wah ... nice .....Originally posted by Wanda:I did post a few pics here...before the topic expired.
http://food.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=221358&page=0
It's a Buddhist country leh...how can it be "xie"?Originally posted by Fatum:I dunno ... he's going with his gang of teacher khakis ..... sort of a pre-retirement thingy .....
but I'm very worried ..... they say Tibet is very "xie" one ..... a lot of gong taus and such ....![]()
Originally posted by Wanda:Won't die one lah, just do everything in slow motion.
On our last yr's trip to the swiss alps, one gal from another grp was so silly to run up the stairs when we were already told specifically not to do that, so within seconds, she fainted.But what a big baby.
I wouldn't say it's fantastic lah....i would rather go to, say, the Italian or French countryside to see how real folks live, you know. Still, I like to take a look mah. Like they say: Bai3 wen2 bu4 ru2 yi2 jian4.Originally posted by Fatum:wah ... nice .....
but to be honest hor .... Europe doesn't rock my boat at all .....
give me a nice south sea island any day ...![]()
apparently, their brand of buddhism incorporates a lot of other stuff into it .... it's more animist than anything else ...Originally posted by Wanda:It's a Buddhist country leh...how can it be "xie"?But like a lot of developing countries, there is bound to be some form of gangsterism around, which my colleague encountered on her recent trip. The ladies ventured into someone's home to take photos of the garden or something, and it seemed like some young kids came out to extort money from them.
Think your parents will know how to take care of themselves lah.![]()
sounds like wanda is quite well-travelledOriginally posted by Wanda:I wouldn't say it's fantastic lah....i would rather go to, say, the Italian or French countryside to see how real folks live, you know. Still, I like to take a look mah. Like they say: Bai3 wen2 bu4 ru2 yi2 jian4.![]()
No leh...still got lots of places I haven't been to.Originally posted by InnoHippo:sounds like wanda is quite well-travelled
Sounds like really fun to travel with your own group of kakis.Originally posted by Fatum:apparently, their brand of buddhism incorporates a lot of other stuff into it .... it's more animist than anything else ...
I've told my parents to just come here and I'll take leave to spend time with them ... but they like ambling around in some third world places like some 20s backpackers, and then come back and complain about stuff ....![]()
have u been to angkor wat? nice or not?Originally posted by Wanda:No leh...still got lots of places I haven't been to.Need to save money for it and travel while still young, and not after retirement when the old bones may not be able to climb anymore.
No, haven't been there, or Vietnam, or Burma. I think Celtic Knot has been to Angkor wat.Originally posted by InnoHippo:have u been to angkor wat? nice or not?
Africa! I found this photo site recently...very posh trip in Africa.Originally posted by Fatum:I'm very curious about Africa or south america though .....
a friend of mine just came back from a veterinary attachment ... to Uganda ! ...
she showed us a whole bunch of pics .... I want to go safari ! ....
MPB only bitched about NairobiOriginally posted by Fatum:I'm very curious about Africa or south america though .....
a friend of mine just came back from a veterinary attachment ... to Uganda ! ...
she showed us a whole bunch of pics .... I want to go safari ! ....

you mean backpacking ? ....Originally posted by Wanda:Africa! I found this photo site recently...very posh trip in Africa.
http://www.pbase.com/tuthillx2/africa
BTW, which places have you and hippo been to?
that's cheap .... my friend paid US$700 for a safari to get her obligatory lions and elephant shots ...Originally posted by elindra:MPB only bitched about Nairobi
And rates it worse than India
He said the whole place is filled with scammers and cheats
And the food sux big time.
You know they were charged USD 50 each just to walk in the national park ><
depends if you're being notti or not ...Originally posted by InnoHippo:angkor wat ......
nice architecture ....... but got night life or not?
Dived where?Originally posted by Fatum:you mean backpacking ? ....
Indo China except Vietnam .... which I plan to visit one day ....
I didn't roam much in Burma, nor Laos ... nothing much in Laos ...
a better question would be ... where have I scuba dived ....![]()
child prostitution ...Originally posted by Fatum:depends if you're being notti or not ...
cambodia's well known for child prostitution ...![]()
everywhere ! ...Originally posted by Wanda:Dived where?
Ooh...your vet friend would have been doctor to the wild animals on her attachment huh...elephants, cheetahs and hippos?![]()
It's a PARK not a Safari!!!!Originally posted by Fatum:that's cheap .... my friend paid US$700 for a safari to get her obligatory lions and elephant shots ...![]()
Not only thatOriginally posted by Fatum:depends if you're being notti or not ...
cambodia's well known for child prostitution ...![]()
x2Originally posted by elindra:It's a PARK not a Safari!!!!
OMG I rather go to the Singapore zoo to look at lions!
USD 700 is a super rip off!
that's the standard going rates lor .....Originally posted by elindra:It's a PARK not a Safari!!!!
OMG I rather go to the Singapore zoo to look at lions!
USD 700 is a super rip off!