i saw this before,...mascot fight
Originally posted by Rhonda:They get quite a lot of money, Ferret!
We currently have a patient in the ward who's a 'longstayer'. He's readmitted himself to hospital on numerous occasions. He is becoming more verbally abusive to the nurses with each successive stay. The team leaders know that he's trying to find fault with the entire hospital so that he can somehow claim some form of damages and not have to work forever.
He claims to be in such bad pain, he can't walk properly, and he always winces and grunts and all manner of grand show of pain whenever he passes the nurses, so that he can demand for his morphine, and then in the next breath, tell us that he hates morphine but has no choice.
And then, in the afternoons, when his dodgy girlfriend comes to visit, suddenly, he's well enough to walk to the elevators and go down to the garden for a smoke!
I was so exasperated with him once I walked out of the room shaking my head, and I immediately told the Team Leader that I do not wish to nurse him after that shift.
I went in to take his vital signs, he complains that he's having his blood pressure taken twice in a day, blah blah blah, ranting and raving, so I said, ok, if he didn't want to, I won't do it. So he said something like the doctor won't be pleased to find out that the nurse didn't do it. So I said I will tell the doctor that the patient didn't want it taken. Then he said he didn't say he didn't want it taken. Blah Blah Blah. He was basically venting his frustrations on me because he has yet to have his application to take money from Centrelink forever approved.
He's notorious in our ward. We all take rotations to nurse him because nobody can tahan him for more than a shift.
And then we get this kind in spore...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:this is funny
The Singapore Armed Forces (abbreviated: SAF) is the most powerful military organization in the world because it has never lost a single war. The SAF relies largely on conscripted soldiers and comprises three branches: the Branch That Blows Up Things On Land, the Branch That Blows Up Things In The Air, and the Branch That Blows Up Things In The Sea. The number of active personnel in the SAF is estimated at 60,000,000,000, the most important of which being over 10,000 malingering chao keng kia PES E soldiers who ensure that Generals get their coffee on time and piping hot. It is further estimated that another 100,000 or so soldiers are actually full-time 'Winning Eleven' Professionals - with evidence of numerous competitions held within the various divisions (3rd, 6th, 9th).
History
Singapore's military role stems from the fact that the country has too much money never knew and has never known what to do with it all. After the failure of the "Adopt a Gold Bar!" scheme in the 1960s, then-prime minister Lee Kuan Yew decided to focus his attentions of creating a world class military "for the purposes of ensuring peace and sovereignty while I'm sitting on the toilet reading dirty magazines".
Actually, the words in red are how I view anything military.
Originally posted by the Bear:the back of me was once on tv..
it was hilarious.. it showed me falling off the chair..
i volunteered (actually, my sister volunteered me) to be medical backup since i'm a trained medic for a east coast cleanup.. the divers went there with their scuba stuff to clean up the mess in east coast waters..
when the time to gather and listen to the organiser speak, the mascot turned up.. the mascot looked like the mutated illegitimate son of an unholy union between a ninja turtle and a bullfrog.. i was laughing so much i fell over..
and that was what turned up on tv that night
Too bad you didn't get a copy of that clip, otherwise, you can put it on YouTube!
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:take a videocam of his "healthy" activities...walking out of hospital and smoking. he is obviously cheating the hospital.
Good idea, but it won't work. You know why? This man takes morphine so regularly that he can always say that he was walking after his morphine took effect and made him pain-free!
And THEN, he would have built a strong case for him to take morphine and we might as well hand him the keys to the drug cupboard liao!
*me mysteriously appears in a puff of smoke*
I saw quite a few interesting cases when I was doing duty at the SAF Psychiatric Medicine Inpatient Center (PMIC) at Alexandra Hospital.
I can tell loads of stories.... like the time when one Malay guy asked a bomoh to put a curse on his poly lecturer because he didn't like him (no kidding). Then when he was in BMT, he kept ruminating over it, regretted what he did and had a total mental breakdown.... at which point he was referred to the PMIC.
Unfortunately, I encountered quite a few chao keng cases as well who eventually admitted that they were faking their symptoms.
Originally posted by Ferret:
Ferret, before I became a nurse, I was critical of our healthcare system. After I joined the other side of the fence, I continued to be critical, but this time round, I was tempered with an understanding of the true situation.
It's sad, but there is a real nurse shortage. We work on a ratio basis. In Singapore, the Nurse : Patient ratio is atrocious. It doesn't matter if you're in a private hospital or not, the ratio is equally bad. When you pay extra in a private hospital, it's for the amenities, NOT for extra nursing attention. If you want to receive close attention, you really have to employ your own private nurse.
