Originally posted by the Bear:
yeah.. there are those who refuse to save..but there are those who are just hammered with debt so badly.. i wonder.. fresh out of college and there's this looming debt over your head already... just when the person is most vulnerable and in need of money.. striking out and stretching his wings..
i guess everywhere, there are looming things over our heads... just different types..
It's very hard to save here. Even for us "established". Minimum wage is now $7.50 and that's before the govt takes their cut.
Originally posted by the Bear:healthcare is world class?
to think you were in the thick of it...
i just got a text message a few weeks ago.. it was a scheduled follow-up look at my back injury by NUH...
the appointment was postponed so many times i forgot about it..
the appointment date was somewhen in June 2005..
i remember going to the A&E in NUH in Sep 2006.. A&E doctor screaming into the phone.. the orthopaedic specialist would not come see me.. the A&E doctor apologised to me...
thankfully, the "2nd tier" public hospitals like AH saw me... that was after a lot of shaking down the various contacts and getting a name and circumventing appointment lists.. that a person with a slipped disc could then go see a doctor.. something the A&E doctors termed "severe pain"..
i'd say some of the public hospitals are world-class.. some of our public hospitals are world-crass..
btw.. i'm looking into laser surgery of the spine.. supposedly they do the surgery as a day-surgery thing, and me as the patient will be able to walk away in the evening.. and if the doctors clear it, be well enough to go back to work the next day..
It IS world-class, simply due to the fact that in other countries, what you get IS crappier.
It's not world-class because it is world-class per se. It's definitely not perfect, it definitely has room for improvement, but compared to what is offered in other developed countries, it ranks better.
Scary thought, isn't it? Appalling that something as important as healthcare has standards set sooo low.
just asking.. how much is the VAT or GST or whatever they call it over there in your state?
or is it a federal thing?
or both?
yeah.. there are those who refuse to save..but there are those who are just hammered with debt so badly.. i wonder.. fresh out of college and there's this looming debt over your head already... just when the person is most vulnerable and in need of money.. striking out and stretching his wings..
i guess everywhere, there are looming things over our heads... just different types..
Well, at one stage, I adopted a tortoise with the head in its shell attitude - I didn't really save because I refused to think of the bad consequences if I don't.
I simply refused to confront certain issues, preferring to be utterly foolish and 'pretend' certain looming issues didn't exist.
Don't know why I did that, but I did. ![]()
Things are different for me now. Since coming over, my thinking has been transformed. I now save, and have made plans to ensure my financial stability. It's going to take years to build, but I'm determined.
Originally posted by Rhonda:It IS world-class, simply due to the fact that in other countries, what you get IS crappier.
It's not world-class because it is world-class per se. It's definitely not perfect, it definitely has room for improvement, but compared to what is offered in other developed countries, it ranks better.
Scary thought, isn't it? Appalling that something as important as healthcare has standards set sooo low.
uhh.. before you move over to the US, i suggest you watch the movie Sicko..
even with a couple of ladles of salt, it still makes scary viewing..
now, that's a "healthcare" which is neither healthy nor caring..
btw.. to me, we don't ask for much.. we do not need super high-tech nano-laser-robotic whatever to pander to the rich.. world-class is when someone, anyone walks off the street, the person can get care from the hospitals and not be turned away because of shortage of doctors or beds.. while the hospitals are catering to the super-rich and saying that we are a "medical hub"..
the sign of "world-class" is when the least of us get cared for as much as the greatest of us...
Taxes is a HUUUUUUGE bugbear with me!
Pay so much in taxes here, and yet, the infrastructure is terrible!! Even the fair dinkum Aussies are voicing anger over the perceived mis-management and wrong channelling of taxpayers' funds.
