Not sure abt this... but one of my friends kana as well... he made a huge fuss and the guy went away....
Originally posted by SevenEleven:i had a friend's friend who bought some cigarettes from those illegal sellers.he removed a packet and put them into a container and placed them in his pocket.
he was stopped by "ICA" who demanded the cigarette. after smelling it, he told him that this is illegal cigarette and wanted to go to his house to check. A "policeman" came along and when asked, was told the "ICA" could do that.
he took them home and found a carton of illegal cigarette. he was fine $2000 and had to pay immediately. he went to atm and withdrew the money to pay up.
We felt that he was con as is it legal to demand payment by "ICA" immediately. Anyway we did not know if reciept was given.
Kena conned. They are tapping to your guilty conscience because you have done something "illegal" so you will just pay to get away with it...
Originally posted by elindra:I think he was conned la. They won't ask you for upfront payment.
Did he ask for identification?
don't know much but i think he karang kabok liao
that sure is one very expensive packet of smokes for him ... ![]()
Kena conned. They are tapping to your guilty conscience because you have done something "illegal" so you will just pay to get away with it...
doesn't pay to break the law
Originally posted by Fatum:that sure is one very expensive packet of smokes for him ...
very!!!! i think it was all confiscated
Ok coz he seemed to have vanished into thin airHaha
yalor yalor .... i miss his dose of korean babes .... ![]()
probably the same group of people were in it together ... first they sell you the ciggies, then their friends confiscate it and kok you a couple of Ks .... this is a good business model leh ... ![]()
surely your friend asked to see some identification ? ...
Originally posted by Fatum:
probably the same group of people were in it together ... first they sell you the ciggies, then their friends confiscate it and kok you a couple of Ks .... this is a good business model leh ...
surely your friend asked to see some identification ? ...
don't know but the police was in uniform
Originally posted by SevenEleven:don't know but the police was in uniform
huah ! ... like this lagi big scandal ! ....
your friend should at least write anonymously to the police ..... i find it very disturbing that there are people going around impostering police officers in uniform ... or real police officers supplementing their income through such a scam ...
all fines come with receipts..
got receipt or not?
and the police fella, got gun or not?
btw.. ICA people do not enforce contraband inland.. they are border security.. and inland, their jurisdiction involves illegal immigrants, overstayers, harbourers and employers of immigration offenders...
heck! even at the checkpoints, if there is a stash of cigarettes, or anything other than illegal immigrants, they will refer them to the correct authority, like the Police, Singapore Customs, AVA, HSA, MDA, LTA or SCDF.. jurisdiction again is immigration and registration affairs..
The karang kabok fella ganna conned liao lah.
Its actually quite a perfect scheme.
You buy a box of illegal ciggies, goes home and put ciggies in your container.
Come out only, ganna stop by customs officer
and zhun zhun a police officer walk by and 'authorise' the ICA to go search buyer's home...
They take the ciggies....sell again to another fella.
Originally posted by the Bear:all fines come with receipts..
got receipt or not?
and the police fella, got gun or not?
btw.. ICA people do not enforce contraband inland.. they are border security.. and inland, their jurisdiction involves illegal immigrants, overstayers, harbourers and employers of immigration offenders...
heck! even at the checkpoints, if there is a stash of cigarettes, or anything other than illegal immigrants, they will refer them to the correct authority, like the Police, Singapore Customs, AVA, HSA, MDA, LTA or SCDF.. jurisdiction again is immigration and registration affairs..
or was it even ICA. anyway the karang karbok can't remember much of it except the $2K
Originally posted by SevenEleven:or was it even ICA. anyway the karang karbok can't remember much of it except the $2K
Lets hope he quit smoking.
Conman are getting smarter nowadays. ![]()
I feel like having a beer, or four .... ![]()
after woofing down 3 softcake and a slice of papaya, i am hungry again..![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:I feel like having a beer, or four ....
Go on.....No one will be stopping you.
So early feel like drinking alrdy?
Fatum are u alcohlic?
no I'm not ... I'm just frustrated ..... a nasty bug I cannot squish .... feels just like the bad old days .... ![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:after woofing down 3 softcake and a slice of papaya, i am hungry again..
you ate 3 cakes and you're still hungry?
oh yah.. you only ate 3 cakes and should still be starving...
Originally posted by SevenEleven:or was it even ICA. anyway the karang karbok can't remember much of it except the $2K
Definitely conned.....
I must say that the conman is really smart.
If he's lucky, the victim falls for the con, and pays up on the spot.
If he's unlucky, and the prospective victim asks for identification, he can just make a run for it.
It's very unlikely that the victim would make a police report in either case.....
I just can't imagine the victim going to the police station and saying: 'Officer, just now got some fake ICA officer and policeman who conned me out of $2000 because I bought contraband cigarettes!'
But drinking doesnt solves the probs.
Though it might provide temp relief.