Actually, now that I'm grown up, sometimes, out of the blue, I'd tell either mom or grandma, "Did you remember that incident when I (insert account of incident) and you (insert punishement meted out)?" and often, they look shocked that : 1) I can remember what happened when I was THAT young; 2) they actually punished me the way they did; and 3) they might have traumatised me THAT much as to let me recall the incidents crystal clear. ![]()
My brother, on the other hand, doesn't recall a thing. I think he deals with it by forgetting.
Thing is, pray you never have a sensitive kids, cause sensitive kids are much harder to bring up than the 'normal' ones. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:
She is very obedient!
Yalor. Turns out a fire that could have been put out or at least contained early on by the neighbours grew too big to control and burnt the house down, because the neighbours couldn't get into the house, cos the main door was locked LOL
Originally posted by elindra:*coughs*
I got smacked by the cane lots when I misbehaved
But that didn't stop me from misbehaving
And the worse thing is I'm always the mastermind for all the monkey tricks
And to make matters worse, MPB is also always the mastermind for all the monkey tricks.
I think it's a Leo thing
Biangz... you both thick-skinned or what?
Die liao... both got this type of genes, your kids will surely be even more 'skilled' than you two combined when it comes to misbehaving and hatching all manner of plots.
I shan't volunteer to babysit your kids! ![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
Daddy : when people give u things, must say "thank you"Daughter: yes daddy, i said liao
Daddy : so what did your schoolmate gave u this morning.
Daughter: A big slap on my face, and I said "thank you"..
Originally posted by Rhonda:Biangz... you both thick-skinned or what?
Die liao... both got this type of genes, your kids will surely be even more 'skilled' than you two combined when it comes to misbehaving and hatching all manner of plots.
I shan't volunteer to babysit your kids!
-_-"
I told MPB that I already have 1 big kid at home driving me up the wall everyday liao
I don't need a smaller one to do so.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, now that I'm grown up, sometimes, out of the blue, I'd tell either mom or grandma, "Did you remember that incident when I (insert account of incident) and you (insert punishement meted out)?" and often, they look shocked that : 1) I can remember what happened when I was THAT young; 2) they actually punished me the way they did; and 3) they might have traumatised me THAT much as to let me recall the incidents crystal clear.
My brother, on the other hand, doesn't recall a thing. I think he deals with it by forgetting.
Thing is, pray you never have a sensitive kids, cause sensitive kids are much harder to bring up than the 'normal' ones.
I am surprised at how much children remember too.
I was quite the nazi-big sister back then. Now my siblings, sister especially, tell me how traumatized she was when under my care. She can recall me dishing out punishment and being a stern teacher etc and says that I've scarred her for life :P
Sounds almost like borderline abuse although I maintain till now it's just tough love LOL I can't recall all of the incidents she mention & am genuinely surprised that she remembers them to such detail. I go "Oh did I do that?? " Which proves that sometimes, adults don't realise the kind of effect they have over children (overly-sensitive or not is another matter).
-_-"I told MPB that I already have 1 big kid at home driving me up the wall everyday liao
I don't need a smaller one to do so.
no no .... you missed the point pinky .....
the whole idea is to offset the big kid with the smaller one .... ![]()
if that won't do the job .... pop out small pinky 2.0 ........ small pinky 3.0 etc etc ...... ![]()
Imagine, after you have a baby, 24/7, it will be all about the baby.
When baby becomes a tot, you can't let the kiddo out of your sight. Just one minute out of sight, and the whole house can get burnt down!
And then when they attend Primary School, after you return home from work, you can't watch TV and relax after dinner, because you have to help them with their schoolwork and make sure they get good grades.
And all the time you have to work hard and save hard because University fees aren't going to get cheaper.
When they start dating and hanging out late with their buddies, you pray that they are out with 'good' kids and not getting drunk, getting knocked up, and worse, getting into drugs!
You also hope that if they won't liquidate the family wealth if they have a Supp card. If they drive, you hope they will never get into any accident.
