its tough but at least i tried before....Originally posted by Rhonda:How did you find it? It's tough, right?
Some days, I come home and I'm glad there's no one home because I just don't think I can take more talking.
It was good for a while when I first met fireman... he'd very kindly ask me about my day when I went to see him after work on Sundays and he'd patiently let me whinge.
OK... I think it's time to go get myself a cat who'll just lie beside you (or more likely ON you like my other cats did!) and then do their eye-kisses thing (slow-mo opening and closing of eyes which means they love you), and then knead you with their paws (a habit they retain from kitten-hood), and purr loudly and reassuringly, and let me whinge until I'm satisfied, then go to sleep.
Bad enuff to be sucking fingers afterwardsOriginally posted by Yvlaine:How bad was it? Jolted by external metal casing? I got slight jolt from static on the external metal casing of my DVD player. Can't remember if it was Akira or Sony.
Fireman has been a page from my past for 2 months now.Originally posted by zoragirl:its tough but at least i tried before....
a cat is gd but i think a companion is better.....
the fireman is a nice guy....so anything on ?
40"Originally posted by choco B:Sony Bravia now very cheap, full HD 40" at S$2999. Can consider, or wait for lower price during CNY!
Where r u planning to go?Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:yippeee...finish work liao....finally....
and i let the boys go off early....a special treat for them ..they did work very hard for the past 1 week...
now it's time to photocopy my travel book..the pages i need...![]()
Originally posted by Wanda:Where r u planning to go?
Ok...i have a 2nd hand but rather new version Rough Guide to Vietnam which I bought in Bkk. You wanna borrow?Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:Ho Chi Minh City only....
roam around for 5 days....maybe try the duck embryo...
Originally posted by Wanda:Ok...i have a 2nd hand but rather new version Rough Guide to Vietnam which I bought in Bkk. You wanna borrow?![]()
For backpacking trips hor, I only rely on 3 main guides: LP, RG and Let's Go Guide. The rest not much use de.Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:no need lah..paiseh...i went library and borrow 4 books liao..
i got:
Travellers : Vietnam
Lonely Planets
Footprint
and one more..errh..cannot remember name...it's at home..
i only need the HCMC part... need to roam around.. so I do the planning lor.
I was moderately electrocuted once. Left me blackened fingers for a week. I was 7 or 8 then, so I can't remember much. Just felt a burnt feeling, but one which was distinctly different from a heat burn.Originally posted by Ferret:Bad enuff to be sucking fingers afterwards![]()
sounds bad ....... stop playing with electricity ...... it's worse than fireOriginally posted by Yvlaine:I was moderately electrocuted once. Left me blackened fingers for a week. I was 7 or 8 then, so I can't remember much. Just felt a burnt feeling, but one which was distinctly different from a heat burn.
Don't remember if I sucked my fingers afterwards tho!![]()
Originally posted by Wanda:For backpacking trips hor, I only rely on 3 main guides: LP, RG and Let's Go Guide. The rest not much use de.![]()
You can still backpack to a non-rural / urbanised place. The more comfortable version is more like free n easy, actually.Originally posted by Yvlaine:Backpacking seems so fun. But I'm so not a rural kinda person, so I'm prolly more in love with the idea of backpacking than backpacking itself. Am I making sense?![]()
Originally posted by Yvlaine:Backpacking seems so fun. But I'm so not a rural kinda person, so I'm prolly more in love with the idea of backpacking than backpacking itself. Am I making sense?![]()
I'm not sure about the updates, but LP reporters sometimes aren't adventurous when it comes to Asian countries - they failed to cover so many nice places in Yunan that it is amazing they weren't ashamed of themselves.Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:so far, I think LP is most updated one lor...they update every 2 years i think..
i am holding onto the aug 07 version...so i think it is alright..
Like Europe or Japan? Expensive...gotta start saving!Originally posted by Wanda:You can still backpack to a non-rural / urbanised place. The more comfortable version is more like free n easy, actually.
u are putting LP to shame ......Originally posted by Wanda:I'm not sure about the updates, but LP reporters sometimes aren't adventurous when it comes to Asian countries - they failed to cover so many nice places in Yunan that it is amazing they weren't ashamed of themselves.![]()
That is why I need at least 2 good guides, LP + RG or LG...can't rely on LG alone....and even the info on Thailand LP 2006 can be rather outdated already.
Yup. I'll be fine as long as I remember not to switch off the bathroom lights with wet hands after a shower.Originally posted by InnoHippo:sounds bad ....... stop playing with electricity ...... it's worse than fire
Erm....it's very very expensive to do free n easy for Europe due to the long distances and the exchange rate....so it may be cheaper to take a package tour, but for Japan, I think it's doable, from what I've heard.Originally posted by Yvlaine:Like Europe or Japan? Expensive...gotta start saving!
Actually I left my guided Korean tour for 2 days once. A friend I went with had a local friend of his bring us around. Seoul was so like Singapore in many ways from the brief experience I had.
So many flats, his friend's apartment was built really like a HDB one.
replace the light switches if they are very old liao ......Originally posted by Yvlaine:Yup. I'll be fine as long as I remember not to switch off the bathroom lights with wet hands after a shower.![]()
Originally posted by InnoHippo:u are putting LP to shame ......![]()
I keep getting electrocuted (minor) from teebees lah, switches lah, vcd players lah...Originally posted by Yvlaine:I was moderately electrocuted once. Left me blackened fingers for a week. I was 7 or 8 then, so I can't remember much. Just felt a burnt feeling, but one which was distinctly different from a heat burn.
Don't remember if I sucked my fingers afterwards tho!![]()
u should volunteer ur services to LP as freelanceOriginally posted by Wanda:
I kena before in Thailand in Chengdu...go to the address given in LP and found the building no longer existed in Chengdu, much less the bank listed in the building...and that was when I needed to exchange my travellers' cheques for cash.![]()