First off, I want to comment that if the writer's mom was indeed THAT critically ill, she would not have been placed in the general ward. She would have been moved to the High Dependency Unit (HDU) or the Intensive Care Unit (ICU). When it involves our loved ones, we tend to magnify things sometimes. We've encountered too many relatives who stormed up to our counter and started shouting and screaming bloody murder when their loved ones aren't really THAT ill to warrant that kind of medical attention. It's hard to think logically when you are extremely worried over someone whom you love a lot.
In Singapore, you get one Registered Nurse to every six or seven patients in the General Ward. (The ratio is worse in the 'C' class wards). That means that if you have ONE very ill patient, you are knackered, your shift will be completely screwed. I have had shifts before, both here and back in SG, where my entire attention was focused on that ONE extremely sick patient, and inadvertently, the rest of my allocated patients didn't get much attention from me. Everyone expects immaculate service, but the system is built such that it simply isn't possible. In acute hospitals, the sicker the person, the more attention he/she gets. However, if they are very ill, but not ill enough to get into the HDU / ICU, they might not get full attention because the nurse would still have to attend to the other patients' wound dressings, medication, IV Medication, doctors' rounds, assist in procedures, liaise with the allied health team to arrange for X-rays, scans, tests, physio, etc.
On top of that, you get patients demanding a lot from you, and then there are the relatives who come in and find fault with everything and act as if you are their mom / dad's personal nurse. Do you know that Singaporeans are so quick to complain, it can be quite shocking? There have been people who say that since they are paying to be in hospital, press the buzzer for the nurses to come and then order the nurses to pour water for their mom / dad when the jug and cup is right by the bedside! Or I will always remember wives who press the buzzer for you to wipe the spittle off their husband's mouth and chin, comb their hair, etc. Tell me, do you think being a nurse means that even if you can go to the toilet and wipe your own arse, I have to do it for you just because you're in hospital and you suddenly do not feel like doing it for yourself? Don't be surprised, but there ARE such people around. We know because when they have to wait to be fed or attended to, they get impatient and do it themselves anyways. It's not that they can't do it, sometimes, they refuse to do it.
I meet more and more Singaporean nurses coming over to Australia. It's no longer just the nurses who do it, even the Nursing Officers and Nurse Managers (ie. the Sisters) migrate too! Very soon, if the abuse continues, the healthcare system will crumble.
Rhonda, could u kindly post this over at that thread as well ? I think both sides views need to be aired.
7-8 patients per nurse is....rOar ![]()
and uh yeah, I know abt the quick to complain sporeans. I happen to be in service/retail line... so..
-chuffs-
Originally posted by fudgester:*me mysteriously appears in a puff of smoke*
I saw quite a few interesting cases when I was doing duty at the SAF Psychiatric Medicine Inpatient Center (PMIC) at Alexandra Hospital.
I can tell loads of stories.... like the time when one Malay guy asked a bomoh to put a curse on his poly lecturer because he didn't like him (no kidding). Then when he was in BMT, he kept ruminating over it, regretted what he did and had a total mental breakdown.... at which point he was referred to the PMIC.
Unfortunately, I encountered quite a few chao keng cases as well who eventually admitted that they were faking their symptoms.
so did anything happen to the lecturer ? ..... if nothing happened, then no harm done, neh ? ... ![]()
Originally posted by Ferret:Rhonda, could u kindly post this over at that thread as well ? I think both sides views need to be aired.
7-8 patients per nurse is....rOar
and uh yeah, I know abt the quick to complain sporeans. I happen to be in service/retail line... so..
-chuffs-
remember when we went for the blood donation ? .... most of the nurse were from Myammar ....
Originally posted by Fatum:remember when we went for the blood donation ? .... most of the nurse were from Myammar ....
yeah. they were really nice ![]()
finished work liao...
tata...logging off now..![]()
while we were there, there's this middle aged woman complaining loudly cos one of the nurses caused her a bit of pain or something ....
she went on and on .... "I came here on a saturday to donate blood, I expect better .... blah blah blah blah blah ..... " ...
Originally posted by Fatum:so did anything happen to the lecturer ? ..... if nothing happened, then no harm done, neh ? ...
Not that I know of.... but I certainly doubt anything happened to the lecturer.
The damage is confined to the fella who called on the bomoh. It's one thing to go to the bomoh for medical help, but to ask him to place a curse on his lecturer.... ?
Either his mental breakdown was very real, or he was really good at faking it. I remember having to stay up the whole night just to make sure that he didn't do anything funny, because he stayed up the whole time staring into blank space.
And the senior medic explained to me that a few days before, he wandered off in the middle of the night until he was found by security.
I feel he needs more than just psychiatric medicine.... his cure would have to be a spiritual one as well.
