Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
I can't do shiftwork.. did it once and my whole system gets messed up :(Get very depressed and all.. my hubby on the other hand loves shiftwork, he can don't sleep whole night, next morning still chirpy chirpy and survive on minimal hours sleep. But good thing he doesn't need to do shift work liao cos.. its hard to keep a rship going when you hardly see the other party.
I'm bad at shiftwork too! I hate hate hate the morning shift because I don't really 'wake up' till about 1030 - 1100 hrs. Hell, even my eyesight remains blurry until that time!
I have to kinda squint until mid-morning, then somehow, my vision improves.
It takes me so much effort to get through a morning shift that by the time the shift ends, I'm good for nothing except head home and collapse on the couch, falling asleep no matter how hard I try to stay awake to watch TV.
It's not uncommon for me to slide in a DVD, watch the first 15 mins, and then somehow, fall asleep and wake up to see the Main Menu with the music repeating itself over and over again for goodness knows how long!
When I do a Morning shift, my entire day is wasted! ![]()
Thank goodness, here, I get to choose my shifts, so I now work the Evening shift, which is my favourite shift!
Report to work at 2pm, return at 10pm! Before work, I can run my errands and after work, I can do things I like to relax.
It's the best arrangement for me!
Night duties... it gets tough to stay awake cause round about 0300-0500 hrs, there's this sorta lull and everyone starts to fight real hard to keep awake.
But suddenly, at about 0600, there's like this sudden boost of energy that keeps one going till past mid-day! That's why when I worked the Night duties, I had to head to the gym after my shift to exercise for 3 hours straight before I can fall asleep without waking up every now and then. It isn't really easy to sleep in the day, y'know.
Im screwed!!
Real bad!!
ZOMG~!
*worried*
die die die die die die die die die!!
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, Pharmacists should be given a more active role to play in the management of a patient's medication. Whilst it's ideal for doctors to know everything there is to know about treating health problems, it is unrealistic, given the huge expanse of knowledge they'd have to grasp. I believe that the way to prevent mistakes thus lies in close collaboration with other specialists, in this case, with Pharmacists.
I hope that in future, doctors will not be viewed as know-it-all's, because most of the time, they don't! Doctors who are humble enough to acknowledge that and seek the advice of other specialists do a lot of good for their patients. Those who insist that they know everything about everything end up doing much harm at times.
In my relatively short career, I have alerted doctors before to the : dodgy dosage of meds they have ordered / a double-prescription / prescription of meds that are contraindicated / potential drug interactions. It's common to make mistakes, esp working the sort of hours in the sort of stressful conditions doctors have to undergo. Therefore, to prevent mistakes, there has to be a closer collaboration amongst the different professionals working towards improving a patient's health.
I totally agree. Actually collaboration is something people should just learn to get used to.. and it really isn't just between doctors, nurses, pharmacists etc.
For e.g. for us.. we really need to work very closely with therapists, doctors, parents etc to really benefit the child.
or on a macro level: i really wish that different arms of the government can collaborate better!!! Its weird the way our CPF board don't really communicate with our IRAS and Nparks and LTA have clearly marked out areas which plots of land belong to Nparks and which plots to LTA so to put up a signage, you need to really check and the difference can be just 1 m away!!!
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:Im screwed!!
Real bad!!
ZOMG~!
*worried*
die die die die die die die die die!!
what did you, or didn't you do?
Morning ![]()
I am not a morning person too...my colleagues come to work at 8am. I tried to wake up by 6am.. wah...it's disastrous. I stick to my 9am report to work thingy....![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:what did you, or didn't you do?
I think its wad i didnt do.![]()
I just receive info, that my lec is using my this major project, as a streaming excercise to give some ppl the boot and i get the feeling that im one of them. Cos i haven been doing anything. Mental block. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I'm bad at shiftwork too! I hate hate hate the morning shift because I don't really 'wake up' till about 1030 - 1100 hrs. Hell, even my eyesight remains blurry until that time!
I have to kinda squint until mid-morning, then somehow, my vision improves.
It takes me so much effort to get through a morning shift that by the time the shift ends, I'm good for nothing except head home and collapse on the couch, falling asleep no matter how hard I try to stay awake to watch TV.
