thats what I was thinking too.Originally posted by Celtic Knot:Ferret, one more thing to consider...(oso not to pour cold water)..is that if one day..(choi choi), if u decide to quit your job and kana jobless for half year with no income, would u be able to handle the situation?
just a caution u might want to consider seriously..
(big sis point of view)
ahh..thats a good policy.Originally posted by Wanda:If I can still remember, if you buy HDB, they will force you to take up the mortgage insurance (something Dependents' insurance or something) and the fire protection insurance...so that's taken care of.
mine got free switch, within a number of funds that isOriginally posted by av98m:Yes I get to switch for free(limited to 4 times per fund)
To be safe, work based on your lowest possible income and include your lifestyle sacrifices you need to do based on thatOriginally posted by Ferret:thats what I was thinking too.
i am like frantically punching the numbers now >.<"
I am ok with my CPF-hdb loan mortage because if my numbers for that are right, I can pretty well cruise by without any CPF income for at least 2 yearsthat was the reason i was looking at the 30 years (max) rather than 20. Just in case something happened to my parents or me, at least we have some time before making another major decision.
I am hesitant abt the reno and personal loans because I havent worked out my "comfort zone" numbers, risks which I am to handle without much lifestyle changes.
hows the insurance like ? is it a lump sum payment (upfront or later ?) or a monthly thing ?Originally posted by Wanda:If I can still remember, if you buy HDB, they will force you to take up the mortgage insurance (something Dependents' insurance or something) and the fire protection insurance...so that's taken care of.
mmmmm.... I go see look the numbers again.Originally posted by elindra:To be safe, work based on your lowest possible income and include your lifestyle sacrifices you need to do based on that
depends on how many years you have your mortage i guess. if its jsut a short time taking the risk into acount might not be worth it.Originally posted by av98m:ahh..thats a good policy.
"when life gets me down, ferret's siggie gets me up again"Originally posted by av98m:*eyes going blind from ferret's new siggy* T__T
It's a once a yr payment...if I'm not wrong...can pay by cfp (not sure?), coz I dun remember having to cough up cash. The amt depends on the size of your flat, and due to economies of scale, the amount is not very high, maybe a few tenths to around 100+ per year. The fire insurance is handled by a pte company appointed by HDB.Originally posted by Ferret:hows the insurance like ? is it a lump sum payment (upfront or later ?) or a monthly thing ?
by cash or cpf ?
Originally posted by av98m:*eyes going blind from ferret's new siggy* T__T
yeah thats one more to consider as u get older huh.Originally posted by elindra:Now the sian thing is MPB knee is acting up again
If he goes for knee surgery he will have to rest for 4 months
There will be a huge income loss and that is holding him back from going for surgery.
I agree ferrets siggy is more ok than yours.Originally posted by hisoka:![]()
ok what.
more like kicks me deeper into the dirtOriginally posted by Ferret:"when life gets me down, ferret's siggie gets me up again"![]()
remember what the marinated mouse said about income protection.Originally posted by Ferret:yeah thats one more to consider as u get older huh.![]()
mmmm. congratz !Originally posted by Wanda:It's a once a yr payment...if I'm not wrong...can pay by cfp (not sure?), coz I dun remember having to cough up cash. The amt depends on the size of your flat, and due to economies of scale, the amount is not very high, maybe a few tenths to around 100+ per year. The fire insurance is handled by a pte company appointed by HDB.
Sorry, can't remember the exact details coz we've paid up the hdb loan for a no. of years liao.
-pat pat-Originally posted by av98m:more like kicks me deeper into the dirt![]()
noOriginally posted by Ferret:-pat pat-
i thought its kinda sweet looking![]()
erm, knee replacement is just replace a part and then let the wound heal?Originally posted by elindra:Btw are you guys familiar with lingament surgery on the knee
MPB knee is acting up again but he is refusing surgery coz the doc says he have to rest for 4 months?????
I remember knee replacement surgery only require a month MC nia how come sew up a torn ligament need 4 mths?
where do i find info on stuff liddat ?Originally posted by av98m:remember what the marinated mouse said about income protection.
there are policies that will pay you when you are at home recuperating from illness or surgery.
i am a late boomer...Originally posted by Ferret:mmmm. congratz !
-envious-
Actually I have this gal friend, in her early thirties who has fully paid up her HDB as well. And her kid's in sec school oledy !
Starting young is good huh.
btw i named it avchuOriginally posted by av98m:no![]()