that's to show people that the forums are being monitored mah .... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:that's to show people that the forums are being monitored mah ....
but it's all the articles are like tat poor poly kid tat one
Morning folks
Put it this way...I don't even think I can pass primary school math
Originally posted by elindra:Morning folks
You mean today or back then?
Biangz... I never knew what the hell Maths was about!
From Day 1, when the teacher walked into class and scribbled numbers on the board, I was stuck wondering, "WHY are we learning all these weird things?" ![]()
As it turned out, I always ranked first in class for Maths... from the bottom.
Originally posted by sbst275:
You mean today or back then?
I couldn't even pass primary school math back then and you expect me to pass primary school math now? ![]()
I got a F for my PSLE Math ok. But for Sec school I got B3
primary school math is a different ball game altogether ....
there are a few killer questions designed to identify the few bright sparks and make everyone else cry ....
I feel bad for the small kids these days ...
there is a big part of primary school math which no one can do... the MOE is just grasping at straws attempting to find the next Carl Gauss or Leonhard Euler...
and in their attempt, they are stressing out and driving to distraction a whole generation of school children and their kiasu kiasi parents as about 15% of their homework cannot be done...
but it's all the articles are like tat poor poly kid tat one
wat poor poly kid ? .....
I couldn't even pass primary school math back then and you expect me to pass primary school math now?I got a F for my PSLE Math ok. But for Sec school I got B3
pri sch maths is kinda diff tat one i can admit
Originally posted by Fatum:wat poor poly kid ? .....
tat one lor... abt eating $1 meal in skool tat one lor
morning everybody.No sound no picture from LF. wonder how she's doing.
Originally posted by Fatum:primary school math is a different ball game altogether ....
there are a few killer questions designed to identify the few bright sparks and make everyone else cry ....
I feel bad for the small kids these days ...
The problem with me was that I'm lazy and careless
My teacher spoke to my mum before that she finds it amazing that I can get questions that no one else in the class gets right but the easy ones I get it wrong ![]()
She said the problem with me is that because I think it's easy I skip so many steps and make a mistake somewhere along the line or I make a calculation error by being careless, whereas if it is difficult I slow down so I get it right.
My uncle who tutored me said the same and I got a hard knock on my head everytime I skipped steps :( Once I got so many knocks I actually got a bump on my head
I couldn't even pass primary school math back then and you expect me to pass primary school math now?I got a F for my PSLE Math ok. But for Sec school I got B3
I think I scored 19/100 for my Sec 4 Prelim exams, which alarmed my maths teacher, who promptly called me in and told me I had to attend remedial lessons, and I remember going home bawling my eyes out because I'm one of those who just cannot, for the life of me, ever understand what the hell Maths is all about! ![]()
Originally posted by SevenEleven:morning everybody.No sound no picture from LF. wonder how she's doing.
still stuck outside of Tibet I suppose ....
but if she's actually inside .. no surprise ... all outside comms links are currently cut off ....
Originally posted by the Bear:
there is a big part of primary school math which no one can do... the MOE is just grasping at straws attempting to find the next Carl Gauss or Leonhard Euler...and in their attempt, they are stressing out and driving to distraction a whole generation of school children and their kiasu kiasi parents as about 15% of their homework cannot be done...
Refer to the discussion in the past few pages.... I gave an example of the kind of nonsense that A Maths students have to do these days. Basket.... I learnt the Cartesian equations of circles only in JC2!
In all honesty, our education system has gone down the drain ever since Tharman took the helm. I'm glad that I was in one of the last few batches before all this nonsense came into being.
And I'm seriously, seriously glad that he'll no longer be the education minister.
The problem with me was that I'm lazy and carelessMy teacher spoke to my mum before that she finds it amazing that I can get questions that no one else in the class gets right but the easy ones I get it wrong
She said the problem with me is that because I think it's easy I skip so many steps and make a mistake somewhere along the line or I make a calculation error by being careless, whereas if it is difficult I slow down so I get it right.
My uncle who tutored me said the same and I got as hard knock on my head everytime I skipped steps :( Once I got so many knocks I actually got a bump on my head
skip steps can really cost your mark one de la unless, unless you are very confident it's right
tat one lor... abt eating $1 meal in skool tat one lor
Erm... which one??
Originally posted by Rhonda:I think I scored 19/100 for my Sec 4 Prelim exams, which alarmed my maths teacher, who promptly called me in and told me I had to attend remedial lessons, and I remember going home bawling my eyes out because I'm one of those who just cannot, for the life of me, ever understand what the hell Maths is all about!
Ok I'm not that bad >.<"
The worst thing was that the F spoilt my otherwise beautiful PSLE report card which was nothing below A except for Math ![]()
And I think it was a borderline fail and my other results were good that was why I still got into Express Stream.
thing about math is that everyone can do it..
i'm not kidding...
i've never seen people spend so much time and energy trying to convince others that they cannot do the math..
Originally posted by sbst275:skip steps can really cost your mark one de la unless, unless you are very confident it's right
Err when I was young I was over confident to the pt of almost being cocky :P
I don't think any of you will like me very much back then. Haha
Originally posted by Rhonda:Erm... which one??
some time back liao... somemore it ends up in Club 30
Think complaining abt being poor, eat $1 food while classmates eating Japanese food sort of tat
Originally posted by fudgester:Refer to the discussion in the past few pages.... I gave an example of the kind of nonsense that A Maths students have to do these days. Basket.... I learnt the Cartesian equations of circles only in JC2!
In all honesty, our education system has gone down the drain ever since Tharman took the helm. I'm glad that I was in one of the last few batches before all this nonsense came into being.
And I'm seriously, seriously glad that he'll no longer be the education minister.
oh but he's gone up in the world .... he's now finance minister ! ... ![]()
me suspects he's being groomed for even bigger things .... if he moves onto defence next, then you know he's being groomed as a potential future PM ....
Originally posted by fudgester:Refer to the discussion in the past few pages.... I gave an example of the kind of nonsense that A Maths students have to do these days. Basket.... I learnt the Cartesian equations of circles only in JC2!
ever see Pr.3 math where the closest analogy to a "problem" my neighbours asked me to help their son with.. was... engineering Dynamics
i'm not kidding...
and even that, i'm not very sure could solve it as there were many other constraints which will not be found in Dynamics..
mind you.. this is Primary 3
Originally posted by the Bear:
ever see Pr.3 math where the closest analogy to a "problem" my neighbours asked me to help their son with.. was... engineering Dynamicsi'm not kidding...
and even that, i'm not very sure could solve it as there were many other constraints which will not be found in Dynamics..
mind you.. this is Primary 3
omg! *gets worried