It's not uncommon for me to slide in a DVD, watch the first 15 mins, and then somehow, fall asleep and wake up to see the Main Menu with the music repeating itself over and over again for goodness knows how long!
When I do a Morning shift, my entire day is wasted!
Thank goodness, here, I get to choose my shifts, so I now work the Evening shift, which is my favourite shift!
Report to work at 2pm, return at 10pm! Before work, I can run my errands and after work, I can do things I like to relax.
It's the best arrangement for me!
Night duties... it gets tough to stay awake cause round about 0300-0500 hrs, there's this sorta lull and everyone starts to fight real hard to keep awake.
But suddenly, at about 0600, there's like this sudden boost of energy that keeps one going till past mid-day! That's why when I worked the Night duties, I had to head to the gym after my shift to exercise for 3 hours straight before I can fall asleep without waking up every now and then. It isn't really easy to sleep in the day, y'know.
hehehe i like morning shift... that's why i am in the morning session. Get it over and done with, then afternoon can nap la.. shopping la.. bla bla bla...do work too sometimes.
Originally posted by Rhonda:
I hope that in future, doctors will not be viewed as know-it-all's, because most of the time, they don't! Doctors who are humble enough to acknowledge that and seek the advice of other specialists do a lot of good for their patients. Those who insist that they know everything about everything end up doing much harm at times.
well ... most doctors certainly act like they do ....... I have never ever ever ever met a humble doctor .... even those that I count as friends ...... I suppose the ego comes with their profession .....
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
I totally agree. Actually collaboration is something people should just learn to get used to.. and it really isn't just between doctors, nurses, pharmacists etc.
For e.g. for us.. we really need to work very closely with therapists, doctors, parents etc to really benefit the child.
or on a macro level: i really wish that different arms of the government can collaborate better!!! Its weird the way our CPF board don't really communicate with our IRAS and Nparks and LTA have clearly marked out areas which plots of land belong to Nparks and which plots to LTA so to put up a signage, you need to really check and the difference can be just 1 m away!!!
I think a lot of times, it's the ego that prevents people from collaborating better. Some people think that collaboration is like asking for help and admitting that you are not good enough to handle things single-handedly, which can be a fatal mindset to adopt when it comes to the medical field. ![]()
I'm really glad to see that here, there is a really close collaboration amongst the health professionals. Well, most of the time at least. There are still surgeons and doctors who think that they are Gods and their word is final, regardless of whether it's the best thing for the patient or not.
Thankfully, they remain in the minority here.
When a Family Conference is called for here, the patient, his/her family members, the Surgeon and Doctors taking care of the patient, the Nursing Team Leader, the Nursing Care Coordinator, the Physiotherapist and the Occupational Therapist are all involved. If need be, the Pharmacist / the Dietitian / the Speech Therapist will be called to join in the discussions. Sometimes, if a Social Worker / Psychologist had been involved in the patient's case, they are called in too. This ensures that everyone is kept up-to-date with the different aspects of treatment the patient is receiving so a good decision can be made as to the best way forward.
The other Health Professionals and Allied Health Professionals in Singapore need to be given more prominence.
Originally posted by Fatum:well ... most doctors certainly act like they do ....... I have never ever ever ever met a humble doctor .... even those that I count as friends ...... I suppose the ego comes with their profession .....
Whilst there are super arrogant doctors who think they are omniscient here, there are also doctors who are humble here and before they order any treatment, they will talk to the nurse who had been taking care of the patient first for feedback. Some of them even ask, "So do you think that this medication will work for Mr Soso in this case?" or "What would you recommend as the best method for dressing this wound?". I think that is a really good stance to take because the nurses take care of the patients 24/7 and we exchage notes with the incoming shifts so we do know the patients much better than the doctors, in a way. (That's why, NEVER treat a nurse badly, because the word gets passed down until ALL the nurses in the ward, and sometimes the doctors and allied health care professionals as well, eventually know about you!
)
There are also doctors here who, no matter how senior they are, welcome your feedback on whether you think a certain therapy they have prescribed for the patient is working well. I think with these doctors, once they've seen you on the ward long enough, and once you have earned their trust, they will be open to your suggestions and comments.
