Interesting ...Originally posted by elindra:OMG There is something wrong with the fire alarm and it's bloody noisy
The manager keeps apologising over the the system for it
ARRGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
this is like so flatOriginally posted by Fatum:the rolling plains are beautiful eh ? ....
that's what saskatchewan's like .....
it's about harvest time now ... take a drive out .... the fields should be golden right now ...
Yr Oct is first half or 2nd halfOriginally posted by Wanda:BTW, Pinky, are you and MPB still keen on making that trip to Tibet? Come join my tour in Oct leh.We got the agent to book a completely new date for us, so we need more ppl.
This is why I'm sooo glad that the hubster's s city boy. I would die from boredom if I had to live in an area where corn outnumber people.Originally posted by elindra:this is like so flat
Yeah so I heard about saskatchewan
I have been out in the fields for 2 days already. No need to drive out to look at the fields anymore![]()
Not everyone will be affected by it... and if your folks are reasonably fit, it should be alright if they go up gradually to allow time to acclimatise.Originally posted by Fatum:my parents are going there on the 22nd ... I'm a bit worried ....
had dinner with some members of the chinese contingent here ... and they told me the thin air is not very good for older folks .....![]()
2nd half...oct 16 for 10 days. Go back and talk to him first. We're taking the train instead of flying directly to Lhasa, so got more time to acclimatise.Originally posted by elindra:Yr Oct is first half or 2nd half
Dunno him need to talk to him first leh
He told me he just got a email from Nairobi again for an engine change so I really dunno now
Now you know why we are the most obese nation.Originally posted by elindra:I ordered a side salad with my wings and I'm kinda regretting it coz their SIDE salad is like a normal serving in Singapore
you stay there long enough you'll get super-sized also ....Originally posted by elindra:I ordered a side salad with my wings and I'm kinda regretting it coz their SIDE salad is like a normal serving in Singapore
Speaking of super sized, did you know that paus in Japan are huge? I was so bloody surprised! Even the yew char kwey is l-o-n-g!Originally posted by Fatum:you stay there long enough you'll get super-sized also ....
tried the asian food there ? .... I bet the siew mais and the paus are super-sized also ...![]()
Originally posted by jetta:Now you know why we are the most obese nation.![]()
the japanese can be gigantic eaters when they want to ....Originally posted by jetta:Speaking of super sized, did you know that paus in Japan are huge? I was so bloody surprised! Even the yew char kwey is l-o-n-g!
Yeah I haveOriginally posted by Fatum:you stay there long enough you'll get super-sized also ....
tried the asian food there ? .... I bet the siew mais and the paus are super-sized also ...![]()
when i was in states a decade and inches ago, i almost have to get kids teeOriginally posted by elindra:u know i have the opposite problem in USA. clothes too large for me. In SG its usually too small. lol
hanor hanor.... when i was thr, i only had appetizers... can't get near the main course at allOriginally posted by elindra:I ordered a side salad with my wings and I'm kinda regretting it coz their SIDE salad is like a normal serving in Singapore
This is a question I've always asked my students and Japanese friends. Where in the heck do they store it all? The secret is, you binge today, you peck for the next week or so.Originally posted by Fatum:the japanese can be gigantic eaters when they want to ....
I dunno where all the food goes too .... maybe they have a higher metabolic rate ...![]()
I should have just ordered the side salad for dinnerOriginally posted by tare:hanor hanor.... when i was thr, i only had appetizers... can't get near the main course at all![]()
actually hor, I'd just stick to the country cooking .... you'd be hard pressed to find it anywhere else ....Originally posted by elindra:Yeah I have
The Thais had a craving for Thai food and the locals here said that there is a good one in Moorhead, Minnesota which is like just across the river coz we are like so close.
The servings there are pretty normal I think ... Hmmm maybe not coz it's like 1 serving shared among 4 pplThere were 16 of us. It's like 4 to a serving.
Surprisingly the Thai food there is very decent, although there are some flavours lacking but I think it's due to dried subsititute or they can't get the ingredients here. The spiciness is not catered to local taste buds but the resturant is really quite crowded
Their clothing are that big? for you and tare to wear kids clothingOriginally posted by elindra:Tare you wear a smaller size then I do so I'm not surprised. I think you are their size 0
Anyway I noticed the ppl here dun eat any greens at all
It's like Protein and Carb and lots of butter
dam! making me hungry. i haven't eaten anything yetOriginally posted by Fatum:actually hor, I'd just stick to the country cooking .... you'd be hard pressed to find it anywhere else ....
biscuits with gravy .... local burgers and home fries .... perogies and cheese chowder etc .....
I like to visit those small town resturants when I'm traveling around fishing, some of the locals have never seen an asian face there before, and the food can be damm cheap .... look out for home made corn bread, ice lemon tea and farmer's breakfast
You must have been on the wrong side of Germany.Originally posted by hisoka:Their clothing are that big? for you and tare to wear kids clothing![]()
and i noticed the same thing in germany regarding greens. I personally not very addicted to green but the lack was even getting to me.
Haha the ppl here all go,"Oh you speak very good English." or they go, "It's always nice to speak to an Asian who speaks good English"Originally posted by Fatum:actually hor, I'd just stick to the country cooking .... you'd be hard pressed to find it anywhere else ....
biscuits with gravy .... local burgers and home fries .... perogies and cheese chowder etc .....
I like to visit those small town resturants when I'm traveling around fishing, some of the locals have never seen an asian face there before, and the food can be damm cheap .... look out for home made corn bread, ice lemon tea and farmer's breakfast