How much is it? I bought mine (imported from HK) for $31.50.Originally posted by Celtic Knot:after gym yesterday nite, saw that there are stalls selling mooncakes.. so tempted to buy from every stall...raffles, crown prince, harbour city lah..
all looked so good....
din buy, cos I got only $20 in my wallet...cash payment only.
oh well, maybe tonight..!!
It is way too much work to make dumplings!Originally posted by honeymouse:We can get those made by Vietnamese Chinese and it doesn't taste very good. And some of them with just pork fats instead of meat inside.
While I like it, I don't think I can be bothered to make it myself. Oh well... just have to wait when I go home for CNY next year.
Mum used to make the bak zhang too, just the "regular flavour" with chunk of meat and ground peanuts. Yummy!!! I like the curry ones too. Nice. I am drooling just thinking about it.Originally posted by Wanda:It is way too much work to make dumplings!I don't think any working woman will want to attempt this formidable task.
As a kid, I'd to help mom wash the bamboo leaves one by one, then change water, and repeat the washing process, plus chop up the ingredients, and keep stirring the spices and meat in the wok (she makes Nonya chang). Then mom will wrap and then boil the chang over the charcoal stove and made the kitchen in the old shophouse so oily.
erm.... i dun still near my mum... i think they come visit me (in my former place) more than i visit themOriginally posted by Wanda:It's good to be living near mom...coz she always get freebies during festive seasons...but now she's too far away.
tis sat i got dive introductory thingy... if i not totally tired out maybe i'll pop by...Originally posted by Wanda:He cannot tahan his guiness withdrawal symptoms already.![]()
seriously hor... the jap guy's pau look real lor!Originally posted by elindra:OMG you guys have to read this!
This Japanese guy decided to try making the cardboard pau to see if it is feasible!!!
http://www.zonaeuropa.com/20070720_1.htm![]()
You can add one more post here:Originally posted by Ferret:
Originally posted by Celtic Knot:the mooncake (per box of 4) cost no less than S$40....
I'm waiting for the non-hotel stalls to appear in the shopping malls - those cost about $28 to $30+ and are nice to eat too....they've got my favourite black sesame paste.Originally posted by honeymouse:![]()
Wow.... that's so expensive. Cheaper getting it in Melbourne....
addedOriginally posted by Wanda:
Black sesame paste? Don't think I've tried that before. I tried the ones with lots of different nuts in it.... forgot what it is called.Originally posted by Wanda:I'm waiting for the non-hotel stalls to appear in the shopping malls - those cost about $28 to $30+ and are nice to eat too....they've got my favourite black sesame paste.
i haben had any for over a year.Originally posted by bluejuice:i'm sick of mooncakes..
Yeah I look at it I was like WTF it looks realOriginally posted by tare:seriously hor... the jap guy's pau look real lor!
the chinese report tat it's NOT feasible make it seems more like a cover up...![]()
I see them almost everyday..Originally posted by Ferret:i haben had any for over a year.
-excited-
looking forward to mooncake fest.
The Wu3 Ren2 mooncake, with dried dong gua strips and orange peel inside?Originally posted by honeymouse:Black sesame paste? Don't think I've tried that before. I tried the ones with lots of different nuts in it.... forgot what it is called.
Yep, that's the one. That was my grandpa's favourite. Everytime I see that mooncake, it reminds me of my grandpa.Originally posted by Wanda:The Wu3 Ren2 mooncake, with dried dong gua strips inside?
The wu ren mooncake is popular with older folks but not popular with the younger generation....for some reason.Originally posted by honeymouse:Yep, that's the one. That was my grandpa's favourite. Everytime I see that mooncake, it reminds me of my grandpa.
Soup Restaurant?Originally posted by Wanda:I look forward to yummy well-brewed soup tonight.![]()
Looks like it. They are more expensive too...Originally posted by Wanda:The wu ren mooncake is popular with older folks but not popular with the younger generation....for some reason.