Singapore, in comparison, spends the money improving infrastructure which is, well, not meeting the growing demands but at least, SOMETHING is done. At least, I don't sprain my ankle constantly tripping into potholes in walkways and roads! ![]()
And, you can't deny that education and health is highly subsidised. Sure, more can be done, but at least, a large part of taxpayers' funds are poured back into things that benefit the average citizen. I can't say the same here.
uhh.. before you move over to the US, i suggest you watch the movie Sicko..even with a couple of ladles of salt, it still makes scary viewing..
now, that's a "healthcare" which is neither healthy nor caring..
btw.. to me, we don't ask for much.. we do not need super high-tech nano-laser-robotic whatever to pander to the rich.. world-class is when someone, anyone walks off the street, the person can get care from the hospitals and not be turned away because of shortage of doctors or beds.. while the hospitals are catering to the super-rich and saying that we are a "medical hub"..
the sign of "world-class" is when the least of us get cared for as much as the greatest of us...
IF I move to the US, it is because in terms of Nursing, their advancements are considered #1. I want to go there to hone my clinical skills and get higher qualifications. I want to train and be certified competent to perform certain procedures, which currently, can only be done in the US where RN's are concerned.
I'm not moving there because I think the system is 'better'. I do not think it is, as a matter of fact. But it serves my goals, and that's my motivation.
Whoever told you that Singapore's healthcare turns away the man-in-the-street. Bear in mind that worldwide, healthcare resources are always stretched to the max. It is NOT a problem unique only to Singapore. Hospital beds will forever be short, doctors and nurses will forever be in shortage as well. It is a fallacy to think that there will be a 'perfect' health system because it will cost a huge bomb to actually bring that into fruition and reality.
When I worked in SGH, we admitted many beggars and homeless people in need of medical care and who obviously, will never be able to pay for a toothpick, but we took them in, and gave them care, equivalent to a paying patient.
You have to remember that in ALL hospitals worldwide, there is a priority system. It starts in the A&E / ER. We do not give up hospital beds to admit patients who are lower on the priority list, and that is a system that is applied worldwide. Simple economics. Hospitals only have a certain no. of beds and hospitals are segregated into acute care / rehab / respite / nursing home, etc. An acute care hospital like SGH is never going to take in patients who are complaining of 'frivolous' matters, simply because the bed will be given to someone else who is in a more emergent need for the bed.
I won't deny that our education is of good quality and is highly subsidised....
But what I don't understand at all is why we would want to extend the subsidies to foreign students.
It really, really pisses me off that these so called 'Foreign Talents' are only paying a few hundred dollars more than what I've been paying in NUS. It really gets my goat that some of these FTs may be more than able to afford high-class education here, while some promising local students don't get a chance at higher education because they can't afford it. I've personally seen some cases of the latter in real life.
And really, some of these 'Foreign Talents' seem to be here just to make the numbers... some of them are really below average performance in class and are in fact struggling just to not get superannuated.
So really, it's like..... I pay my taxes for these fellas to compete with me in terms of education and a career.... I risk my life to defend them while doing reservist.... and some of them can't even make the grade?!?!
Originally posted by the Bear:just asking.. how much is the VAT or GST or whatever they call it over there in your state?
or is it a federal thing?
or both?
Bear, my sales tax is 7.75%. If I were to drive 10 mins to the mall, it's 8.25%. Within a 20 mile radius the sales tax fluctuates. Some places are incorporated, others unincorporated.
If you're talking about the tax we pay every year, it's horrible. There is state tax and federal tax to pay. You have to be pretty savvy about the tax laws which are quite complicated, to be sure that you're getting every deduction coming to you.
Originally posted by fudgester:I won't deny that our education is of good quality and is highly subsidised....
But what I don't understand at all is why we would want to extend the subsidies to foreign students.
It really, really pisses me off that these so called 'Foreign Talents' are only paying a few hundred dollars more than what I've been paying in NUS. It really gets my goat that some of these FTs may be more than able to afford high-class education here, while some promising local students don't get a chance at higher education because they can't afford it. I've personally seen some cases of the latter in real life.
And really, some of these 'Foreign Talents' seem to be here just to make the numbers... some of them are really below average performance in class and are in fact struggling just to not get superannuated.
So really, it's like..... I pay my taxes for these fellas to compete with me in terms of education and a career.... I risk my life to defend them while doing reservist.... and some of them can't even make the grade?!?!
I share with you a sentiment that doesn't directly address this issue you brought up, but it might give you a different perspective to the situation.
When I arrived here, and saw how things are, and spoke to lots of foreigners who migrated here like myself, some of whom have travelled to Singapore or have lived and worked there for years, I felt sad.