Originally posted by Fatum:while we were there, there's this middle aged woman complaining loudly cos one of the nurses caused her a bit of pain or something ....
she went on and on .... "I came here on a saturday to donate blood, I expect better .... blah blah blah blah blah ..... " ...
was there?
I din hear?
Originally posted by Fatum:remember when we went for the blood donation ? .... most of the nurse were from Myammar ....
And you WILL continue to see more and more foreign nurses in Singapore. These days, there are numerous cases of young Singaporeans who enrol in nursing school, and immediately upon graduation, they travel to Australia to study an extra year to get their degree, and then start work here. Most of them had an inkling of how nursing in Singapore would be like as student nurses and they'd rather die than be subjected to that sort of working condition. It is really bad if even Nursing Officers turn up in droves here, uprooting their entire families in the process.
If I had a daughter, I would refuse to let her be a nurse in Singapore too. There's no need to study so hard only to be screamed at by doctors, nursing officers who act like Empress Dowagers, senior colleagues, and then, patients and their relatives. Plus there are the less glamourous aspects of the job like dealing with human wastes from all orifices. On top of that, Nurses are paid pitifully in Singapore! There will come a point when you'll start asking, what's the point in all the struggling if at the end of the day, all you afford is to pay your bills, and that's about it?
Filipino and PRC nurses are no longer keen on Singapore, unless they really have no other choice. Singapore doesn't treat the foreign nurses equitably at all, and people aren't stupid - they return home for visits, they discourage their friends from coming here, and Singapore soon has to look elsewhere for nurses. The reason why we are able to recruit foreign nurses from other Asian countries is simply because these nurses can't apply to go to Australia / the UK / the US, so they gain work experience in Singapore first, which makes their process much easier. Or, they come because of the favourable currency exchange rates and the working conditions back home are even worse.
Now, there are nurses recruited from India and Nepal and Myanmar... where else can we scout for them?
Originally posted by Ferret:Rhonda, could u kindly post this over at that thread as well ? I think both sides views need to be aired.
7-8 patients per nurse is....rOar
-chuffs-
Ferret, I shan't post there, because I have encountered too many people like the thread starter who will refuse to listen to any and all explanations, insist that they are right, and will be relentless in their complaints. Seriously, what he/she really needs is to employ private nurses for his/her mother so that they will be watched 24/7. I don't think he/she will take kindly to that suggestion!
Afterall, they are paying the bill, so they must be right mah!
It's not my war to fight. I abandoned ship, remember? ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:while we were there, there's this middle aged woman complaining loudly cos one of the nurses caused her a bit of pain or something ....
She wants people to tell her how admirable she is to brave all that pain and inconvenience just to give blood mah! ![]()
Seriously, how do you train doctors and nurses? We don't graduate being proficient in drawing blood, etc without 'practising' on real patients.
If everyone insists on being taken care of only by experienced nurses, then when these experienced ones grow old and retire, die liao...no one else in the younger generations will be equipped with the skills ... then how? ![]()
I like to crack a joke here - that we should employ the drug addicts as Phlebotomists! Since they are so proficient at inserting needles into their own veins, I'm sure they can easily draw blood for other people! ![]()
back.. it seems like the boss likes to drone at people..
since the other guy is doing his ICT, i kena all the droning at..
my brain is now mush..![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:Not that I know of.... but I certainly doubt anything happened to the lecturer.
The damage is confined to the fella who called on the bomoh. It's one thing to go to the bomoh for medical help, but to ask him to place a curse on his lecturer.... ?
Either his mental breakdown was very real, or he was really good at faking it. I remember having to stay up the whole night just to make sure that he didn't do anything funny, because he stayed up the whole time staring into blank space.
And the senior medic explained to me that a few days before, he wandered off in the middle of the night until he was found by security.
I feel he needs more than just psychiatric medicine.... his cure would have to be a spiritual one as well.
when you play with such things, there is always a price to pay ... cos you're messing around with the dark side ....
and the price is invariably higher than one can afford ....
Originally posted by bluejuice:was there?
I din hear?
over at my side ...
my card says 12 April, we can go again..
so.. 12 April we go again? ![]()
or you guys want to donate platelets.. or your spleen.. or anything like that? ![]()
April? I can't donate blood, BUT, I can... ... ... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:when you play with such things, there is always a price to pay ... cos you're messing around with the dark side ....
and the price is invariably higher than one can afford ....
Aye..... I hear ya.... some things just aren't meant to be meddled with.
I just wonder what drove the fella to do what he did....
Originally posted by the Bear:my card says 12 April, we can go again..
so.. 12 April we go again?
or you guys want to donate platelets.. or your spleen.. or anything like that?
what's platelets?
means they draw more blood or what?