just saw the shaun chen and michelle chia goldheart valentine's day ad...
its quite funny.. usually he acts such intense roles and he looks so goofy here... kinda sweet i guss.
Originally posted by Rhonda:I trained my last few cats to pee and poo in the bathroom near the drain cover.
Saves on kitty litter, and it's so easy to dispose of - just lift up the cover and rinse it all down the drain!
Cats aren't unpredictable and bark at you suddenly too. I wanted to kick a neighbour's dog for scaring the bejesus out of me one day when I saw it sitting there sunning itself looking so cute, so I walked over and said, "Hello, you!" and it suddenly got up and barked!
my cat doesnt use litter. we just line it w newspaper.. and we 'tilt' the bin up slightly.. she will pee and all the pee will trickle down to one end so she don't get her feet wet heehee
the bats are back in our roof top ! ...... can hear them fluttering and crawling along on the inside of the roof from my room .... ![]()
It seems we can't keep our status hidden anymore
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
no.. can understand how you feel... long time ago, i did a project with some dutch girls.. and they used to just go on and on in dutch in front of me....
of course the only time they spoke in english was to invite these two american guys to one of their birthday party, in front of me without inviting me. I mean its not like I wanted to go... but.. it is damn tough pretending i don't understand and its not my business.
sometimes people just need a reminder but yes, it would have been so much more considerate if they could do it without you always needing to speak up for yourself. :(
I get annooyed w some of my group mates when they just carry on a conversation in mandarin. Then i know it embarasses my Malay group mate when I keep reminding them, so she just keeps saying its okay. but.. its.. just.. inconsiderate lah. Sometimes i forget too.. but :( tts not an excuse.
You know what's best? My Maths C tutor would speak to the whole class in Chinese half the time. In the end, it felt almost as though I was in a Maths class which was being taught in Mandarin.
One day I got fed up and took her aside. I told her, point blank, that I deserved to be taught in English and that she was marginalising me from the rest of the class.
I pretty much threatened to complain to the principal (and to take the fight all the way to MOE if necessary) if she so much as breathed one more word of Mandarin in the middle of Math class.
She got the hint and never spoke Mandarin again during official lessons.
Originally posted by fudgester:Frankly speaking.... the introduction of Chinese characters in sgforums has me feeling sucky.
I was the only non-Chinese in my class for four years straight (Sec 3 to JC2).
I get reminded of the times when my classmates would all speak Chinese when we're in a group... and I would end up feeling left out and marginalised, wondering whether they're talking behind my back or something.
Likewise, the possibility that I may get left out of discussions (or at least, be unable to follow them) in sgforums for the same reason doesn't sit well with me.
Sigh.... maybe I'm just being selfish. If a lot of people benefit from it, then I guess it's not really my place to complain.
Oh... sorry...
We'll try not to use them here but if we do, just ask us what it means and we'll just translate for you. I'm sure you know by now, fudgie, that we mean you no harm in here and anyways, you're a part of our group already! ![]()
I had a recent falling out with my Filipino colleagues at work for a related issue. One of them, whom I had considered my friend, started to distance herself inevitably by chatting in Tagalog all the time with a new Filipino female colleague. That new colleague brazenly spoke loudly in Tagalog in the hospital ward, pissing off quite a few Aussie patients and colleagues, but no one has lodged an official complaint. Anyways, this friend of mine had been very stressed out for weeks and one day, she snapped at me because I reminded her to do something essential that she had forgotten to do in her haste. It was bad enough to have her shout at me but then, what made it worse was she turned to another Filipino colleague and they both started to criticise me, in front of me, in their language, with a great display of emotion, none of them seemingly positive! ![]()
That was the ultimate last straw for me and since then, I've distanced myself from that group deliberately. That's it... trust broken! ![]()
Oddly enough, a month prior to the incident, I had a feeling that things will come to a head and I had a strong instinct that I will lose her as a friend. So when this happened, I was sad to see it end, but I wasn't taken by surprise.
Fudgie, hope you'll understand there's no animosity if we forget and break out in our mother tongue out of habit in here. It's usually in jest. ![]()
*bites off snide comments about cats ......
Originally posted by fudgester:You know what's best? My Maths C tutor would speak to the whole class in Chinese half the time. In the end, it felt almost as though I was in a Maths class which was being taught in Mandarin.
One day I got fed up and took her aside. I pretty much threatened to complain to the principal (and to take the fight all the way to MOE if necessary) if she so much as breathed one more word of Mandarin in the middle of Math class.
She got the hint and never spoke Mandarin again during official lessons.
ack.. that's really ... bad.. !!!
but.. curiously.. i wonder how she manages it. i mean maths hard enough in english.. how to .. translate?
is she those old chinese educated types?
I used to have an A maths teacher who spoke very bad English but he's just sweet .... He threatens us all the time to throw us out btu (but never la) i heard he was quite cool.. used ot be aircon repairman and worked himself through school.
Originally posted by Fatum:
yeah or i'll get my cat to bite off......*mumble mumble*
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:ack.. that's really ... bad.. !!!
but.. curiously.. i wonder how she manages it. i mean maths hard enough in english.. how to .. translate?
is she those old chinese educated types?
I used to have an A maths teacher who spoke very bad English but he's just sweet .... He threatens us all the time to throw us out btu (but never la) i heard he was quite cool.. used ot be aircon repairman and worked himself through school.
