I am so sick of paying exhorbitant prices to eat out, and the food in the restaurants here are not necessary nice nor authentic either!
I miss those days when I can just walk downstairs and buy food. Less than S$4 can settle a meal liao. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Yeah... not worth purchasing apparel online if you're going to pay through your nose for shipping.
Moreover, you won't really know if it'll fit well.
I remember when I first went to the US, I went into Walmart to purchase a pack of undergarments. I bought the size according to the measurements stated, but when I went to try it on at my friend's place, lo and behold, my panties could be pulled all the way up to my waist, and even beyond, and there was space enough to hide a watermelon in!
Even grannies do not wear such baggy panties! I had to discard them in the end... waste of $$.
Anyways, sometimes, within the same shop, you may fit into a particular size for a top, but the same size in a totally different design might not fit you. So it's better not to take the risk.
That's why I've never bought stuff from Victoria's Secrets and Frederick's of Hollywood even though I love their stuff. Postage costs, and return shipping, if any, sucks.
chiam...i bidding for 3 of them...![]()
i bought a national geographic fleece jacket and it cost me $12 for the jacket and postage...i thought it is very nice..and i made a friend (the seller).
then my uk boss saw it and burst out laughing. he said the jacket will cost S$5 if buy in uk... arggggggggghhhhhh...
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
chiam...i bidding for 3 of them...
i bought a national geographic fleece jacket and it cost me $12 for the jacket and postage...i thought it is very nice..and i made a friend (the seller).
then my uk boss saw it and burst out laughing. he said the jacket will cost S$5 if buy in uk... arggggggggghhhhhh...
My mom has bought stuff from eBay before - namely handbags, jewellery, crystals, beads, etc. Some semi-precious stones are much cheaper if you bid for them on eBay. She has showed me a few of her lovely pieces, which I really like and hope that she'll someday pass them on to me. ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:there are 8 of them .... I think they are going to sell them ....
Good luck :)
I never liked Chihuahua's
It always reminds me of the time when I saw a Pelican try to eat a Chihuahua in Perth
Good luck :)I never liked Chihuahua's
It always reminds me of the time when I saw a Pelican try to eat a Chihuahua in Perth
A pelican what?!!!
Was it a genetically-modified carnivore Pelican?! ![]()
That's actually pretty amusing... in a convoluted way! ![]()
Originally posted by soleachip:ok. the wheel was locked and i'm completely clueless. battery no problem but the driver laughed at me and demanded 20 bucks for his petrol.
Oh dear, I am so sorry.
I totally forgot that wheels lock can result in a car not able to start.
Its Auto?
Chek Ark!! I've thrown away so much food that I feel sooooo darn guilty now! ![]()
- 1.3 kgs of frozen chix thigh fillets
- 600g frozen minced beef
- Two containers of dips
- Half a loaf of raisin bread
- 6 slices of Mud Cake
- 1 Lemon Tart with the Meringue mostly untouched and the insides (lemon curd) dug out and eaten.
- 1/2 bottle of chocolate raisins (because they turned mottled in the recent summer heat)
- 3 Plums
- 3 Trellis Tomatoes
- 2 Bok Choy
- 6 stalks of asparagus
- A container of button mushrooms
Feel so bad now! ![]()
why are you throwing food away ? ... ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:
Chek Ark!! I've thrown away so much food that I feel sooooo darn guilty now!
- 1.3 kgs of frozen chix thigh fillets
- 600g frozen minced beef
- Two containers of dips
- Half a loaf of raisin bread
- 6 slices of Mud Cake
- 1 Lemon Tart with the Meringue mostly untouched and the insides (lemon curd) dug out and eaten.
- 1/2 bottle of chocolate raisins (because they turned mottled in the recent summer heat)
- 3 Plums
- 3 Trellis Tomatoes
- 2 Bok Choy
- 6 stalks of asparagus
- A container of button mushrooms
Feel so bad now!
aiyo...did u hear thunder roaring angrily..? ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:
A pelican what?!!!
Was it a genetically-modified carnivore Pelican?!
That's actually pretty amusing... in a convoluted way!
The Pelicans in Australia are horrible
I tell you they steal KFC from you to eat too and they are very very aggressive
And they are carnivores. They eat fish but are now too lazy to fish so they are now scavangers
I have repeated my Pelican story lots of times here :P I think they will find me a bore repeating it again
Originally posted by soleachip:ok. the wheel was locked and i'm completely clueless. battery no problem but the driver laughed at me and demanded 20 bucks for his petrol.