Sad that our country is not perfect, but has a lot of things going for it. But sadly, it goes mostly unappreciated. In a few aspects, Singapore really ranks up there with the big guns. The only drawback is, we're too small. We are not populous enough to pack a real punch and get ourselves heard on the international arena. It's a sad waste.
We deserve to be known worldwide. To do that, sacrifices have to be made. Unfortunately, we do not have natural resources like land. But we will fast lose our competitive advantage if we don't do something that will help secure our future.
More than you realise, we NEED the foreign talent. We are not numerous enough to survive into the future.
On a micro level, we resent how over-crowded Singapore has become. We resent the presence of FT's. And a few other grouses which have been voiced out loud and clear.
On a macro level, we actually need them to survive. Look at what's happening to all prominent big cities in the world - which city does not import FT?
Good Morning Everybody ![]()
it's only 9.09am and i am feeling sleepy again...
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:Good Morning Everybody
it's only 9.09am and i am feeling sleepy again...
Good morning!! I think you need more good-quality rest, but who am I to give advice?
I myself need good-quality rest. ![]()
Good morning/afternoon.... ![]()
maybe i learnt something different when i was attached to the hospitals during my medic training...
severe pain = emergency case = priority given
spinal injuries = immobilisation = high priority due to potential further damage
i know when patients come in bleeding to hell or with a heart attack, they would have priority over the guys who aren't..
but i wonder when orthopaedic specialists refuse to walk 5 minutes to look at someone who had to be wheeled into the A&E and check that the patient will not be paralysed or worse..
and i wonder about a healthcare system which touts itself as a medical hub when the normal needs of the general citizenry cannot be met..
that aside, it is unfair of me to put this all to you.. you are trying to be the most qualified nurse around.. that is good.. personally it is wonderful and you know we as friends are supportive and will cheer for you every step of the way towards your goal..
me? i look at my country.. where i live and plan to stay for good.. i am saddened that the medical facilities here are so cutting-edge and fantastic that they can do wonders for the individual.. but are unable to cope with the sheer number who need the mundane and necessary...
and i guess it's just like what i face at work.. no one wants to do the necessary and mundane but everyone pours their resources into spectacular and special things which are pretty to look at, but in the end, doesn't add much except look good.. while us working hacks slog and fight for resources in order to carry out the most essential and mundane of tasks..
sorry for the rant.. just kind of frustrated here at work.. where we see spectacular but ultimately useless projects get a lot of manpower and resources while us doing the mundane work keep getting more and more work piled onto us with this written on top:
there will be no additional manpower provided
it takes a toll on the spirit, even one with a perverse attitude to senior management like mine who will not let the bastards grind me down...
sorry...
Originally posted by Rhonda:Good morning!! I think you need more good-quality rest, but who am I to give advice?
I myself need good-quality rest.
I think i ate the sugary coconuts slice tibits before sleep..
that's why, i sleepp sleep sleep...
anyway, i din had much rest, been staying till late these 2 nites..
so tonight, i be good gal, go library, go yoga, go home, and sleep..![]()
oh God, can someone just employ me here to work in bangkok???? ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I share with you a sentiment that doesn't directly address this issue you brought up, but it might give you a different perspective to the situation.
When I arrived here, and saw how things are, and spoke to lots of foreigners who migrated here like myself, some of whom have travelled to Singapore or have lived and worked there for years, I felt sad.
Sad that our country is not perfect, but has a lot of things going for it. But sadly, it goes mostly unappreciated. In a few aspects, Singapore really ranks up there with the big guns. The only drawback is, we're too small. We are not populous enough to pack a real punch and get ourselves heard on the international arena. It's a sad waste.
We deserve to be known worldwide. To do that, sacrifices have to be made. Unfortunately, we do not have natural resources like land. But we will fast lose our competitive advantage if we don't do something that will help secure our future.
More than you realise, we NEED the foreign talent. We are not numerous enough to survive into the future.
On a micro level, we resent how over-crowded Singapore has become. We resent the presence of FT's. And a few other grouses which have been voiced out loud and clear.
