamb, right?Originally posted by choco B:Yes all the time! LOL
near to boat quay.Originally posted by hisoka:macpherson or near bugis?
Originally posted by av98m:It looks different, but hey, it looks delicious. So the next pot luck you cook this ok?
*scribbles in notebook*
Originally posted by av98m:oh! and found that pregaine shampoo at a pharmacy.
very good stuff! no weird residue!
but the price.........![]()
Originally posted by av98m:wait hang on.................choco b was supposed to make that salted egg thingy.......................neh mine, she can do both!
*makes mark on notebook*
*presses laugh button*
Originally posted by Wanda:Does it have that strong lamb taste? You used lamb, right?
I like it, but SO is a little sensitive to the strong smell. I still dunno what's the diff btn lamb and mutton, anyway.
Originally posted by the Bear:uhh.. a trick i learnt from watching Nigella Lawson last night...
use flour and spices to coat the chunks of meat... then sear the meat to seal in the juices over a hot pan with some oil..
the flour and spices stuck on the meat will in turn become the thickening agent
OKie.Originally posted by choco B:I used mutton. I suspect lamb == mutton
If you search allrecipes.com, mutton results == 0.
The lamb taste is not strong at all. Unlike lamb chops that can be quite jelat, this won't make you jelat. FYI mine was about 500gm of mutton stewing in the slow cooker on auto for about 8 hours. Not sure if the cooking time and method made a difference from the recipe's.
Was it the bear who's cooked this dish before?Originally posted by av98m:I can't even remember already, I only remember the salted egg part![]()
Actually you don't need corn starch for stewsOriginally posted by choco B:What does the original look like? Starchy and brown issit?
No idea how it gets that way because the recipe doesn't call for any thickening agent.... maybe it's just the product of hours and hours of stewing....
Originally posted by elindra:Salted egg thingy?
What is that? Is it the steamed salted egg, century egg and normal egg thingy?
SO cooked the Parrotfish yesterday only
He forgot the salt though I told him to add it ><
So it turned out alright but would be nicer if it has the salt
I cooked garlic butter rice with raisins
He gave all the other fishes to his mum and just kept the garouper and coral trout for our own consumption
Goodness!!! @@Originally posted by choco B:
It's sliced pumpkin stir-fried in massive amounts of salted egg yolks, with a little bit of hay bee thrown in. Sweet, golden, oily goodness!
What to do with all the left over salted egg whites, I wonder
Originally posted by Wanda:OKie.If I try it, I will cook it on the stove....no have slow cooker (coz it's likely to be another white elephant in my home).
Originally posted by tare:i dun care u all wanna go whr.... but i want fish and crab!!!!
av if i go all the way to bukit timah and they no have these two.. u'll be skinned de hor!
Wait I post the picsOriginally posted by choco B:How did he cook the parrotfish?
Butter rice - Easy to do? Is baking involved? Got recipe?
Originally posted by elindra:Goodness!!! @@
BUt sounds really good
Take a pic if you cook it!
So you mash the salted egg yolks and coat the sliced pumpkin?
For the egg whites you can use it to steam fishor make steamed prawns in egg white with garlic
Originally posted by Wanda:Salted eggs fan...must be SC liao.![]()
Originally posted by tare:i dun care u all wanna go whr.... but i want fish and crab!!!!
av if i go all the way to bukit timah and they no have these two.. u'll be skinned de hor!