Fatum, recently, I sat down to keep a poor lonely old patient company and he started telling me about his pets. He said all his life, he's owned dogs and cats. He's had them since he was a young boy. And you know what, he said that the dogs and cats make good companions but the cats are definitely smarter.
He remembers a few of his dogs being smart, some were loyal but blissfully dumb, but ALL the cats were intelligent.
This coming from a lover and owner of cats and dogs. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Hey, we're like sisters!
I have a huge need for alone time and my own space, and I get extremely cranky and pitbull-like if I don't get my solitude!
How to have solitude with a young one?
I told Chris if we ever have a cub as a compromise, he's going to be in-charge of cleaning up the poop >.<"
-_-"I told MPB that I already have 1 big kid at home driving me up the wall everyday liao
I don't need a smaller one to do so.
alamak, have a few smaller to overtake your big kid at home lor...
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
alamak, have a few smaller to overtake your big kid at home lor...
I told Fatum this too
Creating a problem to solve your initial problem is not going to work
It only gives you bigger problems
Originally posted by elindra:I can't remember anything tramatic from my parents
Maybe I just didn't care and did things my way
But I was jealous of my brother too and was awful to him as well though I protected him as well. LOL
I only started loving my bro when I was in Secondary 1. It was cause one night, I had a nightmare that he had died and I was crying buckets in my dream but I woke up to find that I had been crying buckets for real because my face was wet with tears, my pillowcase was wet, and my hair was plastered to my face.
After that, I sayang'd my brother. Hehe!
How to have solitude with a young one?I told Chris if we ever have a cub as a compromise, he's going to be in-charge of cleaning up the poop >.<"
Forget it. Most man will say yes, only to slowly find excuses to disappear.
He might do it initially, but the more masculine, ie. the more testosterone in him, the higher the tendency to wander off conveniently when he smells poop! ![]()
The more testosterone-fuelled a man is, the lower his nurturing abilities.
In other words, great sex = maybe not-that-great parenting skills.
Harharharharharhar!!!
elindra, I was going to get you the chiong'd version of Sex and Zen so you and MPB can enjoy it, and then I realised that it doesn't come with English subtitles, only Cantonese language. ![]()
That movie's so hilarious! I never got to watch it till now cause I think it's banned in Singapore. It stars Amy Yip and nudity and various sexual positions and yet, it's soooo darn funny! Who has watched it?
I told Fatum this tooCreating a problem to solve your initial problem is not going to work
It only gives you bigger problems
Fatum is perhaps, having an idealistic view.
Afterall, weren't we all idealistic when we were in our 20's? It's a stage of life we all have to go through. Some things you just cannot defy.
Alright, any minute now, Keii is going to storm in and throw accusations about age biasness. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Fatum, recently, I sat down to keep a poor lonely old patient company and he started telling me about his pets. He said all his life, he's owned dogs and cats. He's had them since he was a young boy. And you know what, he said that the dogs and cats make good companions but the cats are definitely smarter.
He remembers a few of his dogs being smart, some were loyal but blissfully dumb, but ALL the cats were intelligent.
This coming from a lover and owner of cats and dogs.
why would I need intelligence in a pet ? ..... a pet's not like a wife eh .... ![]()
I'd much prefer a loyal, subservient companion who fetches the paper and the slippers and wags it's tail when i pet it and is never a prima donna .....
dogs are grateful pets .....
= ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:why would I need intelligence in a pet ? ..... a pet's not like a wife eh ....
I'd much prefer a loyal, subservient companion who fe
tches the paper and the slippers and wags it's tail when i pet it and is never a prima donna .....
dogs are grateful pets .....
=
So are cats.
For someone who's never even owned a cat before, you're making terribly biased statements. Feral adult cats will be aggressive and sly and will scratch / bite to protect themselves. However, cats reared by humans from when they were kittens can be very sweet and dog-like.
Cody, Suzie, Kitty, Meiji, Marcus and Sophie were extremely loyal and grateful, especially Marcus and Cody. They followed me around the house like they were dogs.
This thing about cats being arrogant, is untrue. It's like saying dogs are stupid, which is untrue except for chihuahua's and small poodles. ![]()
Read this, and use it as ammunition against the SC idiots when they whine about life outside Singapore being 'better' :
February 22, 2008 09:27am
THOUSANDS of people across the country are skipping meals to pay rising rents, a housing affordability conference has been told.
And housing experts warn the home affordability crisis threatens to destabilise the economy and drive the country into recession.
