lets see, only a reprimand? i think others would probably have been dbed.Originally posted by av98m:What do you guys think of this?
MINDEF takes PM Lee's son to task for contravening orders
By S Ramesh/Gamar Abdul Aziz, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 12 July 2007 2348 hrs
Photos 1 of 1
SINGAPORE: The Defence Ministry has formally charged and reprimanded a full-time National Service officer after he contravened orders by broadcasting a letter of complaint to other servicemen.
Second Lieutenant Li Hongyi, who is a son of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, had apparently sent an email to the Defence Minister to lodge a complaint against another serviceman.
2LT Li is believed to have copied the email to other servicemen who are not directly under his command and are not in an official capacity to deal with the matter.
His action has been a subject of several on-line discussions here.
MINDEF says there are proper channels within the SAF to address grievances or concerns.
And in this incident, 2LT Li is said to have written a complaint against another officer whom he alleged had been absent without leave on two occasions.
According to a statement by MINDEF, 2LT Li had also said in his letter that he had reported the matter to the officer's supervisors but disciplinary action had not been carried out.
MINDEF adds that arising from 2LT Li's complaint, an investigation was conducted and appropriate disciplinary action has been meted out to the officers concerned.
The officer who was found to have been absent without leave will be court-martialled.
Two supervising officers have been issued warning letters for poor judgement in administering inappropriate disciplinary action.
MINDEF says to maintain organisational discipline, all SAF servicemen with complaints or grievances should take them up through proper channels for redress.
This is to ensure due process and to protect confidential information.
All complaints which are not anonymous are investigated and dealt with properly. - CNA/ir
I'm sure the son is not stupid....i like the way he shook things up within....so many luan luan lai officers kena...Originally posted by av98m:What do you guys think of this?
MINDEF takes PM Lee's son to task for contravening orders
By S Ramesh/Gamar Abdul Aziz, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 12 July 2007 2348 hrs
I'd love to be at the beach right now....esp. during working hours.Originally posted by fudgester:*me mysteriously appears in a puff of smoke*
Working the last shift today. Crowd control on the Beach station platform. Arrgh...
If it were any other 2LT, his punishment would have been far worse than just a mere reprimand.Originally posted by Wanda:I'm sure the son is not stupid....i like the way he shook things up within....so many luan luan lai officers kena...![]()
Yes, remember: external facade includes the long hair. Don't place emphasis on that har.Originally posted by hisoka:well, i guess it shows how much one should place emphasis on external facades in SO hunting
I thot the chain of command way is already luan luan lai (anyhow do)...that's why he turned to his own method. It gets him into trouble, but perhaps he's got no other way...that's why I say I think he's not stupid.Originally posted by fudgester:If it were any other 2LT, his punishment would have been far worse than just a mere reprimand.
While he may have had some truly justified grievances, the chain of command is there for a reason. It is truly a slap in the face for the many people in the chain of command above him when he bypassed all of them and went straight for the top.
heehee ya at least he's not apathetic... sometimes white horse also very sian one.. no camouflage do everything also reflect light very visible to everyone.Originally posted by Wanda:I thot the chain of command way is already luan luan lai (anyhow do)...that's why he turned to his own method. It gets him into trouble, but perhaps he's got no other way...that's why I say I think he's not stupid.
i only say i prefer mah. the girl want short i also okz deOriginally posted by Wanda:Yes, remember: external facade includes the long hair. Don't place emphasis on that har.
I dun know the details and never saw that mass email so I can't comment. Perhaps he felt that he was being stonewalled and decided to risk it? Who knows?Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:i would think people would be quite happy that finally someone in the line of command dares to question and shake things up
instead of diamdiam and follow patriachal rules
at any rate, I am sure despite the 'reprimand' he got officially, his unofficial reprimand he going to get at home is probably going to be muchmuch worse.
I was supposed to be working at the ticketing counter later.Originally posted by Wanda:I'd love to be at the beach right now....esp. during working hours.![]()
got pretty babes to bio wor.Originally posted by fudgester:I was supposed to be working at the ticketing counter later.
However, one of my co-workers called me up last night... she said that the guy who's supposed to do crowd control later injured his leg or something and won't be able to stand for long periods. So I have to cover for him later.
Aieee.... crowd control at the Beach station on a Friday night is pure hell.....![]()
i dunnoe... to me he also luan luan lai mah...Originally posted by av98m:I dun know the details and never saw that mass email so I can't comment. Perhaps he felt that he was being stonewalled and decided to risk it? Who knows?
It won't be the first time someone has jumped the chain of command because they were being stonewalled, I have friends who went direct to MP to complain about their problems during their NS and their COs were damned tu lan and wanted to charge them. But thankfully they got off. In one case f he had not gone to his MP he could very well have been cripped permanently because the CB MO was trying to declatre him combat fit despite a spinal injury!!
heheh I also dunnoOriginally posted by av98m:I dun know the details and never saw that mass email so I can't comment. Perhaps he felt that he was being stonewalled and decided to risk it? Who knows?
It won't be the first time someone has jumped the chain of command because they were being stonewalled, I have friends who went direct to MP to complain about their problems during their NS and their COs were damned tu lan and wanted to charge them. But thankfully they got off. In one case f he had not gone to his MP he could very well have been cripped permanently because the CB MO was trying to declatre him combat fit despite a spinal injury!!
so I guess it may be a promising sign he decided to do it the hard way and stick his neck out instead?Originally posted by tare:i dunnoe... to me he also luan luan lai mah...
it would be so much easier for him to just go home and complain... get his parents to go camp complain on his behalf
of cos lah.... u trying to say u r NOT superficial??!!Originally posted by hisoka:well, i guess it shows how much one should place emphasis on external facades in SO hunting
x2.Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:heheh I also dunnospeculating is fun!
While I do think that people in the chain of command who kenna bypass will feel damn DL but it is worse to be under the chain of command, complaining all the time and not DOING anything about it.
so yeah! Good on ur friends to get things done!
You are speaking English....Originally posted by elindra:AM I EVEN SPEAKING ENGLISH??????
Originally posted by tare:of cos lah.... u trying to say u r NOT superficial??!!
come on who wanna spend the rest of his/her life on a constant diet? *see SO jiak buay lor![]()
babelfish not working!Originally posted by fudgester:You are speaking English....
... he just interprets it as Greek.![]()
Hire me to do his odd jobs. I understand English and smell a lot betterOriginally posted by elindra:Wah liao talk to ham murderer can die
Ask him to call the forwarder up for a simple question also so kang kor
Ask him to ask a question
He go and tell me what he asked them already
I told him I'm not interested
You are not answering my question
Just bloody call and ask them what I just asked you!!!!
AM I EVEN SPEAKING ENGLISH??????
Ahh...i was wondering where you were....and here you are. I think i have this type of ESP....Originally posted by elindra:Wah liao talk to ham murderer can die
Ask him to call the forwarder up for a simple question also so kang kor
Ask him to ask a question
He go and tell me what he asked them already
I told him I'm not interested
You are not answering my question
Just bloody call and ask them what I just asked you!!!!
AM I EVEN SPEAKING ENGLISH??????
me not that superficialOriginally posted by tare:of cos lah.... u trying to say u r NOT superficial??!!
come on who wanna spend the rest of his/her life on a constant diet? *see SO jiak buay lor![]()
well actually i guess its a good thing he tried to do something.Originally posted by av98m:so I guess it may be a promising sign he decided to do it the hard way and stick his neck out instead?![]()