that's what I've been telling him .... not to short change himself ...Originally posted by elindra:He got the smarts to live life like that
I wish I can do that but too bad
But actually hor if he put those smarts coupled with hard work he would have much much more $$ but I doubt he be living the life he is now
Can I ask what line are you in?Originally posted by KittynMeow:I've been in the same line for the past 10 years..... though for different companies... maybe that's why I'm feeling a little of that feeling that it's a drag....
that was when I was younger and err.. more 'reckless' plus i think my parents were understanding enough to let me explore as well.Originally posted by elindra:SC yr work life is very colorful
Mine looks boring
Try SIF?Originally posted by KittynMeow:or like what Fatum says... work for an NGO or something. That will really take me to places that are completely off the beaten track....![]()
Me?? I'm in corp comms.... same thing that Bear is doing nowadays.... hahahahaOriginally posted by elindra:Can I ask what line are you in?
When I was studying I worked as a cashier, waitress (only lasted a week) and as retail sales promoter
Then I worked for 8 mths as a logistics exec then after that I have been stuck in this job ....I think for 5 yrs liao ... Sales & Marketing with trading elements![]()
I thought corporate comms should be quite interestingOriginally posted by KittynMeow:Me?? I'm in corp comms.... same thing that Bear is doing nowadays.... hahahaha
been in this line (or related work) ever since i graduated...
11 years is a loooooooooooooooong time... even now when I tell ppl i've been in the same company for 6 years, going on to 7 years, i get comments that the trend is that people tend to stay at a company for a much shorter period these days....Originally posted by the Bear:i've been in the same organisation for 11 years...
in that time, i've been a working hack, a system administrator, a Strategic Researcher, a Treasurer, and a lot of other things in between..
now i do Community Involvement
but most of the time in this 11 years, the whole organisation has been running to stand still, way overworked and still the idiots up high are trying to cut manpower when we are criminally understaffed
I'm a member of engineers without borders ....Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Try SIF?
or Operation Raleigh is quite interesting too.
it is interesting.... and when there are events and stuff, I like the adrenalin rush....Originally posted by elindra:I thought corporate comms should be quite interesting
My line of work is interesting but you know there is more to soybeans and pork and glycerine and other commodities
Not a glam job.... I wouldn't say it's easy but it's not hard either
Same laOriginally posted by KittynMeow:11 years is a loooooooooooooooong time... even now when I tell ppl i've been in the same company for 6 years, going on to 7 years, i get comments that the trend is that people tend to stay at a company for a much shorter period these days....
hmmm... mebbe i should go and refresh what I learned abt journalism and join reporters without borders...... that would be totally radical.... hahahaOriginally posted by Fatum:I'm a member of engineers without borders ....
becoz ppl are getting ambitious.. restless..Originally posted by KittynMeow:11 years is a loooooooooooooooong time... even now when I tell ppl i've been in the same company for 6 years, going on to 7 years, i get comments that the trend is that people tend to stay at a company for a much shorter period these days....
Coz the grass is always greener on the other sideOriginally posted by bluejuice:becoz ppl are getting ambitious.. restless..
getting more and more difficult to retain staff nowadays..
sometimes not greener just different species. eat sian liao ma one sideOriginally posted by elindra:Coz the grass is always greener on the other side
Originally posted by KittynMeow:11 years is a loooooooooooooooong time... even now when I tell ppl i've been in the same company for 6 years, going on to 7 years, i get comments that the trend is that people tend to stay at a company for a much shorter period these days....
Ya lor lilke me I shouldn't have complained that I'm bored of soybeansOriginally posted by ShrodingersCat:sometimes not greener just different species. eat sian liao ma one side
hahahahaha yah..... that's the thing.... I said i wanted better recognition and i end up with a diff title, same pay and more work... hahahaOriginally posted by elindra:Ya lor lilke me I shouldn't have complained that I'm bored of soybeans
Complain liao I get more work and pay remains the same![]()
actually talking abt soybeans.. u know that forum -points to musclebodybuildingdunnowatforum- why they keep saying soyabean not good ha?Originally posted by elindra:Ya lor lilke me I shouldn't have complained that I'm bored of soybeans
Complain liao I get more work and pay remains the same![]()
I am considering joining the teaching serviceOriginally posted by Fatum:I need to re-orientate myself also ...
I cannot stand the daily crunch of daily existence ... and I want to do something greater and more meaningful in my life .....
I don't want to work just for a pay check ... but that's what I have been doing since I left school ....
you know ... for a brief moment ... I even considered joining the teaching service ...![]()