I didnt take a year off work entirely. But when I decided to leave my previous job to do a career switch, I worked for about 1 year part time, finishing work most days at 1 pm.Originally posted by KittynMeow:hmmm... just wondering... for those of you who are working... have you ever thought about taking a year off (sort of like sabbatical leave) or something??? before coming back and plunge into working life again??
And if you have.... what do you want to do during this "leave" period??
if can afford and still got job would be goodOriginally posted by KittynMeow:hmmm... just wondering... for those of you who are working... have you ever thought about taking a year off (sort of like sabbatical leave) or something??? before coming back and plunge into working life again??
And if you have.... what do you want to do during this "leave" period??
I think luxury or not... depends on what we intend to do during this time lah... things like "travel round the world" (which is what I really want) of course will not be affordable.... it'll be too dem ex!!Originally posted by Fatum:I thought only profs do that ...
it would be a luxury few of us can really afford I think ...![]()
sounds good.....Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:I didnt take a year off work entirely. But when I decided to leave my previous job to do a career switch, I worked for about 1 year part time, finishing work most days at 1 pm.
Hmm.. pay cut was huge so travelling was out, though I did travel then. But I guess I sort out some issues, and fixed the directional antenna and all that
being the line i WAS in... i still can put some freelance jobs on my resume so not too bad.. but now, changed industry altogether, out of touch liao... can't go back my previous line alsoOriginally posted by bluejuice:no, because scared I'll be unable to find a job by the time I come back to the workforce. Nowadays very competitive..
I'm seriously thinking of doing developmental work with some NGO in some third world shit hole right now ....Originally posted by KittynMeow:I think luxury or not... depends on what we intend to do during this time lah... things like "travel round the world" (which is what I really want) of course will not be affordable.... it'll be too dem ex!!
but somehow I'm feeling the grind of this daily routine of working for my rice bowl and would really love the luxury to take a very very long leave... if not a year, at least 6 months to get away from the routine for a while....
Wow That will be some experience!Originally posted by Fatum:I'm seriously thinking of doing developmental work with some NGO in some third world shit hole right now ....
Nah... not at the moment. Only thing is that I've been feeling as though I've been working non-stop for what... close to 10 years now.... a break seems to be much needed i guess... not just one of those short holiday breaks or what... basically away from the routine of working....Originally posted by elindra:KnM you wanna change jobs?
I need to re-orientate myself also ...Originally posted by elindra:Wow That will be some experience!
For me the most I will do is support a family or child listed on worldvision.org
actually unless u could afford to seriously travel, to be completely without a job could be quite boring.Originally posted by KittynMeow:sounds good.....
thinking that if i really want to take this kinda break.... the best time to do so would be between jobs I guess....
unless I can get to travel and do freelance work at the same time... e.g. contribute to travelogue publishers... hahahaha that would be nice... kekekeke
Yeah work gets more competitive and stressfulOriginally posted by KittynMeow:Nah... not at the moment. Only thing is that I've been feeling as though I've been working non-stop for what... close to 10 years now.... a break seems to be much needed i guess... not just one of those short holiday breaks or what... basically away from the routine of working....
Bear.... do take care please..... not good like this.....Originally posted by the Bear:*&%#
my back hurt so much suddenly and the pain shot down my left leg... my leg just gave way...
thing is.. it's not hurting now.. just aching like mad..
dunno what's happening
probably over strained your back....Originally posted by the Bear:*&%#
my back hurt so much suddenly and the pain shot down my left leg... my leg just gave way...
dunno what's happening
Why dun you go home to rest ><Originally posted by the Bear:*&%#
dunno what's happening
You can work for a pay check and do community work outside too worOriginally posted by Fatum:I need to re-orientate myself also ...
I cannot stand the daily crunch of daily existence ... and I want to do something greater and more meaningful in my life .....
I don't want to work just for a pay check ... but that's what I have been doing since I left school ....
you know ... for a brief moment ... I even considered joining the teaching service ...![]()
same here.... that is the feeling I'm getting now.... tho there have been instances where colleagues go on sabbatical.. but I'm not sure if I do that, will it work....Originally posted by elindra:Yeah work gets more competitive and stressful
I damn sian
I feel like doing a total career switch and do something like what SC is doing
Maybe in a few more yrs or something when I wanna slow things down or something
I'm tempted to do that ....Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:actually unless u could afford to seriously travel, to be completely without a job could be quite boring.
u could try some jobs u always wanted to do but couldn't cos pay low or what.
part time waitress at a hip cafe... or I dunno, librarian, or taxi drivergives u a bit of allowance to live on, meet some new interesting people - i think that's fun.
-_-" Good luck Bear but make sure you go off immediately after work and get yr back checked!!!!Originally posted by the Bear:i've got people on my ass for a lot of things at work
i just received an email about something about my pay.. i've not read it yet.. the rest of the guys seem to be pretty angry about it so it can't be good
$$ in the pocket is always the biggest concern.Originally posted by KittynMeow:same here.... that is the feeling I'm getting now.... tho there have been instances where colleagues go on sabbatical.. but I'm not sure if I do that, will it work....
or would it be better when I take such breaks when I'm ready for a major change like a job change or something....
as for travelling.... I'll like to do some... esp when it's travelling without worrying about having to come back to work immediately... to totally "rest"? and find some new direction or orientation.... but of course, will consider the $$ in the pocket first... hehe
He got the smarts to live life like thatOriginally posted by Fatum:I'm tempted to do that ....
but my mother would freak out ....
there's an army mate of mine ... a real life genius, hard core party animal, and afflicted with the usual disease of the super smart: sloth ...
he breezed through SMU with honours, though I know he never studies ... and now he's a professional gambler (yes, you heard right) and party animal ....
he divides his time between singapore, hongkong, sydney and las vegas, playing poker, and trading in currencies and shares .... his mother is going ape over his life style of course ...
last i heard he's got half a million pounds leveraged ... and he was asking my opinion between a merc and a nissan sports car .... all that in a year after graduation, while I was slogging 14 hour days to make my rent and living expenses .... haiz ...
you can work for money but of course if you job hop, you don't tend to earn that muchOriginally posted by Fatum:I'm tempted to do that ....
but my mother would freak out ....
there's an army mate of mine ... a real life genius, hard core party animal, and afflicted with the usual disease of the super smart: sloth ...
he breezed through SMU with honours, though I know he never studies ... and now he's a professional gambler (yes, you heard right) and party animal ....
he divides his time between singapore, hongkong, sydney and las vegas, playing poker, and trading in currencies and shares .... his mother is going ape over his life style of course ...
last i heard he's got half a million pounds leveraged ... and he was asking my opinion between a merc and a nissan sports car .... all that in a year after graduation, while I was slogging 14 hour days to make my rent and living expenses .... haiz ...
or like what Fatum says... work for an NGO or something. That will really take me to places that are completely off the beaten track....Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:actually unless u could afford to seriously travel, to be completely without a job could be quite boring.
u could try some jobs u always wanted to do but couldn't cos pay low or what.
part time waitress at a hip cafe... or I dunno, librarian, or taxi drivergives u a bit of allowance to live on, meet some new interesting people - i think that's fun.