Originally posted by InnoHippo:we can only hope the nurses lose their mind and start murdering these "hopeless" patients secretly .......
Actually I think there are a few cases where the nurse murders these 'hopeless' patients because they pity them
Originally posted by InnoHippo:we can only hope the nurses lose their mind and start murdering these "hopeless" patients secretly .......
Well, there have been cases where nurses are convicted for euthanising patients. But these are the exceptions rather than the rule. One has to be of unsound mind to do such a thing in the first place. Most of us, we just watch, feel really heart-broken, sometimes I choke back tears as I hand over report about the patient, and we just keep on taking care of the patient the best we can until they get discharged to a nursing home where they live out the rest of their days in silent torture...
Speaking of nurses euthanising patients is just like talking about policemen going postal and randomly shooting the innocent. I mean, how many of such cases do you get in a decade? ![]()
Originally posted by Scania L113 lover:
Hell. Of course not.Yah lor....when I'm old and tired, I figure I'll be better off dead....and I mean dying with no this and that attached to me.
It's easy to say now, when death is like soooo many decades away. I've seen elderly people so petrified of death that they become morbidly obsessed with their fears and they hang on to life so desperately that they stress out their families, their doctors and their nurses as well. ![]()
Actually I think there are a few cases where the nurse murders these 'hopeless' patients because they pity them
I have become so tormented nursing a few such patients long-term that I actually pray for them and ask for a quick, painless and peaceful passing over into death for them.
It's hard to watch when you've been taking care of them so long, and they keep looking at you and whimpering, and you wipe off their tears, and you can't help but cry with them behind closed curtains.
I remember my senior nurses and I used to finish our tasks, sit behind the nurses' counter in the ICU and talk about how pitiful some of the patients are.
I lose ok?![]()
Anyways, the death to LKY thread is up again.![]()
Well, I gotta agree with Bear's assertion that euthanasia is standing on a pretty slippery slope.
It's entirely possible for it to be misused by the government and by individuals to further their own agenda.... the government may legislate it as a means of weeding out what they may consider as 'undesirables', while individuals may use it as a means to top themselves.
The T4 Euthanasia program used by the Nazis prior to the Holocaust shows just how far it can go.
My own late grandfather suffered from a stroke several years ago, and was a vegetable for the last two years of his life. I remember spending time by his bedside, wondering just how terrible it would be to be a prisoner in my own mind, unable to fend for myself.
But nah..... I just can't bring myself to support euthanasia even if I were to leave out my own religious obligations out of it.
Originally posted by fudgester:Well, I gotta agree with Bear's assertion that euthanasia is standing on a pretty slippery slope.
It's entirely possible for it to be misused by the government and by individuals to further their own agenda.... the government may legislate it as a means of weeding out what they may consider as 'undesirables', while individuals may use it as a means to top themselves.
The T4 Euthanasia program used by the Nazis prior to the Holocaust shows just how far it can go.
My own late grandfather suffered from a stroke several years ago, and was a vegetable for the last two years of his life. I remember spending time by his bedside, wondering just how terrible it would be to be a prisoner in my own mind, unable to fend for myself.
But nah..... I just can't bring myself to support euthanasia even if I were to leave out my own religious obligations out of it.
There is nothing in this world that can't be abused.
Originally posted by Scania L113 lover:There is nothing in this world that can't be abused.
Ya everything can be abused and it's the check and balance needed
Kinda like now our CPF is getting abused ![]()
these nurses ought to improve their skills so that they dont get caught after doing it ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:It's easy to say now, when death is like soooo many decades away. I've seen elderly people so petrified of death that they become morbidly obsessed with their fears and they hang on to life so desperately that they stress out their families, their doctors and their nurses as well.
and they should be put to dea.. uhh.. "euthanised" ?
hmm... like The Dead Kennedys said: give me convenience or give me death...
braindeath is different from actively topping someone or yourself when you are aware...
Let's change topic. Who's had encounters with the other side?
Originally posted by InnoHippo:these nurses ought to improve their skills so that they dont get caught after doing it
we should get the evil buses to crash into evil hippos to euthanise both... and then scrap and melt the evil buses into more useful things like substandard paperclips... while the rotting evil hippo carcasses can be put to good use by feeding the hordes of rabid hyenas in the serengeti..