When they graduate, you have to help them out as they start out and hope they will be successful in their career. Time and again, you will need to bail them out financially. When they get married, you will DEFINITELY need to pay through your nose to contribute to their wedding celebrations because as the years go by, it will definitely get costlier and costlier. You might also need to use a good portion of your CPF money to help them get their new house and give them a headstart. If you like your son/daughter-in-law, fine. Otherwise... ![]()
And all that, because of the biological urge to start a family.
Methinks, me prefers a simpler, quieter, less complicated life! ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:no no .... you missed the point pinky .....
the whole idea is to offset the big kid with the smaller one ....
if that won't do the job .... pop out small pinky 2.0 ........ small pinky 3.0 etc etc ......
This is like making the problem worse, not to mention additional problems with additional cubs
if that won't do the job .... pop out small pinky 2.0 ........ small pinky 3.0 etc etc ......
Free ah? Nappies, baby milk, baby clothes, toys, etc etc all free ah? ![]()
At least in Singapore, taxpayers don't have to fork out hard-earned money to support single moms or provide allowances to stay-at-home moms who might not be doing a good job in the first place, but rather, just contributing to the no. of rascals in the population. Be glad Singapore is not a welfare state.
Hehhehe that's the rationale of big families..., #1 looks after #2, #2 looks after #3... etc... which leaves mom & dad free, as long as they can close one eye & don't demand perfection lah!
Originally posted by Rhonda:Imagine, after you have a baby, 24/7, it will be all about the baby.
When baby becomes a tot, you can't let the kiddo out of your sight. Just one minute out of sight, and the whole house can get burnt down!
And then when they attend Primary School, after you return home from work, you can't watch TV and relax after dinner, because you have to help them with their schoolwork and make sure they get good grades.
And all the time you have to work hard and save hard because University fees aren't going to get cheaper.
When they start dating and hanging out late with their buddies, you pray that they are out with 'good' kids and not getting drunk, getting knocked up, and worse, getting into drugs!
You also hope that if they won't liquidate the family wealth if they have a Supp card. If they drive, you hope they will never get into any accident.
When they graduate, you have to help them out as they start out and hope they will be successful in their career. Time and again, you will need to bail them out financially. When they get married, you will DEFINITELY need to pay through your nose to contribute to their wedding celebrations because as the years go by, it will definitely get costlier and costlier. You might also need to use a good portion of your CPF money to help them get their new house and give them a headstart. If you like your son/daughter-in-law, fine. Otherwise...
Methinks, me prefers a simpler, quieter, less complicated life!
does it...have...to..be...so detailed....
Originally posted by choco B:
Hehhehe that's the rationale of big families..., #1 looks after #2, #2 looks after #3... etc... which leaves mom & dad free, as long as they can close one eye & don't demand perfection lah!
so you can't stop at one huh .... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:so you can't stop at one huh ....
We probably will. Bo lui leh ^^$$^^ Went shopping for baby last and this month and am dreading the incoming credit card bills *sweat*
Originally posted by Rhonda:Imagine, after you have a baby, 24/7, it will be all about the baby.
When they graduate, you have to help them out as they start out and hope they will be successful in their career. Time and again, you will need to bail them out financially. When they get married, you will DEFINITELY need to pay through your nose to contribute to their wedding celebrations because as the years go by, it will definitely get costlier and costlier. You might also need to use a good portion of your CPF money to help them get their new house and give them a headstart. If you like your son/daughter-in-law, fine. Otherwise...
Methinks, me prefers a simpler, quieter, less complicated life!
erm.... making me scared to get married..
I am surprised at how much children remember too.
I was quite the nazi-big sister back then. Now my siblings, sister especially, tell me how traumatized she was when under my care. She can recall me dishing out punishment and being a stern teacher etc and says that I've scarred her for life :P
Sounds almost like borderline abuse although I maintain till now it's just tough love LOL I can't recall all of the incidents she mention. Which proves that ometimes, adults don't realise the kind of effect they have over children (overly-sensitive or not is another matter).
When mom and I had one of our heart-to-heart talks a few years ago, she told me that I was a very happy and darling toddler that was very popular with the neighbours and relatives, until my younger bro popped out. After that, I became an absolute terror, either endlessly seeking attention, or withdrawing into some corner away from everyone who's inevitably doting on the new baby.