Ohhh.. steering wheel locked.. i see.. just turn the steering wheel a bit and it should unlock.
Once I had that, I thought my car spoil, because my key wouldn't turn at all...
Hello everybody!
Originally posted by Fatum:why are you throwing food away ? ...
Expiring, or expired liao.
The frozen chicken thighs have been kept for about 2 months now. Was supposed to cook Korean Chilli Chicken + Teriyaki Chicken + Gan Bao Ji Ding with the fillets but I didn't wrap them properly, kena freezer burn.
The rest, well, take the Mud Cake for instance. The whole cake was going for just A$3, on sale from Cole's Supermart. I just wanted one or two slices, then lo and behold, reached expiry date liao. ![]()
I frequently throw food out because I can't finish it all. That's why I constantly wish for a mate to cook for, and to share food with.
Oh, forgot to add a packet of mixed salad leaves to the list. ![]()
freezer burns are fine eh ? ....
I once cooked up and ate a kilo block of minced beef that was in my fridge for more than 2 years .... discovered the package cos I was clearing out the fridge to move .... ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Expiring, or expired liao.
The frozen chicken thighs have been kept for about 2 months now. Was supposed to cook Korean Chilli Chicken + Teriyaki Chicken + Gan Bao Ji Ding with the fillets but I didn't wrap them properly, kena freezer burn.
The rest, well, take the Mud Cake for instance. The whole cake was going for just A$3, on sale from Cole's Supermart. I just wanted one or two slices, then lo and behold, reached expiry date liao.
I frequently throw food out because I can't finish it all. That's why I constantly wish for a mate to cook for, and to share food with.
Oh, forgot to add a packet of mixed salad leaves to the list.
I just threw away some rotten minced meat. :o
Why do things always happen to us at the same time? First the insects, now the food. :o
Are you my long lost twin sister? :o
i got a can of corned mutton at home...wonder how to cook it?
Originally posted by Fatum:freezer burns are fine eh ? ....
I once cooked up and ate a kilo block of minced beef that was in my fridge for more than 2 years .... discovered the package cos I was clearing out the fridge to move ....
If it's frozen, then it's still okay. Cause the decomposition process is drastically slowed down while it's frozen...
Btw. Rhonda. Cook something for us. Freeze it. Mail it over with heating instructions. ![]()
Originally posted by Keii:
I just threw away some rotten minced meat. :o
Why do things always happen to us at the same time? First the insects, now the food. :o
Are you my long lost twin sister? :o
Eh... due to the age discrepancy, I can't be your twin sister... but I can be your older sis! ![]()
Yeah hor... weird how similar things happen to us! ![]()
err what is freezer burn?
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:i got a can of corned mutton at home...wonder how to cook it?
Hmm... let me make a few suggestions...
Stir fry it with a handful of frozen corn, peas, and see if you can find a few mushrooms (canned button or dried chinese black mushrooms), and then when cooked, either lay a few leaves of lettuce onto the plate before scooping it on, or slice the lettuce thinly and sprinkle all over. Or, eat it Korean-style, use the lettuce leaves to wrap scoops of the corned mutton to eat. ![]()
If you can give me the list of ingredients on the can, I can give you even more suggestions. ;) Right now, I'm just suggesting based on what I know. I think if you like it spicy, a little Korean red pepper paste, Gochujang, will spice it up nicely! Otherwise, a modest scoop of Glory's bottled Sambal, add sugar, should jazz it up.
hello old people ![]()
/me run away.
Originally posted by bluejuice:err what is freezer burn?
Freezer burn occurs when you don't cover meat properly before freezing it. The dry cold temperature removes all moisture from the food, and the raw meats appear dark brown because it ends up all dried-up.
The meat becomes drier and tougher, and no longer worth your while to cook it.
Just had a chit chat with this engineer from the office.
He saw me riding and we started chatting from there.
Encouraging him to join my old men biker groups at LC foodcourt tonight and for him to get a higher licence to ride.
Originally posted by bluejuice:err what is freezer burn?
"Freezer burn" is a condition that occurs when frozen food has been damage by ice crystals, due to air reaching the food. It usually happens when the packaging is not airtight.
Something like this piece of beef.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Freezer burn occurs when you don't cover meat properly before freezing it. The dry cold temperature removes all moisture from the food, and the raw meats appear dark brown because it ends up all dried-up.
The meat becomes drier and tougher, and no longer worth your while to cook it.
Stew!