It's much easier to find humble doctors here. Back in Singapore, it's the Medical Officers (MO's) who tend to be more humble but then again, not all of them are.
Then again, the society plays a huge part in this too! In Singapore, if a doctor works in close collaboration with the other professionals, some Ah Soh's or Ah Pek's might go around saying stuff like, "This doctor doesn't know much at all, that's why he always depends on all his other kah kia's before he makes a decision one! Bo eng! (Useless!)"
I mean, if you translate it all to Hokkien, I'm sure you can almost 'hear' the way they talk, right? ![]()
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:
I think its wad i didnt do.I just receive info, that my lec is using my this major project, as a streaming excercise to give some ppl the boot and i get the feeling that im one of them. Cos i haven been doing anything. Mental block.
Uh oh!!
Sigh... everything is a learning experience. Even if the worst happens, it's not the end of the world one. Next time if you encounter a mental block, at least submit some sorta work plan to the Lecturer so that he can vet it and at least know that you ARE trying to do SOMETHING. ![]()
20 mins and i'm off to service my bike... damn its way overdue.
Uh oh!!
Sigh... everything is a learning experience. Even if the worst happens, it's not the end of the world one. Next time if you encounter a mental block, at least submit some sorta work plan to the Lecturer so that he can vet it and at least know that you ARE trying to do SOMETHING.
But its tml.
Argh!
Alright, ok im off to do it now.
yea at least i did something better than none at all.
thanks rhonda.
*super worried*
oh damn, the football match on the 23rd has shifted to the evening 1730hrs.
how to go kuishin bo like that???
Originally posted by kopiosatu:oh damn, the football match on the 23rd has shifted to the evening 1730hrs.
how to go kuishin bo like that???
u all gog kuishin bo tis sat??!!!
gosh i've been missing out a lot har? ![]()
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:But its tml.
Argh!
Alright, ok im off to do it now.
yea at least i did something better than none at all.
thanks rhonda.
*super worried*
Haiz... so poor thing! Remember to learn from this lesson, ah! Next time, plan ahead, and keep your Lecturers informed about what you are up to so that they KNOW that you ARE doing SOMEthing. Some lecturers aren't so bright - if they don't hear from you, they'll assume that you aren't working at all.
Next time, don't be so lazy, ah! ![]()
Originally posted by tare:
gosh i've been missing out a lot har?
You missing out meh? You got a lotta TMM wor! ![]()
gosh i've been missing out a lot har?
i'm not.. i think so far, it's talked about by kopi and ferret.. ![]()
talking about kuishin bo makes me hungry.
ok, gotta go service the bike now. after that its the gym
You missing out meh? You got a lotta TMM wor!
not really... we just spent a lot of time at home: he playing wow i playing psp ![]()
i mean at work, i hardly log in recently... today half day in afternoon to go AH for my orthopaedic appt. *keep fingers and toes crossed*
not really... we just spent a lot of time at home: he playing wow i playing psp
i mean at work, i hardly log in recently... today half day in afternoon to go AH for my orthopaedic appt. *keep fingers and toes crossed*
i think i'll get some games off keii for the PSP or something soon..
or anyone out there?
i've got a PSP with no software except for probably Silent Hill on a UMD soon ![]()
ho ho ho....the computer is doing some auto programme updates... i cam surf tibet pics for a little while..![]()

In other news, I read TNP just now.
Some dumbass relief teacher got sacked after he posted his students' compositions on his blog and poked fun of their grammar. He was teaching a Primary 3 class, by the way.
You know what's ironic? His own standard of English wasn't the epitome of the Queen's English, either.... in his own words:
'.... (I) had a headache marking all that nonsesne compositions.'
Pot calling the kettle black, methinks. ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:In other news, I read TNP just now.
Some dumbass relief teacher got sacked after he posted his students' compositions on his blog and poked fun of their grammar. He was teaching a Primary 3 class, by the way.
You know what's ironic? His own standard English wasn't the epitome of the Queen's English, either.... in his own words:
'.... (I) had a headache marking all that nonsesne compositions.'
Pot calling the kettle black, methinks.
Ok....this is funny.