On a macro level, we actually need them to survive. Look at what's happening to all prominent big cities in the world - which city does not import FT?
i guess you bought into it.. we could do with foreign workers and foreigners who WANT to make Singapore their permanent home..
what we do not need is what the gabrament is doing now.. casting the net wide, hoping against hope that one or two brilliant FTs will make Singapore their home..
but thing is, it is done at the expense of home-grown talents..
and throwing away the "chaff" of our citizenry in order to find that local talent is criminal..
let me give you an example.. last week, my neighbours we so stressed out they came to my mom who is helping coach their Pr.3 child in English.. Pr.3 math.. they had a bunch of questions which only Math geniuses who are capable of multi-dimensional thought and calculation can hope to do...
only, they gave it to a whole class of a few hundred Pr.3 children...
lots of parents who don't know about Math like my neighbours were wringing their hands in worry and despair.. worse, the stress on the children was tremendous..
they were looking for the next Carl Gauss.. geniuses which happen maybe one in a generation.. if you are lucky...
we do not need to be No.1.. if we lose our souls, our humanity and our dignity to be "the best", are we really that good?
Vanuatu is still "backward and primitive" yet the people there are happiest in the world.. while we are stressed out and unhappy, yet No.1 in everything material.. who got the raw deal?
Originally posted by the Bear:maybe i learnt something different when i was attached to the hospitals during my medic training...
severe pain = emergency case = priority given
spinal injuries = immobilisation = high priority due to potential further damage
i know when patients come in bleeding to hell or with a heart attack, they would have priority over the guys who aren't..
but i wonder when orthopaedic specialists refuse to walk 5 minutes to look at someone who had to be wheeled into the A&E and check that the patient will not be paralysed or worse..
and i wonder about a healthcare system which touts itself as a medical hub when the normal needs of the general citizenry cannot be met..
that aside, it is unfair of me to put this all to you.. you are trying to be the most qualified nurse around.. that is good.. personally it is wonderful and you know we as friends are supportive and will cheer for you every step of the way towards your goal..
me? i look at my country.. where i live and plan to stay for good.. i am saddened that the medical facilities here are so cutting-edge and fantastic that they can do wonders for the individual.. but are unable to cope with the sheer number who need the mundane and necessary...
and i guess it's just like what i face at work.. no one wants to do the necessary and mundane but everyone pours their resources into spectacular and special things which are pretty to look at, but in the end, doesn't add much except look good.. while us working hacks slog and fight for resources in order to carry out the most essential and mundane of tasks..
sorry for the rant.. just kind of frustrated here at work.. where we see spectacular but ultimately useless projects get a lot of manpower and resources while us doing the mundane work keep getting more and more work piled onto us with this written on top:
there will be no additional manpower provided
it takes a toll on the spirit, even one with a perverse attitude to senior management like mine who will not let the bastards grind me down...
sorry...
I'm right now so frustrated at work that I draaaaag myself to work too. I even vented in the Night Owls Chatterboxes, but nobody listened...
Anyways...
To have the type of immaculate and perfect healthcare system you want, be prepared to pay through your nose.
Not sure if you realise it, but healthcare in Singapore is VERY cheap, in comparison with other developed countries. The same stuff in Australia cost astronomically more, and don't even think about UK and the US or other European countries!
I realise your case wasn't treated as well as you would have liked it. Indeed it would be tough to please everyone. It doesn't matter how severe one's problem is, the fact that it happens to ME makes it THE most important thing in the world, regardless.
If we could only follow a doctor / nurse for a week as they go about their duties, we'll realise the severity of the shortage and the shortfalls in resources. However, it doesn't matter because as long as the person who's sick or injured is ME, all rational thought goes out the window because we will have our own immediate needs to think of. Reasonable enough.
I'm saying that it's hard to debate this issue because there is the objective, macro view, and the subjective but not to say invalid, micro view. If you measure Singapore's healthcare system by how it has met YOUR needs, it might have failed you miserably. But if you measure it in terms of speediness of response to emergencies, fatality rates, success rate of major operations, etc. stuff that the WHO and the JCI (Joint Commissions International) probably adopts to rank a country's healthcare system, then yes, we are up there.
