Originally posted by kopiosatu:bo pian then china lor
at least get to travel. lol~
ideally, it would be great to find something from thailand that will sell here
there are things like food also what ... frankly, for thailand, that's about it ... I know some girls who used to go to bangkok and bring back dresses and trinkets and what not to sell ..... now they are ALL going to china ... you can't beat the prices .... ![]()
but seriously, I think you'll make a lot more money doing your photography thingy than anything else ... why not convert your current site into an image bank ... and start charging people money to use the pics ? ... I'll integrate paypal and what not for you if you want ... for free ... ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:kopi, I've heard quite a few lovely Thai songs too, usually when I watch the movies. Are you able to recommend a few good Thai singers? I prefer ballads and jazz types. Ta!
most of the thai singers I know can't sing ..... they just give you diabetes for being too sweet ...
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=ford+buachompoo&search_type=&search=Search
sweet hor ... ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:kopi, I've heard quite a few lovely Thai songs too, usually when I watch the movies. Are you able to recommend a few good Thai singers? I prefer ballads and jazz types. Ta!
ballads : Peacemaker
jazz : Koh. Mr Saxman
there are some jazzy, groovy bands around : HRU, Jetset'er and Groove Riders
Bird Thongchai, although old, but he seems to be able to churn out chart toppers frequently, the most recent one is Chooay Rup Thi
but he has an older song that i really like
Originally posted by Rhonda:YesAsia doesn't have this particular CD!
Think I'm going to buy a compilation of four Korean singers -
4 Colors
Lee So Eun | Cho Kyu Chan | Park Hwayobi | Kim Bum SooIf die-die must have that "Again" CD, I'll just try to look for it in Singapore.
if u want "again" i might as well burn a CD when u come to SG ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:there are things like food also what ... frankly, for thailand, that's about it ... I know some girls who used to go to bangkok and bring back dresses and trinkets and what not to sell ..... now they are ALL going to china ... you can't beat the prices ....
but seriously, I think you'll make a lot more money doing your photography thingy than anything else ... why not convert your current site into an image bank ... and start charging people money to use the pics ? ... I'll integrate paypal and what not for you if you want ... for free ...
i think one day u have to explain to me if its a feasible market, because there are so many stock photography sites and i don't even understand that part of the industry!
at the same time, u have to earn some cash out of it mah.
take a look rhonda, not sure if you like this kind of songs.
but its popular, other than the usual boyband/girlband pop crap ![]()
Arrrgh.....
The burst blister on my left ankle doesn't seem to be healing....
Heck.... it seems to be infected! ![]()
Looks as though there will be no more night jogs for the next two weeks.
kopi, I just found this YouTube link... listen to the song, read the translation... beautiful...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i think one day u have to explain to me if its a feasible market, because there are so many stock photography sites and i don't even understand that part of the industry!
at the same time, u have to earn some cash out of it mah.
the point is that you don't have to worry if it makes money or not, it's a bonus ! .... you already have a site up and running, so there's no further capital outlay .... if people buy your photos, well and good, if not, at the very least you'd generate more buzz and lead to more contacts for freelance gigs, no ? ...
it's a no loss situation ! ... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:the point is that you don't have to worry if it makes money or not, it's a bonus ! .... you already have a site up and running, so there's no further capital outlay .... if people buy your photos, well and good, if not, at the very least you'd generate more buzz and lead to more contacts for freelance gigs, no ? ...
it's a no loss situation ! ...
oh ya hor. ![]()
now its just a little bit of market research and taking a whole lot of photos?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:if u want "again" i might as well burn a CD when u come to SG
Sooooo sweeeeeeet!!!
BTW, I'm toying with the idea of buying a digicam with a higher optical zoom. Want to take Macro shots of insects and such, w hich isn't possible with my current cam.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:oh ya hor.
now its just a little bit of market research and taking a whole lot of photos?
you should specialize in something ... how about nude glamour shots ? ... the few pro photographers I know all have done plenty of work doing this before ... lots of women would pay you very good money to make them look good for posterity .. I suppose they want to look back at their hey days when they are 80 and saggy and toothless ... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:you should specialize in something ... how about nude glamour shots ? ... the few pro photographers I know all have done plenty of work doing this before ... lots of women would pay you very good money to make them look good for posterity .. I suppose they want to look back at their hey days when they are 80 and saggy and toothless ...
errrrrrrrrrrrrrrm... i specialise in fun shots actually.
but if its stock photography, i guess anything goes.
i can take a glass of water, someone's mouth, and the sky...
