I think if you have to put in your name, then you'll have to do it. But do you have to do a renovation too (i presume it's your current home)? I just think it's too much for you alone to service 2 loans + paying flat using CPF unless you salary is very high...then I got nothing to say.Originally posted by Ferret:Unfortunately, going into details of the why and how I am taking this up would take too long.
Briefly, my parents are unable to service the current loan. It was this or move out.
I rather spend my time researching more into it. Actually I hope you guys might be able to help with that insteadof disuading me from it T.T
I forecast that I will be switching 2 funds sometime in the middle of next yearOriginally posted by elindra:Bad time la
We got it when it was very very low
Seriously I will need to do a switch in 2008 or so not been paying too much attention to it lately
Will need to liao
This one is VERY importantOriginally posted by av98m:here's an example of cpf aapproved investment funds
http://www.aia.com.sg/east_info_fund.asp
also pay special attention to sales and management charges.
Originally posted by Fatum:I just read the last line of AV's siggy ......![]()
I remember it bounced up pretty quickly ... maybe you should have stayed ...Originally posted by elindra:This one is VERY important
That time hor KNN I got some American Funds from DBS
That time I got it during the crash during 911
Bloody fucking hell coz of the bloody monkey the market keep going down and all I did was lose money and even if you don't touch the cash the bloody leech DBS still charge you a bloody handling fee
I cut my losses. Lost almost 2 k![]()
Is it investment plus insurance policy? I don't need another investment linked policy...Originally posted by elindra:Wanda my investment is with Prudential and basically it is the Singapore funds
Oh yeahOriginally posted by av98m:I forecast that I will be switching 2 funds sometime in the middle of next year
Oh yeah, its good to be allowed to do free fund switches. Some charge a fee, which is bad.
It bounced up NOT ENOUGH TO COVER MY LOSSES and than it dropped again okOriginally posted by Fatum:I remember it bounced up pretty quickly ... maybe you should have stayed ...![]()
no no, actually what i meant was that, lets say u r on expat pay ur salary will be higher. their fees will be based on a certain percentage of ur salary.Originally posted by Fatum:before I revealed that I was not a Canadian, but a Singaporean, they were perfectly to ship me to Singapore, set me up on expat terms, and give me a job that'll have me jet around the region ....
so what changed after I told them that infact, I'm a Singaporean ? ....
if anything ... if they think I'm a suitable candidate in the first place .... then me telling them I'm a Singkie should be good news to them, cos they can save on the expat perks, right ? ...
and that's what eating me ! ...
i put mine in the aviva deOriginally posted by bluejuice:yah.. what investment??
I was also thinking of investing my CPF since its sitting there earning the pathetic interest... but not sure what to invest in..
Income has some invm funds that allows 2 free switches per year.Originally posted by elindra:Oh yeah
I dunno about AIA but Prudential allows you a free switch as long as you don't do it often
I tell you the DBS one is daylight robbery
No switch they charge you also
KNN I will never get another mutual fund account from them anymore.
That one was a super bad buy
Same for me actually I need to start paying attention to my funds again![]()
Dun use DBS tooOriginally posted by Wanda:Income has some invm funds that allows 2 free switches per year.
As for banks, dun use Stanchart also...they are really bad in their choice of funds...![]()
ahhh thats the kind of stuff i was looking for.Originally posted by av98m:without looking at your loan documents, not much we can say.
but one thing you must do, which is to buy mortgage insurance![]()
That is ridiculous...the other banks I know will normally charge the 5% sales charge, and the management fee will be taken care of, ie, included in the calculation of potential returns.Originally posted by elindra:Dun use DBS too
Bloody vampires
They charge you monthly for not touching the funds too![]()
Basically all these affect your credit risk status which might affect your decisions in the futureOriginally posted by Ferret:ahhh thats the kind of stuff i was looking for.
like elindra's qns " on credit card application" prior to loan approval, mousie's qns on "income protection" and now ur "mortage insurance"
I kinda remember tare telling me abt mortage levy, reno loans, etc thats why I was able to look into my options the other day as well as asking intelligent qns from the HDB officers.
You see, everything's so new to me, I have no idea where to even begin asking questions. >.<"
I need more stuff like that.
Since I am most likely finalising my decision by end month, I need to know what kind of stuff to look out for...
I wish my salary was that highOriginally posted by Wanda:I think if you have to put in your name, then you'll have to do it. But do you have to do a renovation too (i presume it's your current home)? I just think it's too much for you alone to service 2 loans + paying flat using CPF unless you salary is very high...then I got nothing to say.![]()
maybe pinky bear sine she buy house le. me dunno much, but this means next tiem if need can ask youOriginally posted by Ferret:ahhh thats the kind of stuff i was looking for.
like elindra's qns " on credit card application" prior to loan approval, mousie's qns on "income protection" and now ur "mortage insurance"
I kinda remember tare telling me abt mortage levy, reno loans, etc thats why I was able to look into my options the other day as well as asking intelligent qns from the HDB officers.
You see, everything's so new to me, I have no idea where to even begin asking questions. >.<"
Since I am most likely finalising my decision by end month, I need to know what kind of stuff to look out for...
yeah that occured to me.Originally posted by elindra:Basically all these affect your credit risk status which might affect your decisions in the future
Most important thing before you sign anything is READ THE FINE PRINT
Dun make the same mistake as me ><
mortgage insurance is super important because in the event of death, or disability, or illness rendering you unable to work for a living, your mortgage will be taken care of.Originally posted by Ferret:ahhh thats the kind of stuff i was looking for.
you may be right ... but it still left a bitter taste in my mouth ....Originally posted by Ferret:no no, actually what i meant was that, lets say u r on expat pay ur salary will be higher. their fees will be based on a certain percentage of ur salary.
if u are a sporean, ur pay will be lower, thus translating into lower comm for them all.
it may not be the case, but it could be a reason for the discrimination of course.![]()
Yes I get to switch for freeOriginally posted by elindra:Oh yeah
I dunno about AIA but Prudential allows you a free switch as long as you don't do it often
I tell you the DBS one is daylight robbery
No switch they charge you also
KNN I will never get another mutual fund account from them anymore.
That one was a super bad buy
Same for me actually I need to start paying attention to my funds again![]()
If I can still remember, if you buy HDB, they will force you to take up the mortgage insurance (something Dependents' insurance or something) and the fire protection insurance...so that's taken care of.Originally posted by av98m:mortgage insurance is super important because in the event of death, or disability, or illness rendering you unable to work for a living, your mortgage will be taken care of.
basically I planned my insurance and stuff in such a way that if I die, my family will not kena financial hardship. in fact they will make a tidy sum.
in other words I'm now worth a lot more dead than alive ><
well can't blame them in that case not like the other regional bullcrap thing......Originally posted by Fatum:you may be right ... but it still left a bitter taste in my mouth ....
I've had a lot of phone calls from US based companies and headhunters too ... they want only Canadians ... cos Canadians can work in the US easily without much restrictions cos of NAFTA (I think) ...
they'll even pay you relocation expenses and all that ... but the moment I tell them I'm not Canadian but a Singkie .. they'll just say thanks but no thanks and hang up .....
oh well their loss .....
time to orhzz liao ...