Originally posted by Rhonda:OK, can't get that PC for the time being.Bills are starting to come in and TMD... electricity bills will be DOUBLED over the next 12 months!
My mom said, "Chek ak!! Winter time the lao lang need to keep warm and they double the rates at this time, some poor old folks will freeze to death!"
Anyways, I haven't been using my heater but on the flip side, I've had to buy a faux wool underblanket and more winter clothes to keep warm at home sans heater.
Water bills also going to double to pay for the desalinisation plant that they have FINALLY decided to build. This after the reservoir water levels are dangerously low at 20-something % and there are Aussies complaining and opposing the construction of these plants even now!Wonder if they realise the urgency of things or not!
Rental in my area has increased as well. Colleagues have been faced with increases of $200++ per month when they renew their yearly lease on their apartments.
The days of the great American / Aussie dreams are well and truly over.Everyone's disposable income here has just dipped due to the much higher cost of living now.
Oh dear! And here we're complaining about the price increase of basic foodstuffs and other household items (whose prices have quietly crept upwards), gst, probably mrt and bus fares soon.Originally posted by Rhonda:...The days of the great American / Aussie dreams are well and truly over.Everyone's disposable income here has just dipped due to the much higher cost of living now.
Hellooo, honeymousey!Originally posted by honeymouse:Hello missy Rhonda..... *hug*![]()
hai.. rescues always end up your own cat. my one was a little thingy that some kids took away from her mother. her eyes not open umbilical cord still on the stomach when we got her. we bottle fed her but cos of work, we could not feed her as regularly as a kitten needs and always tend to be 1-2 hours behind time so she is always greedy for food even now that she's grown up!Originally posted by Wanda:Not for CWS...at times for a friend, but these 2 are my own rescues...my hubby saw them (abandoned) and trembling at the sight of another territorial community cat.
The way your cat eats is like my white foster...she'll gobble up every easel of food, hence I can't leave dry food out for the other small eater, or you can guess who's gonna end up obese and who the skinny one.
I'm hoping to rehome at least one cat, then I can keep the other less pretty one.
The elderly people usually have concession rate (at least 50% discount) for their bills.Originally posted by Rhonda:OK, can't get that PC for the time being.Bills are starting to come in and TMD... electricity bills will be DOUBLED over the next 12 months!
My mom said, "Chek ak!! Winter time the lao lang need to keep warm and they double the rates at this time, some poor old folks will freeze to death!"
Anyways, I haven't been using my heater but on the flip side, I've had to buy a faux wool underblanket and more winter clothes to keep warm at home sans heater.
Water bills also going to double to pay for the desalinisation plant that they have FINALLY decided to build. This after the reservoir water levels are dangerously low at 20-something % and there are Aussies complaining and opposing the construction of these plants even now!Wonder if they realise the urgency of things or not!
Rental in my area has increased as well. Colleagues have been faced with increases of $200++ per month when they renew their yearly lease on their apartments.
The days of the great American / Aussie dreams are well and truly over.Everyone's disposable income here has just dipped due to the much higher cost of living now.
Originally posted by av98m:Well, if it makes you feel any better, the PAP is still working very hard at f_ucking us over.
I think by the time I'm 50, the age for withdrawl is going to be 70 and the minimum sum is going to be 500k![]()
How many folks can work till their CPF got 500k? You think what, we're getting PAP salaries?Originally posted by av98m:Well, if it makes you feel any better, the PAP is still working very hard at f_ucking us over.
I think by the time I'm 50, the age for withdrawl is going to be 70 and the minimum sum is going to be 500k![]()
Evil or Very Madwell ... if he's just going to be fishing in singapore waters hor ... then it's serious over kill ... I've tried out those accurate reels before .... it's made for fighting fish, not for fishing ....
Well I should have guessed coz Mr Pinky Bear taste is very atas too
I asked him last night if it was for Marlin and he said dun be crazy
Marlin reels cost at least 1.5k
My Telstra phone bills always make me curse and swear!Originally posted by Wanda:Oh dear! And here we're complaining about the price increase of basic foodstuffs and other household items (whose prices have quietly crept upwards), gst, probably mrt and bus fares soon.
