hmmz lots of jobs asking for those skills you have fro what i see in the job ads. no probs for you i guess.Originally posted by Fatum:I worked as a software developer for an engineering company before ... both real time and database reporting apps for hardware devices .... both web and windows forms using .NET ... infact, I was the lead developer for the web component on the last project ...
also touched JSP stuff and oracle databases before ... plus some misc scripting stuff ...
how ? ... you got lobang issit ? ...
I have never worked in Singapore before, unless you count part time jobs ... I know my salary would take a big hit .... I'm getting more than S$5k a month here as a fresh grad ... I know it'll never be matched in Singapore .... but living expenses and income tax eat up a lot of that.
but hey, cost of living would be lower, I'd be getting CPF, and GST at 7% is still half of what I pay here ....
housing ? ... I still have my own room in Singapore of course ...
If you're 35 and above buying a resale flat...no need.Originally posted by StarPuppy:hdb no need two person ya?![]()
As long as u have have thought it through and can adjust to the changes, there shouldnt be any problems.Originally posted by Fatum:I worked as a software developer for an engineering company before ... both real time and database reporting apps for hardware devices .... both web and windows forms using .NET ... infact, I was the lead developer for the web component on the last project ...
also touched JSP stuff and oracle databases before ... plus some misc scripting stuff ...
how ? ... you got lobang issit ? ...
I have never worked in Singapore before, unless you count part time jobs ... I know my salary would take a big hit .... I'm getting more than S$5k a month here as a fresh grad ... I know it'll never be matched in Singapore .... but living expenses and income tax eat up a lot of that.
but hey, cost of living would be lower, I'd be getting CPF, and GST at 7% is still half of what I pay here ....
housing ? ... I still have my own room in Singapore of course ...
single how?Originally posted by Wanda:If you're 35 and above buying a resale flat...no need.![]()
I am not buying.Originally posted by elindra:Maybe plan first
Now is not the time to buy if you are not in a hurry
The market is hot and crazy
I got my flat at 318k. Now my area is about 380k
hmmz true.Originally posted by Wanda:I can put my mom's name to get a hdb flat but it does not mean my housewife mom has the income to pay, right?![]()
I actually had a head hunting company call me up here and ask me if I'd be interested in a regional software sales position based in Singapore .....Originally posted by hisoka:hmmz lots of jobs asking for those skills you have fro what i see in the job ads. no probs for you i guess.
but yeah salary dam lousy![]()
and that means need for most of us here, barring a fewOriginally posted by Wanda:If you're 35 and above buying a resale flat...no need.![]()
There will be no transfer in names right?Originally posted by Ferret:I am not buying.
I am taking over the mortage loan for current one.
For HDB resale, I don't think it's overpriced...now it's more like the "normal" price in a humming economy.Originally posted by Celtic Knot:I am way past the age of getting a HDB flat and I am not rushing..
yeah...wait till the market price goes down...then u get one..
now it is definitely overpriced liao...![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:I actually had a head hunting company call me up here and ask me if I'd be interested in a regional software sales position based in Singapore .....
we yakked for a while ... things were starting to look pretty promising ... until I told her that I'm no Canadian ... but Singaporean .....
she hung up .....
I dunno why ...... something wrong with Singaporeans or what ? ....![]()
I know these chaps .... I also know the ah tiongs .....Originally posted by elindra:I dun think you will have a problem getting a job here
Only thing about being in the IT line is fighting with the Indian IT guys
CostsOriginally posted by elindra:I wonder what is the problem
A Singaporean can do well overseas yet our own country dun want us
Tell me about itOriginally posted by Fatum:I know these chaps .... I also know the ah tiongs .....
some of them are really very very good .... but most of them are only good at selling and talking .... they can't code for nuts .....
oh sure ... they'll deliver to you a working system ... it may even be designed according to your specs ... but 6 months down the line, something will blow up and you'll discover that it'll take twice as long to resolve the bug as to code up the entire system .... cos of bad foundations, bad design, lousy documentation ....
of course .... when you pay peanuts, what do you expect ? ....
x 2Originally posted by elindra:There will be no transfer in names right?
Coz it would be more advisable to give your parents the money to pay for the mortage instead of transfering of names coz what if you meet a Mr Ferret and wanna get married and get your own place? You will have a problem
I'm talking about Fatum's experience with that head hunterOriginally posted by StarPuppy:Costs
why pay 2x - 3x more for someone who can do almost as well as you if not better
and also
loyalty to company?
What's I'd said earlier applies to single too...as long as 35 and above and buy resale. No need to get married to cut mommy's apron strings.Originally posted by StarPuppy:single how?
must rent?
If dun transfer name, can still use her CFP to pay meh? I think cannot.Originally posted by elindra:There will be no transfer in names right?
Coz it would be more advisable to give your parents the money to pay for the mortage instead of transfering of names coz what if you meet a Mr Ferret and wanna get married and get your own place? You will have a problem
Btw do you have to service the loan for many years to come?
I belong to the above 35 singles category.Originally posted by Wanda:What's I'd said earlier applies to single too...as long as 35 and above and buy resale. No need to get married to cut mommy's apron strings.![]()