I guess we'll find out when I receive my order.Originally posted by Wanda:I would really like to know.
Originally posted by elindra:so anime should be pretty safe?
Taken from the MDA site:
[b]Is it an offence to buy VCD/DVDs released in other countries and brought into Singapore?
Videos sold outside Singapore are considered to be uncensored when brought into Singapore. The MDA works closely with the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority to check on travellers who bring in uncensored and obscene videos at the checkpoints. At the same time, the MDA takes a balanced approach when travellers bring in items bought outside Singapore for personal consumption. These items include VCDs and DVDs.
Some of the VCD/DVDs brought in may be from the exempted categories which do not require classification. All videos brought into Singapore should be declared and submitted to the Board of Film Censors (part of the MDA) for classification. The Board classifies videos under the Films Act based on the content and does not determine their origin, i.e. whether the videos are pirated. Pirated videos are illegal under the Copyright Act.
How much does it cost to have the Board of Film Censors (BFC) censor a DVD/VCD and give it a seal of approval? How long does the process take?
An individual who submits his videos for classification by the Board has to pay S$1.80 for each video. The videos may be brought to and collected from the Board's office at URAC Centre (7th Floor, East Wing) at Maxwell Road. Certification may be done on the spot if the title of the film is already in the Board's database. Otherwise, the time taken for classifying the submitted videos is a function of the recording duration and the number of videos submitted.
Must all videos be vetted by the Board of Film Censors (BFC)?
No, we have exempted certain categories of videos from vetting. These include educational videos, documentaries, programmes for children and pre-1966 movies. These videos display an exemption number granted for exempted materials on a label pasted on the cover.
they ship direct to SGOriginally posted by elindra:Btw for Amazon they ship direct to SG?
Or I need to go through vPost
Hmmm I need to try too like thatOriginally posted by av98m:they ship direct to SG
if they considers anime as programmes for children in the last paragraph.Originally posted by av98m:so anime should be pretty safe?![]()
however most will prefer to just settle.Originally posted by stellazio:anyway till date, this is probably the otaku's best defence against odex.
click here --> defence
may all the otaku's unite.
and yeah, we're not using the anime for sale or any corporate use, entirely for our own personal consumption.![]()
this is why i said, the group of people should unite.Originally posted by av98m:however most will prefer to just settle.
if you kena, are you willing to hire a lawyer, go to court, and have reporters splash your pic on the new paper?
it'll be interesting to see what happens to the anime scene here.Originally posted by stellazio:this is why i said, the group of people should unite.
and hopefully a lawyer is 1 of the otakus.
odex is flexing its muscles, but yet their grounds are not really valid at times too.
its just that the laws on these matters has lotsa grey areas, and odex is abusing it.
It's difficult to catch them.Originally posted by av98m:it'll be interesting to see what happens to the anime scene here.
Slightly off-topic:
if you think about it, music has had a long history of piracy, right back to when people were copying their vinyl records into cassette decks, or taping songs played over the radio etc. Most of us did all that![]()
yup was reading tis... very interesting...Originally posted by stellazio:anyway till date, this is probably the otaku's best defence against odex.
click here --> defence
may all the otaku's unite.
and yeah, we're not using the anime for sale or any corporate use, entirely for our own personal consumption.![]()
ya what, by right copying data for your own personal consumption is not illegal right.Originally posted by av98m:it'll be interesting to see what happens to the anime scene here.
Slightly off-topic:
if you think about it, music has had a long history of piracy, right back to when people were copying their vinyl records into cassette decks, or taping songs played over the radio etc. Most of us did all that![]()
laws are just statements of rules... it's how u present it to ur benefits...Originally posted by av98m:however most will prefer to just settle.
if you kena, are you willing to hire a lawyer, go to court, and have reporters splash your pic on the new paper?
Originally posted by stellazio:knn, tv tokyo think singapore is a land of pirates sibo. cue pirates of the carribean "welcome to singapore"...![]()
TV Tokyo knows that Singapore has no data protection act and no privacy laws what. Plus the people are oppressed by a draconian top down authoritarion 1 party gahmen that also controls the judiciaryOriginally posted by stellazio:ya what, by right copying data for your own personal consumption is not illegal right.
but now it seems to be with all the farking copyright acts.
they should just chase after those fansubs.
knn, tv tokyo think singapore is a land of pirates sibo. cue pirates of the carribean "welcome to singapore"...![]()
for all you know they very selective, target only students?Originally posted by tare:laws are just statements of rules... it's how u present it to ur benefits...
let's hope one who kenna is a lawyer!![]()
how to?Originally posted by av98m:for all you know they very selective, target only students?![]()
time for you to set aside 5k?Originally posted by stellazio:how to?
mostly downloaders even though students are under their parents name what.
but i am very scared now, cause in may i cancelled my starhub line.
then now starhub must give odex 1000 names, wtf.
seklai starhub see me buaysong, see i went over to their rivals le, then sabo me.![]()
you know.Originally posted by av98m:time for you to set aside 5k?
but you took some sort of precaution right?