Originally posted by hisoka:do you have somethign more fish head like and erm more clear fish jaws to truamatise some one![]()
Zhi char stall still sells it mah. It's also called KL hokkien mee...with the thick fat lor mee type of mee.Originally posted by stellazio:talking bout dialects dishes.
i just recently found out from my faher that those hawker centres stalls that sells "hokkien mee" is actually just prawn mee/sotong mee etc.
the real hokkien mee is brown in colour, and has sauce on it. but very few places sells it already.
is this true?
Originally posted by the Bear:when i did shifts, i didn't eat lunch for morning shifts and dinner for afternoon shifts...
i think that was about 5kgs ago
Originally posted by Wanda:Pickled vinegar crab....don't remember it, but I can ask my mom.
Is it buar3 kee3 or buar4 kee1 ? Must get the tone right first.![]()
u mean the dark hokkien mee?? I THINK ieat's blog have something in it..Originally posted by stellazio:talking bout dialects dishes.
i just recently found out from my faher that those hawker centres stalls that sells "hokkien mee" is actually just prawn mee/sotong mee etc.
the real hokkien mee is brown in colour, and has sauce on it. but very few places sells it already.
is this true?
erm, zhi char store all sell it leh.Originally posted by bluejuice:In anycase, if you go to a hokkien restaurant to order, you'll get noddles cooked in black color sauce..
Originally posted by stellazio:talking bout dialects dishes.
is this true?
Aiyo...they drown live female crabs in the sauce, etc. ....Originally posted by elindra:http://food.recentrunes.com/?p=1331
You might want to check this out bear but those sure dun look like swamp crabs
You tell the zhi char stall the black black mee and they will know...it's common.Originally posted by stellazio:so is that caled hokkien mee anot?
if so then why are those that sell the yellow noodles mixed with white ones calling it hokkien mee also.haha.![]()
yah forgot abt zi char places also got sell..Originally posted by kopiosatu:erm, zhi char store all sell it leh.
I know how it looks likeOriginally posted by the Bear:oh.. what the crab looks like, can clicky here => Sungei Buloh
when i saw them at Changi once, i wanted to grab them but it meant a lot of swimming to the outside of this 'enclosure' thing...
Originally posted by Wanda:You tell the zhi char stall the black black mee and they will know...it's common.
But the original sedap ones comes with lard.
funny, i dun see it in the menu.Originally posted by Wanda:You tell the zhi char stall the black black mee and they will know...it's common.
But the original sedap ones comes with lard.
Originally posted by Wanda:Aiyo...they drown live female crabs in the sauce, etc. ....![]()
yes, I agree.. Beng Hiang is a nice hokkien restaurant..Originally posted by choco B:Yes
The one in hawker center with the yellow sek mee + chor bee hoon is fried hokkien PRAWN mee
Hokkien Mee in restaurants are the brown one, and it is not that rare, in fact some zhi chars still can fry it .
http://www.benghiang.com/ this place has good Hokkien Mee
OH ya ar, yi mee also dark brown in colour.Originally posted by choco B:Skali come out yi mee
well, blade is in his 20s i think. so not exactlyOriginally posted by kopiosatu:http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=272396
is this a Singles' outing or kiddies outing????![]()
Yee mee is the one fried till crispy and with gravy poured over it issit? Or the curly rubber band mee?Originally posted by choco B:Skali come out yi mee
Originally posted by elindra:Bear I thinkn the only way to eat the swamp crabs is to do it yourself ><
Maybe you can catch the crabs and keep them as pets for a while first to 'detox' them![]()