Originally posted by the Bear:i guess you bought into it.. we could do with foreign workers and foreigners who WANT to make Singapore their permanent home..
what we do not need is what the gabrament is doing now.. casting the net wide, hoping against hope that one or two brilliant FTs will make Singapore their home..
but thing is, it is done at the expense of home-grown talents..
and throwing away the "chaff" of our citizenry in order to find that local talent is criminal..
let me give you an example.. last week, my neighbours we so stressed out they came to my mom who is helping coach their Pr.3 child in English.. Pr.3 math.. they had a bunch of questions which only Math geniuses who are capable of multi-dimensional thought and calculation can hope to do...
only, they gave it to a whole class of a few hundred Pr.3 children...
lots of parents who don't know about Math like my neighbours were wringing their hands in worry and despair.. worse, the stress on the children was tremendous..
they were looking for the next Carl Gauss.. geniuses which happen maybe one in a generation.. if you are lucky...
we do not need to be No.1.. if we lose our souls, our humanity and our dignity to be "the best", are we really that good?
Vanuatu is still "backward and primitive" yet the people there are happiest in the world.. while we are stressed out and unhappy, yet No.1 in everything material.. who got the raw deal?
Well, if we want to remain tops and be competitive, that has to be done.
If we want to slowly recede into the murky backwaters and become another Vanuatu, then we'll have to get rid of all our forward-moving policies, and watch Singapore slip into nothingness, into total oblivion. Will that bring us 'happiness'? More likely than not, it will create massive unemployment, budgetary imbalance, subsidies we are already enjoying will all be removed, etc etc. Far-reaching consequences!
I'm not an authority on FT's. I'm just sharing my little humble sentiment on an issue from a perspective of maintaining international competitiveness. You should know I'm not into the Rat Race at all, that's why I'm over here, and not back home!
I'm in the Slack Capital of the world! ![]()
What I'm saying, is out of pride as a Singaporean, and a desire and little glimmer of hope, that Singapore will one day be recognised for the things that ARE good. Do not interpret that as Carte Blanche for the silly programs that are being carried out.
Originally posted by Rhonda:I'm right now so frustrated at work that I draaaaag myself to work too. I even vented in the Night Owls Chatterboxes, but nobody listened...
Anyways...
To have the type of immaculate and perfect healthcare system you want, be prepared to pay through your nose.
Not sure if you realise it, but healthcare in Singapore is VERY cheap, in comparison with other developed countries. The same stuff in Australia cost astronomically more, and don't even think about UK and the US or other European countries!
I realise your case wasn't treated as well as you would have liked it. Indeed it would be tough to please everyone. It doesn't matter how severe one's problem is, the fact that it happens to ME makes it THE most important thing in the world, regardless.
If we could only follow a doctor / nurse for a week as they go about their duties, we'll realise the severity of the shortage and the shortfalls in resources. However, it doesn't matter because as long as the person who's sick or injured is ME, all rational thought goes out the window because we will have our own immediate needs to think of. Reasonable enough.
I'm saying that it's hard to debate this issue because there is the objective, macro view, and the subjective but not to say invalid, micro view. If you measure Singapore's healthcare system by how it has met YOUR needs, it might have failed you miserably. But if you measure it in terms of speediness of response to emergencies, fatality rates, success rate of major operations, etc. stuff that the WHO and the JCI (Joint Commissions International) probably adopts to rank a country's healthcare system, then yes, we are up there.
it isn't about perfect.. it's a simple thing about getting enough headcount to provide the basics to everyone... and have a slight buffer in case there are emergencies like epidemics and maybe a plane crash or something..
as i see it, on a normal day, healthcare is stretched over its limits as it is..
if an MRT train derails, the hospitals would probably be unable to cope..
and that, is criminal in itself..
Yeah.... personally I don't disagree that we do need some foreign talents owing to our small manpower base.
But what I do object to is freely inviting every single Tom, Dick and Harry who claims to be a foreign talent with wide open arms - and at the expense of the locals.
Like I said, some of these FT students can barely make the grade.... I can soundly thrash quite a few of them on a good day, and no one ever calls me a 'local talent'.