I was a Mr Jekyll and Dr Hyde when it came to my bro. I had my Nazi-Sister from Hell moments where pure jealousy turned into rage and yeah... borderline abuse.
There were also moments where I loved my bro to death and wanted to protect him and watch over him.
Yeah, my mom didn't realise the impact of her actions on me. She was stunned beyond words.
I remember very vividly one night, sitting at the kitchen table slaving over my Primary 2 English workbook, asking my mom, "Mom, how do you spell 'Giraffe'?"
Mom, after a hard day at work, muttered, "G-i-r-a-f-f-e!" impatiently and too quickly. I asked her again, she got more impatient. I held my pencil, stared at the red rubber tip, still didn't catch, gulped and decided to ask her a 3rd time... SLAP!!! ![]()
I still remember how that stung! The heat rushed to my cheek, and the hot tears gushed out but I just quietly sobbed, pencil still being held upright. She told me I was 'so stupid, 'Giraffe' also don't know how to spell', 'jiak liao bi', etc etc.
Primary 2... just eight years old, but till today, I remember.
I asked her, "Did you remember hitting me over the word, 'Giraffe'?" and she went, "HUH?!" ![]()
To her, it was just an outburst because she was tired that night so her temper was short. To me, it was nothing short of traumatic.
But hor MPB is the one with the biological urge not me :(
For me I'm too self-centered to want to have kids
My 'ME' time is something extremely important and I turn nasty if I don't get enough 'ME' time
Right now it's perfect bliss. My 'children' are my pets. They don't argue and all they do is depend on me and eat and sleep
Originally posted by bluejuice:erm.... making me scared to get married..
Eh... speaking of getting married, since coming over, I've met quite a few Aussie women who told me about their husbands leaving them after a long marriage to go after some chick half his age. The men just decided to walk out on their families.
Makes me want to stay single and just keep lovers. ![]()
We probably will. Bo lui leh ^^$$^^ Went shopping for baby last and this month and am dreading the incoming credit card bills *sweat*
many of these are one time costs ... then the big one hands down stuff to the smaller ones ....
MOE is quite thoughtful in this regard ... the text books get a make over once every 20 years or so ...
Originally posted by Ferret:does it...have...to..be...so detailed....
These are things you have to think about BEFORE you do it and it's too late to reverse. Unfortunately, too many people think about things like that only way after the deed is done and there's no other way but forward. Hence, a lot of botched-up cases. ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:many of these are one time costs ... then the big one hands down stuff to the smaller ones ....
MOE is quite thoughtful in this regard ... the text books get a make over once every 20 years or so ...
Fatum, I hate to bring you down to reality, but the truth is, kids these days will not willingly want to get hand-me-downs. Welcome to the new Millenium!! ![]()
I can't remember anything tramatic from my parents
Maybe I just didn't care and did things my way
But I was jealous of my brother too and was awful to him as well though I protected him as well. LOL
Originally posted by elindra:But hor MPB is the one with the biological urge not me :(
For me I'm too self-centered to want to have kids
My 'ME' time is something extremely important and I turn nasty if I don't get enough 'ME' time
Right now it's perfect bliss. My 'children' are my pets. They don't argue and all they do is depend on me and eat and sleep
Hey, we're like sisters!
I have a huge need for alone time and my own space, and I get extremely cranky and pitbull-like if I don't get my solitude! ![]()
And the thing was the last time my mum quit her job to stay at home to look after us
I don't think we have the luxury really.
Though Chris is drawing income levels close to what my dad was drawing in the past but the amt of $$ then and the same amt of $$ now buys different things :X
Originally posted by elindra:I can't remember anything tramatic from my parents
Maybe I just didn't care and did things my way
But I was jealous of my brother too and was awful to him as well though I protected him as well. LOL
I was the middle kid..
and i hated it..
i don't get as much attention as my brother who's older than me.. and everyone dotes on my little sis, who's the baby of the house..
but i don't bully my little sis.. love her too much to bully her..