Originally posted by elindra:Pls lor the Malays in Singapore are not like those pea-brained Bumis you get in Malaysia and a lot of Malays in Singapore are wonderful warm people.
Are the shocked that the other races enjoy Malay cuisine and Nasi Pandang lots?
And that local mosques here have sharing sessions with people of other religions?Their world is small so they think others are smaller than them
I remember reading an article about Chinese Muslims in Malaysia..... they were barred from building their own mosque because it might lead to 'Chinese supremacy' or something to that effect.... ![]()
And once there was this Malaysian journalist who hung some Chinese calligraphy in his home. A visitor to his home saw it and reprimanded him for hanging 'the writings of infidels'.
The thing is..... the calligraphy was a Chinese translation of the Kalimah Syahadah....i.e. The Islamic Declaration of Faith.
Speaks volumes about the kind of well those frogs live in.![]()
Originally posted by elindra:Ok Hippo is
at least, this one more energetic ![]()
fudgie, that Fong Seng Nasi Lemak
Do they have normal rice instead?
our hippo of sgf..:

Originally posted by sbst275:fudgie, that Fong Seng Nasi Lemak
Do they have normal rice instead?
Yes..... I've seen people order normal rice. I normally go for the nasi lemak, though.... I always add roast chicken and otah. ![]()
Ooh.... Fong Seng..... I wonder what those Malaysians would think when they find out that I've been eating at a (halal-certified) Chinese restaurant with a Chinese name.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:our hippo of sgf..:
this one is as cute as the one we met in our gluttony session ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:
Yes..... I've seen people order normal rice. I normally go for the nasi lemak, though.... I always add roast chicken and otah.Ooh.... Fong Seng..... I wonder what those Malaysians would think when they find out that I've been eating at a (halal-certified) Chinese restaurant with a Chinese name.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
the dancing bear is amusing ![]()
Originally posted by SevenEleven:this one is as cute as the one we met in our gluttony session
actually this one resembles Bear.. hahahahahaa....
Originally posted by sbst275:
Reminds me of the time my relatives from KL came to visit.
They walked around Vivocity and Harbourfront for quite some time..... they skipped lunch. By the time they got back in the late afternoon, they were ravenous.
My mom asked: 'Why didn't you eat? There are quite a few good food courts and restaurants there.... Banquet Food Court is entirely halal!'
My aunt: 'Because we saw Chinese people serving Nasi Padang at that food court! How on earth can you eat that stuff?!?!'
........... ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:Reminds me of the time my relatives from KL came to visit.
They walked around Vivocity and Harbourfront for quite some time..... they skipped lunch. By the time they got back in the late afternoon, they were ravenous.
My mom asked: 'Why didn't you eat? There are quite a few good food courts and restaurants there.... Banquet Food Court is entirely halal!'
My aunt: 'Because we saw Chinese people serving Nasi Padang at that food court! How on earth can you eat that stuff?!?!'
goodness
sianz.....eating is a chore, when the missing upper molar is rendering the lower molar useless.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
This one is even cuter!
my brain is about to implode...
the boss, in her usual lack of comprehension, is making me take out the 2nd part of text they want in a flyer... which is essential because it relates how to go about things when they don't have the documents for the process..
then she has me crafting a question to the people who came out with the text, asking what will happen if the person doesn't have the documents for the process..
WTF?? ![]()
Ah drats.... now the camera battery is flat. Forgot to charge it up last night.
Oh well... I might as well end my experiments here..... I'll be going off at 4.
Rhonda got lost abt the 'rice is rice, bread is bread' quote
PM: Let's tackle cost fears together
Li Xueying
737 words
4 February 2008
Straits Times
English
(c) 2008 Singapore Press Holdings Limited
Govt will play part, including in Budget; S'poreans must also make adjustments
PRIME MINISTER Lee Hsien Loong assured Singaporeans yesterday that their concerns about the rising cost of living, including food prices, have been heard - and are being addressed.
But Singaporeans themselves will, at the same time, have to make adjustments, he said. One suggestion: Go for cheaper house brands.
