I dun like the brown onesOriginally posted by Celtic Knot:I oso prefer the eggless ones...just plain smooth lotus paste with melon seeds..the baked brown ones..
melts in the mouth..
and with juicy pomelo...
hot hot tea...
heavens!!!
Problem with Asians though, they do not know that a lot of the names are short for other names eg:Originally posted by the Bear:winnie = short for winston (guy's name)
winnie - short for winifred (girl's name)
people who likes it say it tastes better with the yolks..Originally posted by the Bear:it does impart a different flavour.. but i don't like it..
thing is, the more yolks, the more expensive it is...
i've seen one small mooncake about the size of your palm with 4 yolks in it.. it cost twice the yolkless one..
i think there wasn't much actual filling in it
self-delusionOriginally posted by elindra:But i wun have an excuse![]()
Ya, I've been puzzled about the same thing. No doubt salted egg prices have gone up, but they're still very cheap.Originally posted by the Bear:i never figured this part out...
you replace expensive, hard-to-make filling with cheapass salted egg yolk and you get to charge a crapload more money
and don't ask me to eat that... i like mooncake.. i like salted egg.. but not together
because its more difficult to wrap the yolks inside the lotus paste mah..Originally posted by Wanda:Ya, I've been puzzled about the same thing. No doubt salted egg prices have gone up, but they're still very cheap.
then we have a gathering...u pass me the baked ones, while I pass u the ping pi ones...Originally posted by elindra:I dun like the brown ones
I like the ping pi ones with 1 egg so I can savour the sweet paste and then eat the yolks later as a snack with hot tea![]()
I am the same as you, prefer the "no egg yolk" ones and it costs me $31.50.Originally posted by hisoka:actually i prefer the eggless ones.
oh well marketing again i guess![]()
SO and I dated for 5 yrs too before we ROM... maybe it's really a bit too long hor.Originally posted by honeymouse:...
We dated for about 6 years (got engaged for a year) before we got married. When we got together, we were still students and poor so you can see why it took us so long to get married.![]()

Excuse to eat salted eggyolk?? Is it nec?Originally posted by elindra:But i wun have an excuse![]()
Originally posted by honeymouse:Problem with Asians though, they do not know that a lot of the names are short for other names eg:
Bill or Will from William
Tony from Anthony
Chris from Christopher or Christine
Liz from Elizabeth
etc....
Originally posted by the Bear:yup..
someone was referred to as Peggy.. and i figured it's short for Margaret.. so i addressed her "Miss Margaret" in the email
and everyone, including herself asked me who i was refering to
They say it's supposed to help your skin glowOriginally posted by Wanda:What about those ppl who plaster their faces with gold foils as part of their beauty treatment? What's that all about?![]()
but htey are used as names as of themselves here.Originally posted by the Bear:yup..
someone was referred to as Peggy.. and i figured it's short for Margaret.. so i addressed her "Miss Margaret" in the email
and everyone, including herself asked me who i was refering to
Time is not so much an issue, just so long you enjoy the time together and you're sure about the decision you made, that is what it matters at the end of the day.Originally posted by Wanda:SO and I dated for 5 yrs too before we ROM... maybe it's really a bit too long hor.![]()
can help me to buy....look like the Teochew style mooncakes...my mom will love these...my mom's teochew..Originally posted by the Bear:okay.. either i send the folks to go buy mine on friday, or i go on saturday
Originally posted by Celtic Knot:can help me to buy....look like the Teochew style mooncakes...my mom will love these...my mom's teochew..
for auntie me and my mom, 2 boxes please..Originally posted by the Bear:how many?
where is the av?
and tare?
they also wanted
wheres the shop? need to order de mah?Originally posted by the Bear:how many?
where is the av?
and tare?
they also wanted