Yeah! With all the talk about global warming, rising sea levels, droughts affecting the supply and prices of food, etc, I don't exactly see a really good future ahead.Originally posted by Wanda:My sentiments exactly. Btn those who have kids so that they have someone around them in their old age, and those who don't want to bring kids up in this society to suffer...I always "wonder" who is more selfish.
Ah, it was never paradise in the first place. I'm just long-suffering and hopeful!Originally posted by av98m:trouble in paradise?
not necessary leh...Originally posted by Wanda:My sentiments exactly. Btn those who have kids so that they have someone around them in their old age, and those who don't want to bring kids up in this society to suffer...I always "wonder" who is more selfish.
Haiz... tare, the fire kena drowned out liao!Originally posted by tare:missy!!!!!!!
i'm a pessimist in child bearing.... basically i'm pessimist abt me being ABLE to get preggy
*pat pat* now now, when u r sick, fireman can play doc with u mah
I'm quite lucky that my mom is pretty open-minded and has given me a lot of freedom growing up.Originally posted by Celtic Knot:not necessary leh...
I think parents shouldnt keep their children the whole lifetime...
the children should grow up and eventually live their own lives, be it in their own countries or moving to other countries for better work opportunities..
I would like to go for better options if i can..![]()
Envy envy.... I wish i could do the same....leave Singapore..Originally posted by Rhonda:I'm quite lucky that my mom is pretty open-minded and has given me a lot of freedom growing up.She's influenced dad in his thinking too, that's why I could fly away and make my life elsewhere.
what is L5 disc? the way u describe it sounds scary siah..Originally posted by the Bear:bit of my L5 disc sticking out
the rest of the muscles around there, swollen due to extreme fatigue
need rest..
watching Miami Vice now.. not the movie but the old series with Don Johnson
Orh... that's called an L5 Disc Protrusion. You should have surgery to get it repaired! Perhaps an L4-5 Laminectomy with Rhizolysis. BTW, the neuro ward I work in now deals with back surgeries 98% of the time.Originally posted by the Bear:bit of my L5 disc sticking out
the rest of the muscles around there, swollen due to extreme fatigue
need rest..
watching Miami Vice now.. not the movie but the old series with Don Johnson
Yes! Up to that amount. Actually A$300+ a month most of the time. But that's still a huge amount cause that can pay for my Foxtel, mobile and phone bills!Originally posted by elindra:A$600
Ok my boss just called![]()
When summer is over, you can then go back to seeing more of each other. Just bear it for 3 mths ?Originally posted by Rhonda:Ah, it was never paradise in the first place. I'm just long-suffering and hopeful!![]()
But yeah... Taking one weekend off a fortnight deprived me of a total of about A$600 take-home in wages a month!!![]()
That's a LOT to sacrifice!!
On top of that, he told me right from the start that I'm his #3 love of his life, #1 being his fireman duties and #2 his job (aka $$).I thought that was reasonable but I didn't realise then what a d-i-s-t-a-n-t 3rd that would be!!
He's been so busy with work and fireman duties and exams and courses that we haven't seen each other for two entire weekends and he sounds like a zombie.
When summer comes and with it the bush fires, he's said I might not even see him for the entire season!!
Now, that's kinda shocking and unacceptable to me.
He's said that maybe with his busy lifestyle, he shouldn't have a girlfriend cause he simply doesn't have the time for one. I agreed with him.
Pls go to yr chiropractor ><Originally posted by the Bear:sounds nice but without surgery, can also heal up
besides, i've already had surgery there.. and it came up to bite me 8 years later
I"m glad they don't dispense painkillers like candy hereOriginally posted by Rhonda:I see much better recovery rates for back surgeries here than back home, to be honest.
The next day post-op, most of the patients are already sitting up on the edge of the bed and taking small steps around the room with the Physiotherapist. In Singapore, the patients are bedridden for much longer.
There is a huge abuse of painkillers here though. Singapore's very strict with the use of painkillers and we don't encourage drug dependancies but over here, my word, sometimes I feel like I'm a waitress serving pain medication to feed the addicts!![]()
I can bear absence for longer than that provided the man is firm in his commitment. I mean, if he tells me, yes, I've stopped looking after I met you and I want to be with you, fine.Originally posted by Wanda:When summer is over, you can then go back to seeing more of each other. Just bear it for 3 mths ?![]()
Originally posted by elindra:Pls go to yr chiropractor ><
Ya but they can relieve the pain and help slow down the degeneration processOriginally posted by the Bear:they can only do that much...
after that, you need rest..
actually, the next step is fusion, and that's traumatic..
i'll stick to rest and not torturing myself.. and not letting the boss put so much work on our plates... which is what caused that in the first place...
Chiropractors can end up doing more damage sometimes. We've seen cases in the ward where the neurosurgeons told the patients after looking at their MRI's that the chiros manipulated it so much that just an inch more and they would have become paralysed from the waist down!Originally posted by elindra:Pls go to yr chiropractor ><
Of course I'm talking about a good one and not those chapalang one laOriginally posted by Rhonda:Chiropractors can end up doing more damage sometimes. We've seen cases in the ward where the neurosurgeons told the patients after looking at their MRI's that the chiros manipulated it so much that just an inch more and they would have become paralysed from the waist down!![]()
You really have to get good chiros. I think Bear has a good one.
Don't know how it's like in Singapore but here, fusions are done with good recovery rates. Maybe, that's what you do need, once and for all!Originally posted by the Bear:they can only do that much...
after that, you need rest..
actually, the next step is fusion, and that's traumatic..
i'll stick to rest and not torturing myself.. and not letting the boss put so much work on our plates... which is what caused that in the first place...
Er...so how, now? If that's the case, should you see other people as well (while still dating him)?Originally posted by Rhonda:I can bear absence for longer than that provided the man is firm in his commitment. I mean, if he tells me, yes, I've stopped looking after I met you and I want to be with you, fine.
But he keeps saying stuff like, "You never know what's going to happen tomorrow! Maybe you'll go off with some doctor or patient you meet in your workplace or maybe I'll meet a lady in the apartment elevator!"![]()
I'm not going to wait 3 months for someone so non-commital!![]()