My office cleaner uncle had some lumps in his stomach, and was told he could only see the specialist in 6 mths! In the end, he had to go to Mt E for surgery...can you imagine...he's just an office cleaner going to a pte hospital just to get decent, basic healthcare.Originally posted by the Bear:you ever see a guy with a slipped disc, who can barely stand up, in what is termed "severe pain", get told that he can only see the orthopaedic specialist 4 months later?
we are going to see more and more of this in our cut-throat mercenary society ....Originally posted by elindra:Shoving ladies away to get a seat is nothing
The best I have seen is this guy shoving a PREGNANT woman away so that he can get the seat in front of her before she sits!
The lady beside him gave him a HUGE earful and at least he was paiseh enough to get up and move away
"Out of sight, out of mind."Originally posted by av98m:btw, this same health minister let slip the gahmen's plan to build overseas retirement villages (in places like batam, johere) for the poor
When I read that report, I thot retirement villages are a good and necessary idea, though I thought it should be in Sg.Originally posted by av98m:I can't remember the specifics but it sure created an uproar when people read the papers
Oh! and the previous health minister, lim hong kan, told the press that he regretted spending a few hundred thousand dollars of taxpayer money to save the life of a little girl.![]()
If he waited to see a doctor in 'peasant style' I think he would have died.Originally posted by Wanda:My office cleaner uncle had some lumps in his stomach, and was told he could only see the specialist in 6 mths! In the end, he had to go to Mt E for surgery...can you imagine...he's just an office cleaner going to a pte hospital just to get decent, basic healthcare.
Subsequently, it was discovered uncle had another lump on his neck which he had to visit the mt E specialist regularly for checks and medication. The very surprising and nicest thing was the specialist gave him a subsidy and charge him very low fees, knowing his poor financial situation.![]()
I wonder if he would have said the same thing if it was his daughter whose life was in jeopardy.Originally posted by av98m:Oh! and the previous health minister, lim hong kan, told the press that he regretted spending a few hundred thousand dollars of taxpayer money to save the life of a little girl.![]()
to him it'd be different. because they are the eliteOriginally posted by Meia Gisborn:I wonder if he would have said the same thing if it was his daughter whose life was in jeopardy.
its supposed to be for people too poor to survive in singapore, as well as to remove all the 'eyesores' overseasOriginally posted by Wanda:When I read that report, I thot retirement villages are a good and necessary idea, though I thought it should be in Sg.
And what a thing to say about that little gal!It's all about economics for them huh.
maybe the girl's not from band 1 or gifted stream one ....Originally posted by elindra:He forgot the little girl could potentially help to make more babies when she grows up
you forget, for the elites SIA will fly their sick family and relatives for free.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:I wonder if he would have said the same thing if it was his daughter whose life was in jeopardy.
But alot of elites are not highly educated lorOriginally posted by Fatum:maybe the girl's not from band 1 or gifted stream one ....
so he figured it'll be cheaper to just import mature labour in the future ....
This is only applicable to the Lee family laOriginally posted by av98m:you forget, for the elites SIA will fly their sick family and relatives for free.
remember LKY's wife?
from their POV ... I think it's brilliant ....Originally posted by av98m:its supposed to be for people too poor to survive in singapore, as well as to remove all the 'eyesores' overseas
I think ministers also have lahOriginally posted by elindra:This is only applicable to the Lee family la
Originally posted by av98m:btw, this same health minister let slip the gahmen's plan to build overseas retirement villages (in places like batam, johere) for the poor
you still won't find intellectually limited elites in heartland peasant schools ....Originally posted by elindra:But alot of elites are not highly educated lor
We are not talking about the PAP gang here but the entrepreneurs all these lor
Yup, I remember that.Originally posted by av98m:you forget, for the elites SIA will fly their sick family and relatives for free.
remember LKY's wife?
Yes ... they got back yesterday ... haven't give them a call yet though ....Originally posted by Wanda:Fatum, are you folks back from Tibet? I have to postpone my trip liao...to maybe next yr.
Do ask your folks if anything interesting happened during their trip.Originally posted by Fatum:Yes ... they got back yesterday ... haven't give them a call yet though ....
my friend just got back from Tibet and Mongolia in september too .... they took the new railway line there ...
she took a whole lot of pics .... I'm going to see if she'll post some up here ...