Originally posted by Rhonda:Sooooo sweeeeeeet!!!
BTW, I'm toying with the idea of buying a digicam with a higher optical zoom. Want to take Macro shots of insects and such, w hich isn't possible with my current cam.
macro shots of insects with any digicam is very very hard
by the time u focus, the insect is already gone
Originally posted by kopiosatu:errrrrrrrrrrrrrrm... i specialise in fun shots actually.
but if its stock photography, i guess anything goes.
i can take a glass of water, someone's mouth, and the sky...
you got to revamp your website a bit if you want to start commercializing it .... first thing first is to make sure your hosting plan is up to scratch first ... but yeah, I really think it's time to start capitalizing in a bigger way your serious hobby now .... it can really be a very good money spinner ....
kopi, just heard the Bird Thongchai songs! They are very enjoyable!
I like it!
The last piece by Jetsetter is also lovely!
You've got good taste in music! Guess I can trust your recommendations!
Ta!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:macro shots of insects with any digicam is very very hard
Ya lor I agree
You see all the aquarium pics I take which are micro shots
Every single one of them
I dunno take how many pics and only 1 or 2 that are passable and it's not even good
Originally posted by Fatum:you got to revamp your website a bit if you want to start commercializing it .... first thing first is to make sure your hosting plan is up to scratch first ... but yeah, I really think it's time to start capitalizing in a bigger way your serious hobby now .... it can really be a very good money spinner ....
my hosting plan is super basic. because it was meant to be a simple site.
maybe i'll stick to it, upgrade IF it gets bigger at all.
revamp... i actually "downgraded" from the business looking site to a personal looking one ![]()
how 'bout for now, when its ready to sell a little bit of photos... i'll just add a link "stock"
if there's any business at all, the revamp will come with the hosting upgrade.
unless u think that revamping will help in sales.
Originally posted by Rhonda:kopi, just heard the Bird Thongchai songs! They are very enjoyable!
I like it!
The last piece by Jetsetter is also lovely!
You've got good taste in music! Guess I can trust your recommendations!
Ta!
quite frankly, when i shop in thailand, i spend most of my shopping money on CDs and DVDs.
the original CDs are selling at only 160 THB!
but i don't mean international stars, its the local singers...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:my hosting plan is super basic. because it was meant to be a simple site.
maybe i'll stick to it, upgrade IF it gets bigger at all.
revamp... i actually "downgraded" from the business looking site to a personal looking one
how 'bout for now, when its ready to sell a little bit of photos... i'll just add a link "stock"
if there's any business at all, the revamp will come with the hosting upgrade.
unless u think that revamping will help in sales.
you'll have to ... people browing through all your photos will eat up a lot of bandwidth ... plus things like an SSL cert for online payments, all that would cost more ......
Ya lor I agreeYou see all the aquarium pics I take which are micro shots
Every single one of them
I dunno take how many pics and only 1 or 2 that are passable and it's not even good
i tot MPB bought a DSLR?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:macro shots of insects with any digicam is very very hard
Oh?! What do I need then?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i tot MPB bought a DSLR?
No I convinced him to buy a digicam because I dunno how to use a DSLR
I am still learning how to use this digicam too
Too many functions liao. Have an Aquarium function too but I dunno how to use
Then hor he say the digicam VK gave me and he was like saying I best bluff him buy a digicam when I'm getting one ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:you'll have to ... people browing through all your photos will eat up a lot of bandwidth ... plus things like an SSL cert for online payments, all that would cost more ......
wah, like that my hosting plan will cost how much more man... ![]()
i think i need AV to write up a business plan for this ![]()
i don't mind doing it... i'm just worried about not earning enough to cover the basic costs! lol~
Originally posted by kopiosatu:quite frankly, when i shop in thailand, i spend most of my shopping money on CDs and DVDs.
the original CDs are selling at only 160 THB!
but i don't mean international stars, its the local singers...
Actually, if I head to say, Korea or Japan or Thailand, I would buy the CD's of only the local singers.
How's your Thai language skills now? Did you learn to just speak the language or are you going full-steam ahead and learning how to write as well?