I dun think so but because it is a really good money spinner lor
so that's how $100m profit comes from
not to say, I've heard NTUC gets a lot of part time staff
I saw this in another forum I frequent
http://www.asiaone.com/News/Educatio...320-55416.html
'Weak' poly student snubbed at NUS open house
I AM writing about my experience at the NUS open house last Saturday. I was initially excited but the pleasant experience was dashed by the attitude of a lecturer/professor from the Life Science Department. I waited a while for a lecturer to be free as all were engaged in conversation with fellow prospective students, and when this lecturer was free, I proceeded to ask her a few questions.
When I identified myself as a poly student, her attitude changed. I enquired about the school's requirements for the admission of a poly student, and her reply was that the school only accepts 'the best of the best' and that poly students were 'the weaker ones'. What upset me was that she said all this in a deprecating tone. I continued my enquiries with a smile. She then told me: 'We take in about 50 students, with more than 200-300 students applying. We only take in the best students, including international students and you would have to compete with all these students applying. It does not matter whether you are a Singaporean or not."
I am not a poly student with an unrealistic dream. I do not expect that being a Singaporean can get me into NUS more easily then overseas students. So what did she mean by her statement? I understand I have to compete not only with my fellow countrymen, but also international students. It is sad that people in the teaching profession still has the mindset that poly students are 'the weaker ones'.
Ong Ruo Yan (Ms)
And someone replied this to that post ![]()
a friend of my friend's, a poly grad, got called up for interview at the Life Science School. She waited hours for the interview and when she finally get to meet the interviewers guess what they said?
"we just wanted to see how a 2.7(GPA) student look like"
Originally posted by sbst275:
so that's how $100m profit comes fromnot to say, I've heard NTUC gets a lot of part time staff
Sibei good money ok
And if they open new outlet they will hassle $$ from all suppliers too
you go see NUS's reply on Friday
seriously, I dunno... tat time one poly grad alrdy made them malu to do her medicine directly in UK cos NUS said she's a poly student
Year later, admitted 2 of her juniors... say cos 'we've been looking at it for a few years alrdy'
for DCX..
these are the "elites" in Singapore now...
think about it ![]()
Sibei good money okAnd if they open new outlet they will hassle $$ from all suppliers too
yeah lor..
and yet esp NTUC's merchandise they sell still so ex... lagi more profit
yeah lor..and yet esp NTUC's merchandise they sell still so ex... lagi more profit
Hohoho
For me if not coz I'm so damn lazy I wouldn't go to NTUC
But coz NTUC is walking distance from my place
HohohoFor me if not coz I'm so damn lazy I wouldn't go to NTUC
But coz NTUC is walking distance from my place
end up it explains why NTUC dun have good vartiety of merchandise
Why do you think I'm no longer proud of being an NUS student?
They complain of lack of funds..... and splurge it on plasma TVs and sensor-activated washbasins.
They complain that their alumni doesn't contribute back to them..... and they still dare to increase their current students' tuition fees for several years in a row without prior consultation with the students' union.
They claim of being fair and equitable.... and yet they have such a snobbish and high-minded attitude towards poly students.
Gimme my B.Eng, and I'm outta here.
fatum has a groupie in SC... ![]()
thing is, with that, fatum's credibility just took a nosedive into the negative zone ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:Why do you think I'm no longer proud of being an NUS student?
They complain of lack of funds..... and splurge it on plasma TVs and sensor-activated washbasins.
They complain that their alumni doesn't contribute back to them..... and they still dare to increase their current students' tuition fees for several years in a row without prior consultation with the students' union.
They claim of being fair and equitable.... and yet they have such a snobbish and high-minded attitude towards poly students.
Gimme my B.Eng, and I'm outta here.
but time and time, some poly students has proved them wrong in their overseas uni education
anyway, talking abt it... ytd's PAP Times reported tat most students still prefer NUS cos of prestige... man, I think for Biz SMU is better liao... others I can't really say much
nah ... those are not my groupies ... they are PRC's groupies ....
my friend's tibetan acquaintance has dropped out of sight since last wed .... i hope it's just the internet being banned in lhasa ....
dunno la... Just when will they stop talking 'best of the best' in NUS
Anyway I'm wondering abt the inflation thread
Originally posted by sbst275:dunno la... Just when will they stop talking 'best of the best' in NUS
Anyway I'm wondering abt the inflation thread
How come they can say no subsidies will lead to lower prices
The reason why farmers get subsidies is because they are not competitive
If you take away the subsidies, prices will sky rocket
I tell u hor
Next problem we will see is Singaporeans KBKP about the IR hiring FTs instead of locals.
