they prob roller blade down... or get their maids to carry their stuffs...Originally posted by fudgester:In the end, like it or not, we have to train our soldiers to run. Otherwise, if we withdraw the 2.4km run, then how the freakin' hell are we gonna expect our soldiers to charge at the enemy or run from an impending arty bombardment?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:"going paper-less" sux.
they say now everything is electronic
but its double the job because they key the info in the computer AND the old "paper system" is still in use.
good thing i just need to tahan 2008
Yours is the new or old passport?Originally posted by kopiosatu:i dunno if i should change my passport if i'm gonna head to USA
i remember there was some visa issues about passports not updated after a certain year?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i dunno if i should change my passport if i'm gonna head to USA
i remember there was some visa issues about passports not updated after a certain year?
should be early/mid 2009.Originally posted by the Bear:knn.. when are you going?
it's only $70 for totally no hassles..
Originally posted by kopiosatu:should be early/mid 2009.
i didn't want to change because i don't want to memorise a new set of numbers for my passport
i like the fact that the current number is my ic number
for $70?Originally posted by the Bear:*&$^
around March 2009 then make lah
Do it in may or june then, since most countries requires you to have 6 months validity of your passport for you to visit.Originally posted by fudgester:Speaking of which.... I gotta renew my passport soon.
It's gonna expire in December... and it's an old one which I've been using since 1998.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:for $70?
i'm wondering if i should change also because mine is the old biometric version where there isn't any plastic protecting the first page.
when i went touring, the mist/rain/whatever's wet made my passport soggy.
now i can't scan through the express lane.
and when i finally scan through, they say its not valid because the computer doesn't recognise my expiry date which is stamped on the extensions page.
and its reading my expiry date (year 2000) which is printed on the first page
even the immigration officer at the airport shake head and tell me "yeah, its stupid, i know", they have to scan it, check my stamped expiry date and tell the computer its extended.
and its really silly, its electronic and yet they can't update my expiry date?!?!?
for us its aircraft documentation...Originally posted by the Bear:paperless is BS..
last time, one circular, everyone reads initials it and it is filed...
now, it's sent by email to about 100 people and 100 people print it for their files..
Its cheaper in Singapore. and it should last our kopi for 6 months at least.Originally posted by Fatum:dental works ? ...![]()
medical insurance is a must, i'll be getting it from the college.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Kopi, you might want to consider these.
1) Passport, biometric
2) International Driving Permit & its accompanying insurances
3) Travel Insurance, pay for a whole year for $300/- one shot
4) Proofs of your Return Ticks (Especially since you have not got the visa; or they wont let you board the plane to USA at the check in.)
5) Dental works
6) Innoculations, x-rays & anything medical (they will be required for visa, and they require them to be recent, so only do it when you are getting your visa.) Cheaper in Singapore too.
My dear, i worked in aircraft maintenance before.Originally posted by kopiosatu:for us its aircraft documentation...
i don't understand why is it so hard for them to create a program that will remind you when deadlines for servicing will be nearing.
some people miss it on paper. if they can bloody hell make a PDA that tells u your appointments, i don't see how they can NOT do it for aircrafts?
and everything is print print print. the amount of paper is so damn redundant.
aircraft land must print report, print print print.
and the bloody report can be seen on the computer
they're not letting me in if i have bad teeth?Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Its cheaper in Singapore. and it should last our kopi for 6 months at least.
And he is in the arm forces right? They should have coverage for dental works so kopi dont need to pay out too much.
so it should be the machine readable version.Originally posted by the Bear:when was yours made? there was no old biometric version.. there is only the old "Machine Readable" version...
anyway, the extensions page thing, and all the rest, i'll tell you when i meet up with you... it's not something we tell people
Originally posted by kopiosatu:they're not letting me in if i have bad teeth?![]()
we have NSFs who do all the keying.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:My dear, i worked in aircraft maintenance before.
It only need a good administrator, who borthers to key in the dates.
the problem is. most management dont borther to bring in such conscientious staffs to do this kinda data entry.
What i do, i could key into my outlook, and broadcast the reminders to the necessary folks thru sms. But all those stupid rules about cannot broadcase because of confidentiality and blah blah blah is worse off hassles to deal with.
Correct, the IDP should cover you for at least 6 months only with rental car or even if you are driving someone else's car (I am basing this on our last discussion that you would be driving someone else's car), the rest, you need to go take their theory and get their driving licence. But the accompanying insurance should cover you a little bit more a year, especially since you are driving in foreign land and that little bit of cash might come in useful if you get into some problems.Originally posted by kopiosatu:international driving permit... my colleagues from US tell me i gotta go take the theory and driving test there to BUY a car, because international driving permits only cover rentals, is it correct?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:so it should be the machine readable version.
so if i get the biometric one done, what's my expiry date? assuming that its 2010 now