But I agree, the more important things should come first ...pc will have to wait awhile ya.
I was reading the article about it in the pap times this morning and wondering to myselfOriginally posted by the Bear:you're an optimist...
i figure by the time i'm 50 (which isn't very far away), the retirement age = the age for withdrawal of the CPF = the moment the last nail is driven into your coffin...
Izzit?!!Originally posted by elindra:Rhonda I checked with Nak he said it is just a suggestion and not in place yet leh for the electricity bills
He said this is Australia and if they were to do that expect HUGE protests
and Rhonda helps enrich the living gods of singapore ....Originally posted by Rhonda:My Telstra phone bills always make me curse and swear!Monthly rental alone is A$29.90! The bill is quarterly so it's a minimum about A$90 already!
And phone calls to mobiles are so darn expensive! Local calls can be expensive too! My nasty phone bill this time is about A$230 or so, much better than the A$300+ I've been clocking up, and they don't even include overseas calls! Thank goodness I use callcards, which are much much cheaper for calling home to SG, so the charges are local call rates.
I've switched to SingTel Optus because their plans are so much more reasonable. If you don't use your phone a lot and exceed their limit, it's only A$59 / month.
Anyways, SingTel Optus has a friendlier image than Telstra.Their ads are cuter too!
Thats the point!! They want to lock in your moeny for as long as possible. what better way than to give an impossible minimum sumOriginally posted by Wanda:How many folks can work till their CPF got 500k? You think what, we're getting PAP salaries?![]()
Waaaaah!! You're like her mama to her as far as she's concerned!Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:hai.. rescues always end up your own cat. my one was a little thingy that some kids took away from her mother. her eyes not open umbilical cord still on the stomach when we got her. we bottle fed her but cos of work, we could not feed her as regularly as a kitten needs and always tend to be 1-2 hours behind time so she is always greedy for food even now that she's grown up!
cats grow on u... all of them are so individual in their personality..
Originally posted by Rhonda:Hellooo, honeymousey!How are you and mousehubby? I think of you guys each time I play Animal Crossing!
I'm doing pretty well in that game now. Nook's shop went through two upgrades liao!
I can't wait to visit your village! You come visit mine too! You'll pick my oranges and I'll pick your cherries!Remember to leave six fruits behind for each other!
ONE coconut finally floated to my beach liao! I planted a sapling in a spot near the beach to see if the land is fertile there. If it is, I'll chop down that poor tree, remove the stump, and plant the coconut there instead.
I've gotten the password to Reddi's tent and bought a darn expensive katana display, just cause I LOVE Japanese swords!And oh, a fake Mona Lisa!
(*@!#*!@#!!!
I'm filling up the Museum nicely too! Lots of fishes in there. Not doing so well in the fossils and insects area yet. Some of those moths and butterflies that sit on the tree trunks are quite hard to net.
Would be fun to visit your village!My village is called "HollandV"!
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:hai.. rescues always end up your own cat. my one was a little thingy that some kids took away from her mother. her eyes not open umbilical cord still on the stomach when we got her. we bottle fed her but cos of work, we could not feed her as regularly as a kitten needs and always tend to be 1-2 hours behind time so she is always greedy for food even now that she's grown up!
cats grow on u... all of them are so individual in their personality..
what better way to ease the pain of the people's retirement planning than by extending the CPF withdrawal age limit, and the retirement age ? ..,,Originally posted by av98m:Thats the point!! They want to lock in your moeny for as long as possible. what better way than to give an impossible minimum sum![]()
So far, no. Cause somehow, the landlord is too lazy to renew the lease of all the tenants in the building. I read the consumer guidebook for tenants and it did state that leasing can continue without renewals as long as there are no changes to the terms and conditions and both parties are agreeable.Originally posted by honeymouse:The elderly people usually have concession rate (at least 50% discount) for their bills.
You'll realise whenever we are going to build something which involves a big amount of land, chopping down trees, etc there will always be an outcry about it from different direction. Anyway, I guess Australia has no choice but to go down the path of building a desalination plant.
So has your rental increased too? Hope not.