'We can overcome this problem by working together. People making adjustments, the Government doing its part. We must stay together even during difficult periods,' said Mr Lee.
Speaking to 1,400 residents and grassroots leaders at a Chinese New Year dinner at his Teck Ghee constituency, he, however, rejected calls for the Government to control the prices of essential goods.
'Residents asked, 'Why can't the Government just control the prices?'' he recounted.
His response: Singapore is an open economy and imports all its food.
'We can't just order wholesalers and retailers to fix or reduce prices. They have to pay the overseas suppliers - who will bear the loss?'
If the Government subsidises essentials, it will be 'very expensive, and also ineffective'. As higher-income households spend more, such subsidies will benefit them more than the poor.
It is better to use the money instead to help the needy more directly, he said.
Thus, there are measures such as the Workfare Income Supplement Scheme as well as the Public Assistance Scheme, which is being reviewed.
At the same time, the Government is diversifying food sources, such as by importing frozen chicken from Brazil.
Consumers can also go for supermarket house brands, which are cheaper.
'No need to buy branded bread,' he said in Mandarin to laughter. 'Bread is bread, rice is rice.'
Most important of all is to grow the economy so wages will go up, he stressed.
Noting that 2007 was a good year, with workers receiving significant pay rises and bonuses, he quipped that government revenues 'have not been too bad either'.
Thus, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam will distribute 'a little hongbao' in the Feb 15 Budget, especially for the needy.
'But we must be realistic,' he said. 'I read the wish list for the Budget in the newspapers, all hoping that the Government will give out exciting goodies.
'The Government will definitely help. But we cannot just distribute money and make the problem go away.
'Even with a good harvest, or during Chinese New Year, the Minister for Finance is not the cai shen ye!' he said, referring to the God of Fortune in Chinese mythology.
Inflation here hit a 25-year high in December, when the Consumer Price Index (CPI) jumped 4.4 per cent from a year ago. In particular, food prices were 5.5 per cent higher.
In a sign that the cost issue is high on the Government's agenda, four Cabinet and junior ministers - besides Mr Lee - spoke separately on it at the weekend, assuring that the Government will help.
The subject took up the bulk of Mr Lee's 20-minute speech, delivered both in English and Mandarin.
He started by noting that the Year of the Rat is beginning under 'more challenging circumstances' compared to previous years.
The financial markets are in turbulence, and the United States economy is slowing.
And the clouds will not be going away soon. In fact, Mr Lee warned that 'we must expect more uncertainties ahead'.
He expects the CPI to be high this year, especially in the first half: 'Last year, it was about 2 per cent. This year, it may be 5 per cent, it may even be more.'
Already, prices of Chinese New Year goodies such as pineapple tarts and bak kwa have increased, he noted.
But putting the grim outlook in perspective, he said that higher food prices is a global problem. Similarly afflicted are Malaysia, Indonesia and even Latin America.
On the whole, though, Singapore is in strong shape: 'We expect the economy to keep growing, though slower than last year. Whatever it is, I am confident that we can weather the storm.'
Calling on Singaporeans to stay with the Government and to keep Singapore competitive and growing, Mr Lee concluded: 'Then, whether it is the Year of the Rat or the Ox or Tiger, we will have the resources to deal with the challenges that come our way.'
actually when i say it in chinese.. it makes sense leh.
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:actually when i say it in chinese.. it makes sense leh.
but when they made Violet Oon come out with her write-up, again it seems ham-fisted ![]()
just when I thought my busy days are over.... i have to attend to more work...![]()
gotto go now...tat tat...
chat 2nite, if i can reach home by 11pm, hopefully..![]()
- taking a break -
i dun feel like working....haiz!!!
how i wish i no need to work....
anyone knows when is the new year toto ang pow starting to sell ?
Originally posted by zoragirl:- taking a break -
i dun feel like working....haiz!!!
how i wish i no need to work....
anyone knows when is the new year toto ang pow starting to sell ?
i've been taking breaks... each time i come in here ![]()
my brain hurts.. but i'm going to run off in a while.. hope your work's going well ![]()