I just heard yesterday that they have a quota for # of Singaporeans to hire but so far they only managed to get a handful of Singaporeans to fill in the jobs and I heard the IRs are giving our dear minister pressure for workers to train before the IR opens
if i practise and get my card tricks working again, i'll be banned from the IRs ![]()
in other news, because the gabrament says that frozen food is a good alternative to "fresh meat" lots of people don't believe..
uhh.. i prefer the frozen ducks which pinkybear got for me better than any of the ducks i get "fresh"
i don't mind frozen meats.. if the butcher knows how to freeze and treat the cuts and carcasses... there is a science in it.. but i wager those idiots who rant a lot, don't even know that.. they think it's all about killing the animal and then chucking the carcass into the freezer ![]()
How come they can say no subsidies will lead to lower pricesThe reason why farmers get subsidies is because they are not competitive
If you take away the subsidies, prices will sky rocket
they say they know their econs... but I got a feeling now they're just kids
Originally posted by elindra:I tell u hor
Next problem we will see is Singaporeans KBKP about the IR hiring FTs instead of locals.
I just heard yesterday that they have a quota for # of Singaporeans to hire but so far they only managed to get a handful of Singaporeans to fill in the jobs and I heard the IRs are giving our dear minister pressure for workers to train before the IR opens
yeah lor... reminds me of bus driver thread...
I think when I stated later on, dun wanna work shift dun kpkb... dun come and kpkb abt inefficiency when your refuse to move in on the bus and delay everyone's time
one of these days must go get the duck pinky bear said the other day
Originally posted by the Bear:if i practise and get my card tricks working again, i'll be banned from the IRs
in other news, because the gabrament says that frozen food is a good alternative to "fresh meat" lots of people don't believe..
uhh.. i prefer the frozen ducks which pinkybear got for me better than any of the ducks i get "fresh"
i don't mind frozen meats.. if the butcher knows how to freeze and treat the cuts and carcasses... there is a science in it.. but i wager those idiots who rant a lot, don't even know that.. they think it's all about killing the animal and then chucking the carcass into the freezer
Thing is most probably they just defrost the meat by dunking it in water
Of course you lose flavour this way
And the way frozen food is handled is definately better than chilled products
And no one could tell we used a frozen duck for our CNY reunion dinner and all said the duck quality was very good. LOL
Originally posted by elindra:Thing is most probably they just defrost the meat by dunking it in water
And no one could tell we used a frozen duck for our CNY reunion dinner and all said the duck quality was very good. LOL
in the age of instant gratification, what's the bet that they threw the thing into the microwave and set it to "thaw" ![]()
the duck which i make is thawed out over a few days in the fridge until it's pretty much soft...
Originally posted by elindra:Thing is most probably they just defrost the meat by dunking it in water
one of these days must really go learn... too used to using chilled products
Originally posted by the Bear:in the age of instant gratification, what's the bet that they threw the thing into the microwave and set it to "thaw"
the duck which i make is thawed out over a few days in the fridge until it's pretty much soft...
I bet they just dumped it into the microwave or just soaked the thing in water. Haha
I thawed my duck over a few days in the fridge as well. It taste better than chilled too.
I think AVA should educate these people how to thaw frozen food as well instead of just saying frozen food is just as good. LOL
one of these days must really go learn... too used to using chilled products
I've been buying frozen products over chilled for a long time liao la
I didn't see the need to pay so much more for chilled before the PAP started promoting
anyway me just only replying in tat inflation thread no use
tat place is alrdy filled w/ ppl who dun even know wat's going on... say things like why at Malaysia so cheap... yeah subsidy but it's costing taxpayers money... dun forget tax rate in Malaysia is fantastic, 28% for corp tax