Originally posted by choco B:Oooh... I shall get a few bottles of the vegetarian stuff, and mebe 1 tub of love letters for myself.
Hur hur I am very particular about my pineapple tarts... I've travelled to Pine Garden in AMK cos of all the newspaper hype to get a bottle - must say , not as great as heralded , mebe expectation too high. Have you tried?
I get my regular supply from a housewife in Jurong West, but too out of the way for you.
One place I THINK would be quite good is The Baker's Story, the place that Kuali recommended very good cheese brownies. The afternoon I was there, they had a few CNY items out, I tried the cornflake cookies, is pretty good... if their standard is consistant across board, I think their pineapple tarts will be worth a try. Too bad I was too early & they haven't started production of pineapple tarts yet T___T I am torn between distance and urge to go get a bottle...
Originally posted by Wanda:BTW Choco...for vegetarian goodies, the vegetarian stalls on level 2 of Fortune centre are selling them.
Er...i dun think so.Originally posted by kopiosatu:19 mins! you can walk 2.4 with 19mins!
I prob remember wrongly...maybe it's 16 mins then. I did 2.4km on the threadmill in about 17 mins yest..but I always think it's easier on the threadmills...just lift up your legs can already...no need to propel.Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:no leh...for my age, i have passed within 17mins...
Originally posted by Wanda:I prob remember wrongly...maybe it's 16 mins then. I did 2.4km on the threadmill in about 17 mins yest..but I always think it's easier on the threadmills...just lift up your legs can already...no need to propel.So, I need to run faster . ..
i think i canOriginally posted by Wanda:Er...i dun think so.![]()
Originally posted by Wanda:I haven't tried Pine garden...hmm....i can go to Baker's story to do some sampling first.If they're good, I can get them and pass to you...coz it's near my ILs'.
Baker's story is here: http://www.hungrygowhere.com/the_baker_s_storyOriginally posted by the Bear:say... where is Baker's Story anyway?
and i've yet to find Big Ben's Pies
i think Steak and Guinness Pies trump whatever else pies or tarts any day
Originally posted by the Bear:say... where is Baker's Story anyway?
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:where is the Pine Garden at AMK?
i go get some...![]()
Originally posted by choco B:Sin Ming Center. I thought you guys went to the place before on a gathering to Upp Thomson last time.
http://www.yum.sg/restaurants/the_bakers_story/
Originally posted by Wanda:I haven't tried Pine garden...hmm....i can go to Baker's story to do some sampling first.If they're good, I can get them and pass to you...coz it's near my ILs'.
In that case...better dun have too high expectations for Paw Pledge's tarts...but at least you're helping a charity group.Originally posted by choco B:Last year in Life! newspaper, they rated PG pineapple tarts as Singapore's top 10 OK. I was like so enthused to try - then it was OK only lah. Not terrible though. I'd give it 7/10
@ PG, can try the Black Forest cake. I liked it. Also rated one of Sg's best. Life! loves that bakery. -___-""
No need to pass to me, just a brutal review will doMust go soon k, the guy at Baker's Story says previous years they stop taking orders when they are overwhelmed ! (Duno for real or not) So let me know , if they're good, I will travel for tarts
One of my patients tucked into a Steak and Guiness Pie on Sunday and kept telling me how good it is!Originally posted by the Bear:say... where is Baker's Story anyway?
Just indulge once a year only... just eat lah!Originally posted by kopiosatu:pineapple tarts are sinful!
my attempt to get out of singapore during the cny period has failed![]()
Hmmm.....anyone with a nice big oven that we can go over and mess up the kitchen?Originally posted by kopiosatu:pineapple tarts are sinful!
my attempt to get out of singapore during the cny period has failed![]()
Originally posted by Wanda:In that case...better dun have too high expectations for Paw Pledge's tarts...but at least you're helping a charity group.
Okie...i was at in-laws yest...shd have visited BS. But never mind...have good tarts, will travel.
I once saw a box of "cottage industry" tarts / mooncakes at my ILs given to MIL...i think it's called Peach Oven or something..have u hard of it?
Originally posted by bluejuice:My mum's ordering pineapples to make the pineapple jam, then she'll bake her own pineapple tarts
but she said pineapples increased in price now. Last year $1+, this year $2 each![]()
Here's Big ben's pies....ooh, i like this hungrygowhere site.Originally posted by the Bear:say... where is Baker's Story anyway?
Originally posted by the Bear:sin ming centre.. check
will cause the diets of the people in the office to be irreversibly destroyed
muahahahahaha!
i am EVIL!![]()