Originally posted by the Bear:
and they should be put to dea.. uhh.. "euthanised" ?hmm... like The Dead Kennedys said: give me convenience or give me death...
braindeath is different from actively topping someone or yourself when you are aware...
It is a matter of personal choice. I do not wish to live if I can no longer move, talk, eat, drink, scratch, pee, clean up after myself, etc. What's the point? In this case, your brain may be alive, but the rest of you, is 'dead'.
Originally posted by the Bear:
and they should be put to dea.. uhh.. "euthanised" ?hmm... like The Dead Kennedys said: give me convenience or give me death...
I think that the person has to make a choice when he is well in the event that he becomes a vegetable if he wants to be euthanised or not .
And not something that is decided by the relatives, spouse or government
Originally posted by Scania L113 lover:Let's change topic. Who's had encounters with the other side?
*puts up hand high-high.
Which nurse hasn't?
The things they never tell you when they try to recruit nurses in their glitzy campaigns are : 1) Thou shalt end up with backache; and 2) Thou shalt have encounters of the other-worldly kind! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:It is a matter of personal choice. I do not wish to live if I can no longer move, talk, eat, drink, scratch, pee, clean up after myself, etc. What's the point? In this case, your brain may be alive, but the rest of you, is 'dead'.
you get someone to murder you.. and the next day, there is a robotics breakthrough which can give you back your quality of life?
btw.. check this out => Walkaide
for the MS patients who think life is over because they cannot walk or move..
Originally posted by Scania L113 lover:Let's change topic. Who's had encounters with the other side?
Wah liao talk about this during CNY ![]()
I think that the person has to make a choice when he is well in the event that he becomes a vegetable if he wants to be euthanised or not .And not something that is decided by the relatives, spouse or government
True. My life is mine to live... and your life is yours to live...
There was an Aussie doctor who was actively fighting for Euthanasia because he suffered from a debilitating disease affecting the nerves where eventually, he'll become so paralysed, he won't even be able to breathe without a ventilator breathing for him. He documented his journey to some country in Europe, where he opted for Euthanasia, and was subsequently put down.
Would you like to keep your loved one alive if he/she becomes a vegetable and everytime you visit him/her, they will look at you with tears in their eyes and whimper and shout and yell and scream in pain and sheer agony?
Originally posted by the Bear:you get someone to murder you.. and the next day, there is a robotics breakthrough which can give you back your quality of life?
btw.. check this out => Walkaide
for the MS patients who think life is over because they cannot walk or move..
The day quadriplegics and stroke patients can live like normal is the day I shall revoke my support for Euthanasia.
Let's see... if Revelations is anything to go by, the earth just might see its last days before that concept remotely becomes viable.
Besides, how many people will have access to technology like that? How many people can AFFORD technology like that?
And, to top it all off, who's going to choose euthanasia if there's hope for a cure? ![]()
Wah liao talk about this during CNY
I was reminded of this because the other day I was chatting with a fellow NSF when somehow the topic was switched to this. As it turned out, he could see the other side...and what he said was well, interesting.
My ship we were onboard had nothing, that's not surprising cos it's brand-new. But the other ships had their inhabitants.
But he said the worst were those USN ships that visited us. There were things all over their ships and some even had missing limbs.![]()
*surface out of files for air*
i knew this would happened >.< 4.5 days of break and i have tons of stuffs to attend to...
on the side note, i still don't know wat to get for
for vday.. die liao lah... ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Would you like to keep your loved one alive if he/she becomes a vegetable and everytime you visit him/her, they will look at you with tears in their eyes and whimper and shout and yell and scream in pain and sheer agony?
I think that would be my loved one to decide
If there is a form when you are well and of sound mind that you want to live even if you become a vegetable, I will respect his/her wish
I will also respect his/her wish if he/she wants to be 'put down'
It is really not for us to decide but the said person
That is why I feel that we should have a form, like the organ donation form.
Originally posted by Scania L113 lover:
I was reminded of this because the other day I was chatting with a fellow NSF when somehow the topic was switched to this. As it turned out, he could see the other side...and what he said was well, interesting.My ship we were onboard had nothing, that's not surprising cos it's brand-new. But the other ships had their inhabitants.
But he said the worst were those USN ships that visited us. There were things all over their ships and some even had missing limbs.
Huh........
How they know? They can see?
February liao... how to save enough to eat like a
when I return? ![]()
Huh........How they know? They can see?
My friend can.