Somehow some ppl do have a way in using mandrain to teach mathematics
no.. can understand how you feel... long time ago, i did a project with some dutch girls.. and they used to just go on and on in dutch in front of me....
of course the only time they spoke in english was to invite these two american guys to one of their birthday party, in front of me without inviting me. I mean its not like I wanted to go... but.. it is damn tough pretending i don't understand and its not my business.
sometimes people just need a reminder but yes, it would have been so much more considerate if they could do it without you always needing to speak up for yourself. :(
I get annooyed w some of my group mates when they just carry on a conversation in mandarin. Then i know it embarasses my Malay group mate when I keep reminding them, so she just keeps saying its okay. but.. its.. just.. inconsiderate lah. Sometimes i forget too.. but :( tts not an excuse.
Most of my Aussie colleagues are nice to me, but there are a few who'd do what those Dutch girls did - but then again, it was probably a Caucasians-only drunk party far out in the boondocks and I wouldn't be interested in attending anyways but it just makes you feel left out. ![]()
I was going out to shop along Bridge Road with my aforementioned Filipino colleague-friend one Sunday when another Filipino gay colleague wanted to join us. They then started speaking in their language. I asked Roberto to please speak in English otherwise I cannot join in the fun and the conversation. He staunchly refused saying it's nice to speak in their own language. I said, "Don't I know that? But if you were to go out with Ying and I, we'll make sure not to speak in Mandarin when you're around because that will make you feel left out!" And instead of being understanding, the insensitive brute started a huge fight with me. ![]()
I realised since coming over, that at this age, friendships are transient. Loyalty is rare, and sincerity rarer still. The more independant one can be, the better. Sad, but that's our society...
Originally posted by Fatum:
You dare?!!! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Most of my Aussie colleagues are nice to me, but there are a few who'd do what those Dutch girls did - but then again, it was probably a Caucasians-only drunk party far out in the boondocks and I wouldn't be interested in attending anyways but it just makes you feel left out.
Yeah.. i mean its not like i want to go.. but if i congratulated her.. it will look like i want to go, and if i don't, it looks like i am petty! :O
Hmm well i guess the point of all these 'hurting' incidents to really just to teach us empathy. Sometimes, bobian.. got to get hurt before can put ourselves in someone else's shoes.
ok
They're going to allow foldable bikes on the MRT during off peak hrs
Originally posted by sbst275:ok
They're going to allow foldable bikes on the MRT during off peak hrs
when is off peak hours ha
how small must ur foldable bike be huh.
when the MRT circuit is done liao, i going to sell off my van and buy 2 fancy aluminium light foldable bike... for transport :D
If I'm not wrong, MRT's off peak could well be 9am to 5pm & 8pm - end of operations ba
As for size no idea yet
Yeah.. i mean its not like i want to go.. but if i congratulated her.. it will look like i want to go, and if i don't, it looks like i am petty! :O
Hmm well i guess the point of all these 'hurting' incidents to really just to teach us empathy. Sometimes, bobian.. got to get hurt before can put ourselves in someone else's shoes.
Well, I'm just glad that I treated the Filipino and PRC nurses well whenever we had to work together. I always apologised to them for the horrible, shabby way our govt treated them.
I always say I wish they had a more positive working experience in Singapore...
And yes, you're right - it's quite a dilemma. In my case, I just take a deep breath, and ask after them because ah well, we're adults and in this case, we are just colleagues and I wouldn't enjoy it even if I had been invited anyways.
Speaking of which, I made the extra effort to travel via public transport to a Team Leader's b'day party recently. 2/3's of my time was spent travelling and waiting for the trains, and only 1/3 in the party. I headed there after a morning shift and I was already zombie-dead-tired but I trudged on anyways and made it there on time to realise that dinner's gone.
That lady later said she appreciated my presence the most because she realised it was a long, tedious journey both ways for me. I wanted to cry that day because when I reached the train station, I got totally lost and spent more than half an hour wandering around her neighbourhood. Here, the road signs are few and far between and worse, the font size is teeny meeny so by the time you can see the precious, rare road sign, you have to walk a long distance to back-track. ![]()
Please don't invite me to parties in the far-flung suburbs unless I have a ride! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Aiyoh! So competitive! Post counts also want to obsess over!
Not my fault wor, must be an educational hazzard. I was trained as an accountant you see, so any numbers missing also must have a reason for it.![]()
u know i never expected the MRT executive lady to be so... err..... err.. modern looking? with green and red streaks in her hair.
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:u know i never expected the MRT executive lady to be so... err..... err.. modern looking? with green and red streaks in her hair.
But then over the past few days, her co keep on getting complains esp roaches on SMRT Buses
Originally posted by sbst275:
But then over the past few days, her co keep on getting complains esp roaches on SMRT Buses
u mean before tt.. her hair not like that one ha..
scary leh.
streaks freaks creaks leaks
buses are buses and should not be obsessed about
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:u know i never expected the MRT executive lady to be so... err..... err.. modern looking? with green and red streaks in her hair.
Really?
I thought last time was all black
is pinky around ? ..... I want to jio MPB to go fishing ..... spratley island bottom fishing trip ..... we're trying to fill the boat .... he can get to use his $900 reel ... ![]()