Originally posted by Rhonda:Quite a bleak outlook for me... I can't get my own place here, I can't get my own place in Singapore...
Think the housing situation in Melbourne is only going to get worse and worse because more and more migrants are pouring in.
But I believe like anything
Anything tat goes up would come down eventually
Originally posted by sbst275:
The flat alrdy make us slave alrdy
Ya lor
Yeah.... SMRT's own statistics tell the whole story. While ridership has gone up, the number of train trips have gone down - all in the name of $$$$. It's perfectly normal for me to let one or two trains pass before I can board.
And seriously, I'd willingly pay to see some of those ministers take the train to work than come up with stupid excuses like (I quote): 'We don't have the luxury of taking our world-class public transport system to work'.
If they'd just follow the example of Michael Bloomberg and Ken Livingstone, the mayors of New York and London respectively.... our system would be a lot better.
the housing situation in some places will crash..
look at the US now.. they slashed the rate by 3/4% last week and 1/2% yesterday.. and... NOTHING HAPPENED..
they're in deep shit and they're getting really desperate... a recession is in store..
But I believe like anythingAnything tat goes up would come down eventually
yah .... prices go up .... wages go down .....
Originally posted by Fatum:he's staying in camp for the entire week .... muahahahahahahahaha .........
you seemed really happy about this huh?
Originally posted by fudgester:Yeah.... SMRT's own statistics tell the whole story. While ridership has gone up, the number of train trips have gone down - all in the name of $$$$. It's perfectly normal for me to let one or two trains pass before I can board.
And seriously, I'd willingly pay to see some of those ministers take the train to work than come up with stupid excuses like (I quote): 'We don't have the luxury of taking our world-class public transport system to work'.
If they'd just follow the example of Michael Bloomberg and Ken Livingstone, the mayors of New York and London respectively.... our system would be a lot better.
This "world-class" label isn't a true reflection of the true state of things. I was trying to tell Bear the other day, that being labelled "world-class" simply means that we have met or exceeded certain criteria set by certain organisations, for eg. WHO, and other international bodies of standing. "World-class" doesn't mean that you and I will be served well. It simply means that we might be the best amongst the worst!
That's the most succint way I can think of to illustrate this point.
Kinda like, our SMRT may be "world-class", but do we care about that? I think we care more about : does it cost us a bomb? Will it get us to work on time? Will trains arrive frequently and on schedule? rather than : Total %age of population served; Cost efficiency; Maintenance Schedules, Condition of Trains; Coverage; etc. Different criteria...
Originally posted by the Bear:
you are doing what in many forums deem trolling..it is against netiquette and a lot of forums throw out the perpetrator... and without warning
sad thing that few know netiquette these days..
LOL.
I did that 3 times but others got away with so much more crap.
But hell! I deserved it anyway.
Originally posted by fudgester:Yeah.... SMRT's own statistics tell the whole story. While ridership has gone up, the number of train trips have gone down - all in the name of $$$$. It's perfectly normal for me to let one or two trains pass before I can board.
Cos it's been a monopoly
SBS can't run buses parallel to compete
Originally posted by Fatum:yah .... prices go up .... wages go down .....
Originally posted by bluejuice:you seemed really happy about this huh?
yeah ..... ![]()
I feel bad feeling this way ... but ...................... muahahahahahaha ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:yah .... prices go up .... wages go down .....
Pls la
Commodity prices up no way we can control one de la
Btw Bear. The frame, previous page. :P
Made myself sandwiches. Gonna make instant beehoon when minced meat defrosts. :D
Pls laCommodity prices up no way we can control one de la
I agree ... no one can control the price of oil, the price of fish, the price of vegetables, the price of rice ....
but things like the cost of public transport CAN be controlled ! ... it's disgusting to see them posting a profit year after year inching the ticket costs ever upwards ..... they may as well take out the PUBLIC out of public transport .....
Something quite disturbed me
Ytd's news... on the PRC snow storm
One PLA soldier was waving the Red flag while the others were clearing the snow! ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:the housing situation in some places will crash..
look at the US now.. they slashed the rate by 3/4% last week and 1/2% yesterday.. and... NOTHING HAPPENED..
they're in deep shit and they're getting really desperate... a recession is in store..
Well, I wonder how badly it'll 'crash' here, mainly because the demand continues to outstrip supply. It is getting very difficult to rent a place in my neighbourhood. So many people will turn up to view any one place that's up for rental, it's scary! Rental for an apt in my block has increased by 13.2% in a year!!
Luckily, my landlord did't raised the rent for those of us who are already residing here!
Pls laCommodity prices up no way we can control one de la
That is the sad thing
Or they gov can do what the Malaysian gov is doing and we can starve and than they will tax us more by more ERP gantries and the CPF can only be withdrawn when we are 90
I think in Singapore a lot of ppl have already killed themselves over the stock market crash and a lot are shitting in their pants for paying through their noses for high priced property
Originally posted by Fatum:I agree ... no one can control the price of oil, the price of fish, the price of vegetables, the price of rice ....
but things like the cost of public transport CAN be controlled ! ... it's disgusting to see them posting a profit year after year inching the ticket costs ever upwards ..... they may as well take out the PUBLIC out of public transport .....
Actually they're hit hard by the higher oil prices especially SBS
But I do admit, they're getting higher ridership records now
Originally posted by Rhonda:Well, I wonder how badly it'll 'crash' here, mainly because the demand continues to outstrip supply. It is getting very difficult to rent a place in my neighbourhood. So many people will turn up to view any one place that's up for rental, it's scary! Rental for an apt in my block has increased by 13.2% in a year!!
Luckily, my landlord did't raised the rent for those of us who are already residing here!
Over here is more problem on the atas housing
Originally posted by Fatum:I agree ... no one can control the price of oil, the price of fish, the price of vegetables, the price of rice ....
I find it disturbing that SMRT is still not doing anything about purchasing more buses.
Where the hell did our $$ go to?
At least SBST has purchased around 700 new buses. SMRT??? What the fuck. How long do they need to buy their 66 new buses which they've been saying since I dunno when?
Originally posted by Keii:Btw Bear. The frame, previous page. :P
Made myself sandwiches. Gonna make instant beehoon when minced meat defrosts. :D
I have experimented with several ways of defrosting meat. The most effective is, don't even bother waiting! When you buy the meat, immediately divide it into portions, and pack them into ziploc bags. When meat is needed, grab one portion, empty it into the boiling water that you will then use to cook the instant beehoon later. Hot water melts the ice quickly, and cooks the meat too. Then when you cook the noodles in it, the soup will have more 'body' too! ![]()
I just noticed that both sbst and me joined SGF in Jun'04 but I have been posting less than him ....WAYYYYY less ![]()
That is the sad thingOr they gov can do what the Malaysian gov is doing and we can starve and than they will tax us more by more ERP gantries and the CPF can only be withdrawn when we are 90
Subsidise barang barang you start w/ quota these and tat
If we follow wat MY is doing, later we dunno would be eating whose dust liao... or worst mati le
Originally posted by Rhonda:I have experimented with several ways of defrosting meat. The most effective is, don't even bother waiting! When you buy the meat, immediately divide it into portions, and pack them into ziploc bags. When meat is needed, grab one portion, empty it into the boiling water that you will then use to cook the instant beehoon later. Hot water melts the ice quickly, and cooks the meat too. Then when you cook the noodles in it, the soup will have more 'body' too!
That is coz if you defrost meat, you lose water and flavor at the same time
The only way to cut that out is what you do or you slow thaw it bit by bit which takes a loooonnnnngggg time