Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
Hi, Rhonda.
Curious: what do Plans B and C entail?
Yo, MG! ;)
Plan B - Save and invest in Singapore-based plans. Work here until I'm ready for semi-retirement, then return to SG, hopefully with enough $$ to live comfortably. ![]()
Plan C - Complete a Post-Graduate Diploma here specialising in Critical Care Nursing, then migrate to the US, which had been my dream all along and I really shouldn't have listened to my mom and her emotional blackmail and should have headed to the US in the very first place!
Waste my time and money! ![]()
I ..... must ..... go ...... jogging ...... tonight ......
Originally posted by Fatum:
no need to sleep?
Tsk. D:<
Originally posted by Rhonda:Well, in the short space of less than 2 years, things have changed here, mainly because of the interest rate hikes and the influx of migrants to Melbourne.
A townhouse, which might have cost about A$270K when I first came, will now probably fetch A$360K or more!
Think there's been 4-5 interest rate hikes in less than 2 years? It's spiralling out of control with even the young Aussies feeling upset because owning a house is now a dream priced beyond their reach.
Nurses are paid well here. It is hard to pay for a house mortgage AND a car loan AND living costs when you're single though.
But then again, I tell myself, even if I met a partner, it might not be good news because they may turn out to be more of a liability!
So with that caution, I trudge on, working hard to make a decent living.
My American friends are chio-ing me to go over again.
Do you see yourself staying in Australia for the long haul? Has it crossed your mind to return to Singapore?
Yes, I do recall your mentioning in one of your previous musings that you were thinking of eventually making your way to the US. It that still your intention? I should warn you though that we're currently experiencing similar inflationary pressures here--the cost of living has spiked noticeably in recent years, especially in the major urban areas. It seems like everything is getting more expensive these days...
Originally posted by Rhonda:Well, in the short space of less than 2 years, things have changed here, mainly because of the interest rate hikes and the influx of migrants to Melbourne.
A townhouse, which might have cost about A$270K when I first came, will now probably fetch A$360K or more!
Think there's been 4-5 interest rate hikes in less than 2 years? It's spiralling out of control with even the young Aussies feeling upset because owning a house is now a dream priced beyond their reach.
Nurses are paid well here. It is hard to pay for a house mortgage AND a car loan AND living costs when you're single though.
But then again, I tell myself, even if I met a partner, it might not be good news because they may turn out to be more of a liability!
So with that caution, I trudge on, working hard to make a decent living.
My American friends are chio-ing me to go over again.
hee hee............cute.......yah, partner(s) can be a liability. here hor, even if one is not married but have a partner living together, it will be considered live-in spouse. and that live-in spouse got rights and entitlement to the assets in the event of a break up! jia lat.
Do you see yourself staying in Australia for the long haul? Has it crossed your mind to return to Singapore?
Yes, I do recall your mentioning in one of your previous musings that you were thinking of eventually making your way to the US. It that still your intention? I should warn you though that we're currently experiencing similar inflationary pressures here--the cost of living has spiked noticeably in recent years, especially in the major urban areas. It seems like everything is getting more expensive these days...
I cannot foresee myself living in Australia for the rest of my life, no. Not unless I marry someone here, then things might change then.
My dream of going to the US is due to the Nursing Standards there. The US is usually at the forefront of Nursing Research and clinical advancements. I just desire to be a part of that vibrance!
It's also a dream of mine to further my studies in the US. My short stint in the Johns Hopkins Hospital has a huge part to play in this.
I'll be on the lookout for flying pigs tonight... ![]()
there's no place all home ![]()
Originally posted by littlestream:hee hee............cute.......yah, partner(s) can be a liability. here hor, even if one is not married but have a partner living together, it will be considered live-in spouse. and that live-in spouse got rights and entitlement to the assets in the event of a break up! jia lat.
Over here, they are called "de facto". They are actually viewed as a legally married couple, but without the marriage certificate.
De facto's have lots of rights and legal standing.
However, no matter what, I don't think I can accept being someone's 'de facto' leh. I still want to sign the marriage cert and have a simple ceremony. I mean, surely, that is not asking for too much, right? ![]()
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:I'll be on the lookout for flying pigs tonight...
dot dot dot ......
ヾ(ï¼¾∇ï¼¾)
MG! LS! Rhonda!
(I'm a retard to have said hello so late) xP
Originally posted by Lin Yu:
no need to sleep?![]()
Self employed geeks wake up in the afternoon ... begins work at 3pm ... and work till dawn before crashing ....
Originally posted by Keii:ヾ(ï¼¾∇ï¼¾)
MG! LS! Rhonda!
Eh... hello! Wait so long, egg also boiled until the shell split liao! ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:Self employed geeks wake up in the afternoon ... begins work at 3pm ... and work till dawn before crashing ....
Still have not recovered from jet lag, I see. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Eh... hello! Wait so long, egg also boiled until the shell split liao!
(゚Д ゚|||)
Originally posted by Keii:ヾ(ï¼¾∇ï¼¾)
MG! LS! Rhonda!
Hello, Keii. Getting a hang of the new forum layout?
COoking noodles~! ![]()
Hello, Keii. Getting a hang of the new forum layout?
Well. Kinda. Getting a hang of it is easy. But liking it... Not really. :/
Though I'm kinda happy that you can type in other languages. Which allows such cutesy japanese emoticons. Such as...
ヾ(ï¼¾∇ï¼¾)
ヾ(。・ェ・)
(*≧▽≦)
:D
Originally posted by Ferret:COoking noodles~!
I'm hungry. ( ̄� ̄ )
The Japanese are so creative. What do you guys think this is? xD
(゚ `Д)ノ。゚ヽ(  )ノ゚。ヽ(Д´ ゚)ノ゚。。゚ヽ(゚`Д´ï¾Ÿ)ノ
Originally posted by Keii:The Japanese are so creative. What do you guys think this is? xD
(゚ `Д)ノ。゚ヽ(  )ノ゚。ヽ(Д´ ゚)ノ゚。。゚ヽ(゚`Д´ï¾Ÿ)ノ
A couple of drunks waving their arms in the air, singing songs (out-of-tune and very loudly) that only bawdy drunks will sing! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:A couple of drunks waving their arms in the air, singing songs (out-of-tune and very loudly) that only bawdy drunks will sing!
Nice try. Very creative. :P
Buuuuuut... It's someone crying, running around in circles. xP
Sigh... littlestream and MG have wandered off again. Someday, I hope they'll both stay online in Club 30 long enough to have a decent conversation!
Originally posted by Rhonda:Sigh... littlestream and MG have wandered off again. Someday, I hope they'll both stay online in Club 30 long enough to have a decent conversation!