All I'm asking for is for their subsidies and benefits to commensurate with their performance..... say, a minimum of 2nd Class (lower) point average for every semester. If they don't get it for two subsequent semesters, cut their subsidies.
And seriously, if they're really talented and hardworking, 2nd Lower is not a difficult standard to achieve. If they can't even achieve that, then I say that they're eating up our precious resources and that they're no better than deadwood to us.
I'm sounding pretty harsh here.... but really, I get really riled up when I think about having to bear a $25K tuition loan all by myself while some so-called foreign talents who can more than afford it are eating up our resources with nothing to show for it....
Originally posted by Rhonda:I'm right now so frustrated at work that I draaaaag myself to work too. I even vented in the Night Owls Chatterboxes, but nobody listened...
Goooot morning! :D
No la.. not say nobody listen.. got listen but cannot show u -pat pat on the back- ma... u got to visualise our empathy ma
life's not perfect la.. our education system has lots of loop holes, my degree is probably no longer recognised in Singapore due to warped HR system, our health care makes me afraid to be sick... I am worried cos after all that crap about CPF now they tell me sorry u ownself take care of ownself hor... I see our tourism industry wasting tax dollars on failed projects and worse, unoriginal projects... even VWOs are eating tax payers' money....
I mean.. *gripes* it could be better. But it could be worse too :D
Perspective! it makes everything smaller! ![]()
*prepares to be stoned* (actually i hate bloody chirpy people in the morning. go ahead. stone me.)
Actually the way we are going, it makes me worried for the next generation
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
Goooot morning! :D
No la.. not say nobody listen.. got listen but cannot show u -pat pat on the back- ma... u got to visualise our empathy ma
life's not perfect la.. our education system has lots of loop holes, my degree is probably no longer recognised in Singapore due to warped HR system, our health care makes me afraid to be sick... I am worried cos after all that crap about CPF now they tell me sorry u ownself take care of ownself hor... I see our tourism industry wasting tax dollars on failed projects and worse, unoriginal projects... even VWOs are eating tax payers' money....
I mean.. *gripes* it could be better. But it could be worse too :D
Perspective! it makes everything smaller!
*prepares to be stoned* (actually i hate bloody chirpy people in the morning. go ahead. stone me.)
No lah... won't stone you lah! My perspective is a bit thwarted because I'm comparing Singapore to Australia and besides, I'm no longer on Singapore soil so of course, my view will be different. Just sharing a different way of looking at things nia! ![]()
I hate chirpy people in the mornings too. Bad thing is, my Aussie colleagues in general are blardy Stepford-wives chirpy early in the morning!
Irritates the hell out of me.
I'm the "Won't smile nor talk until past 10:30am type", well, unless I die-die have to! ![]()
If I ever meet you in one of our outings when I'm back home, ask me to impersonate my colleagues... we'll all have a goooood laugh and fall over our chairs! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:
Well, if we want to remain tops and be competitive, that has to be done.
If we want to slowly recede into the murky backwaters and become another Vanuatu, then we'll have to get rid of all our forward-moving policies, and watch Singapore slip into nothingness, into total oblivion. Will that bring us 'happiness'? More likely than not, it will create massive unemployment, budgetary imbalance, subsidies we are already enjoying will all be removed, etc etc. Far-reaching consequences!
I'm not an authority on FT's. I'm just sharing my little humble sentiment on an issue from a perspective of maintaining international competitiveness. You should know I'm not into the Rat Race at all, that's why I'm over here, and not back home!
I'm in the Slack Capital of the world!
What I'm saying, is out of pride as a Singaporean, and a desire and little glimmer of hope, that Singapore will one day be recognised for the things that ARE good. Do not interpret that as Carte Blanche for the silly programs that are being carried out.
what price to "remain competitive" ?
do we need to "remain competitive" ?
why should a person be made to sprint like a maniac to be No.1 when he can be happier and take things easy and be No.2 or No.3?
if we take into account intangibles, i think the No.1 would be dead last.. or dead..
i think Bhutan got it right.. they don't look at GDP.. they look at how happy their people are..
sometimes, i think the pursuit of happiness should be the way to go ![]()
me, as somewhat of an idealist who rejects the unthinking rat-race hope this happens one day ![]()