Googled said car. Orh... it's the Yaris. Silly name, really. Vios sounds much nicer.Originally posted by the Bear:mine's the older version.. this year, they came up with something that looks nothing like mine so you gotta look for the 2005 model

something wrong with your car? or want to buy one?Originally posted by jetta:Anybody home? Does anybody here drive a Nissan Versa/Tiida?
How come you guys don't have Yaris sedans there?Originally posted by the Bear:no no.. Yaris here is a hatch...
mine's like this..
lots dirtier though since the only washing the car gets is through a car wash everytime it gets to become a safety hazard (hard to see through the rear windscreen)
this is the Yaris
Originally posted by jetta:I'm asking because we are trading in our 04 manual Jetta wagon for an auto. We've looked at the Scion Xc and liked it but took too long making up our minds at the one we looked at. Tonight, we went to the Nissan dealership and tested the Versa. They even let us borrow a new Versa for a couple of days to see if we liked it enough to buy it. Well, we did but when we did the crunching, after our trade, we owed $6K so we settled on a use 06 Sentra. So now the Sentra's in the garage and we're wondering if we should have gotten the Versa instead. Not to late to change our minds since we have a 48 hour exchange policy. Decisions, decisions...
Originally posted by jetta:How come you guys don't have Yaris sedans there?
We're a little sad because we loved our Jetta wagon. It was a program car owned by VW USA and was never registered. That sweet car was really loaded and we paid it off earlier this year. The only reason we decided to sell it is that the hubster's knees are shot from 20 years of climbing up and down steep steel stairs on ships.Originally posted by the Bear:hmmm... i don't know much about cars except that when i got mine, i crunched the numbers which included fuel consumption...
the nissans we have in singapore seem to be thirstier than the toyotas.. read a bit more and i think it came down to the weight of the chassis.. the toyotas are lighter.. but structurally, they're still as strong..
so i went with the most value-for-money car then... and since i drove my dad's toyota altis around a bit, and found the handling to be pretty okay, i went with it
and... nissans were also dearer

yupz the nissans are freaking heavy. they used to be light, but nowadays there are so heavy the consumption is really bad. well at least in sg. dunno about the ones at jetta's side.Originally posted by the Bear:hmmm... i don't know much about cars except that when i got mine, i crunched the numbers which included fuel consumption...
the nissans we have in singapore seem to be thirstier than the toyotas.. read a bit more and i think it came down to the weight of the chassis.. the toyotas are lighter.. but structurally, they're still as strong..
so i went with the most value-for-money car then... and since i drove my dad's toyota altis around a bit, and found the handling to be pretty okay, i went with it
and... nissans were also dearer
Originally posted by jetta:We're a little sad because we loved our Jetta wagon. It was a program car owned by VW USA and was never registered. That sweet car was really loaded and we paid it off earlier this year. The only reason we decided to sell it is that the hubster's knees are shot from 20 years of climbing up and down steep steel stairs on ships.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:fracking tired....
i am going to break out that beer to drink 1st. More packing later.
That's the first thing we did. Conversion costs are upwards of US$5K. Figure it this way: The Nissan guys are giving us $10K for our trade (used market here very slow of late, will take too long to sell on open market). After the price and fees, we'll owe $6K.Originally posted by the Bear:hmm... uhh.. i dunno how it works in the US, but in australia, there are mechanics who change manuals into autos for a couple of thousand dollars.. at least when i was there more than a decade ago
and if the wagon is still good, and you guys like it, try going that route if it's legal?
Sounds strange to admit this but I enjoy packing.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:fracking tired....
i am going to break out that beer to drink 1st. More packing later.
Originally posted by jetta:That's the first thing we did. Conversion costs are upwards of US$5K. Figure it this way: The Nissan guys are giving us $10K for our trade (used market here very slow of late, will take too long to sell on open market). After the price and fees, we'll owe $6K.
considered whether the upkeep would be higher? whether the new one won't be more prone to break downs and such? new things aren't always better.Originally posted by jetta:That's the first thing we did. Conversion costs are upwards of US$5K. Figure it this way: The Nissan guys are giving us $10K for our trade (used market here very slow of late, will take too long to sell on open market). After the price and fees, we'll owe $6K.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:ermmmm ..... not sure if you're the superstitious sort .... but what colour were the fireflies ? ...
Good Morning....
[b]I am Back...Civilisation!!!!!
now back pain, shoulder pain, feet pain, brain stoned..
The forest/jungle was super dark. The moonlight did not help.
Nite photo session, we walked non-stop.., carrying my heavy tripod, cammy ...8kg.....squatting, leaning, marching in the dark...just to take nite macro (which I failed miserably with my lens), and fun shots (nice house and light drawing)..
At 12am, we return to campsite, I cook my maggie mee and 3-1 kopi..
Slept only 1.5hr...have to wake and pack up..
At 4am (in the dark), we headed for Chet Jawa for sunrise....
Carried my tent, sleeping bag, all cooking stuff, my clothes, TRIPOD, camera, bottle.... walk from campsite (north) all the way to the end of Chew Jawa...
I'm so exhausted, carrying about 13kg of stuff walk from north of ubin to the extreme east of ubin, and the route is within the forestry dark and errie...
But, it was quite amazing that I managed all those weights without dislocating my shoulders..
Rewards:
I spot a grey wild boar .... I called out to the rest to see it, the boar ran away... then his/her entire family of 5 , "ran" away from us, and they were from the nearby bushes near us.... they are HUGE...
We saw fireflies too....flying above my head, so beautiful...
Fun shots at night and cool sunrise shots at Chet Jawa.
Returned and touch down at Changi Village, I eat IPOH HOR FUN with plenty fish cakes.! Damn hungry..
I need to lie down to straight my back and spine now...[/b]

no lah..superstitious...i was so tired to be superstitious....the fireflies nice..Originally posted by Fatum:ermmmm ..... not sure if you're the superstitious sort .... but what colour were the fireflies ? ...
it could be something ... else eh ? ....![]()