Experts told a housing conference in Sydney yesterday that Australia faced great social unrest and human suffering as well as chronic labour shortages without affordable housing.
Do you skip meals to meet rent or mortgage payments? Tell us about it
Professor Terry Burke of the Australian Housing and Urban Research Unit presented the research, which showed 26 per cent of low-income renters sometimes go without food and 42 per cent of low-income renters cannot afford school excursions, Fairfax reported.
Professor Rachel Gatt, an affordable housing policy expert from Tufts University, Massachusetts, said the housing affordability equation was brutally simple.
"Either wages have to stay high enough so people can afford to buy housing on the private market or if the private market is not able to meet the housing challenge then you need to have government subsidies," she told reporters.
"If you don't have affordable housing, and if your wages don't keep pace with the cost of housing, you are going to find people doubling up with relatives, turning into homeless people and creating a great deal of social unrest and human suffering than what you have now."
Stamp out duties
The federal opposition has called on federal and state governments to cut land tax and stamp duty to help boost rental stock.
Opposition frontbencher Greg Hunt today said this week's national housing conference was an ideal opportunity for federal Housing Minister Tanya Plibersek to address land tax and stamp duty, to lessen the burden and help increase the stock of homes available for rent.
"These are killers for people and what they do is decrease the rental stock," Mr Hunt, opposition spokesman for Climate Change, Environment and Urban Water, told the Seven Network.
"A lot of people have said we're not willing to pay the cost of holding a rental property if we're whacked with a huge land tax or we have to deal with stamp duty and today is the day, Tanya, stamp duty, land tax and more land releases - you have a great opportunity."
First time help
Ms Plibersek said a lot of people had taken money out of investment property and put it into superannuation when favourable tax treatment was introduced last year under the previous government.
She said the Rudd government had committed to introducing the first home saver account to help people into their first house.
"We know that as a proportion of all home buyers, first home buyers have shrunk as a proportion, so we want to help them save through a superannuation-style savings account," Ms Plibersek told the Seven Network.
"We've also got a national rental affordability scheme, 50,000 new rental properties, because there is a terrible shortage all around the country."
Labor says the Howard government failed to acknowledge the rental crisis, despite knowing more than two years ago that more than one third of renters were suffering from rental stress
Despite this, inflation rates are set to rise yet AGAIN, for the 5th or 6th time in two years!
Mortgage rates will increase as a result, which means, less disposable income for all.
*me mysteriously appears in a puff of smoke*
Just got back from Friday prayers.
Dang.... I have to go back to school tomorrow to meet me prof.... he's too busy for me to meet him today.
==> Missy:
I wouldn't use that article against the SC idiots.....
Else a certain irrational and annoying Australia-bashing noisy lion is gonna use it to further his anti-Oz agenda (which he claims he doesn't have).....
I'm trying to get a bunch of brochures printed ... anyone got good lobang ?
Originally posted by fudgester:==> Missy:
I wouldn't use that article against the SC idiots.....
Else a certain irrational and annoying Australia-bashing noisy lion is gonna use it to further his anti-Oz agenda (which he claims he doesn't have).....
Ah well, I don't even bother going in there, so I don't know any of them.. ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:I'm trying to get a bunch of brochures printed ... anyone got good lobang ?
that time bear passed me a guy's contact...not too bad...
kids rem all sort of things...
just like how my kid bro rem the time i dumped him at the library to freeze to death while i go for a movie... and it has to come out during our drinking sessions >.<
but heng he can't rem tat i dropped him wahaahahahahaha
seriously, kids are irritating... i believe they are the root reason for migraine....
Originally posted by Rhonda:Ah well, I don't even bother going in there, so I don't know any of them..
Basically for the SC ppl, they are so dim that they will even use an article to prove that PRC is more democratic than Singapore
*me mysteriously appears in a puff of smoke*
Woohoo..... after one hour of trying..... I solved one super-siong past exam question!!!
*me does the Robot* ![]()
Originally posted by tare:kids rem all sort of things...
just like how my kid bro rem the time i dumped him at the library to freeze to death while i go for a movie... and it has to come out during our drinking sessions >.<
but heng he can't rem tat i dropped him wahaahahahahaha
seriously, kids are irritating... i believe they are the root reason for migraine....
Not just for migraines, I believe! Hehe!
Sigh... the Greek neighbour and his wife are arguing AGAIN. The woman is too manly in mannerisms and voice.
They're arguing over money that she spent, can almost hear every single word. I felt like yelling "SHUT UP!" out the window!
They had to pollute the peaceful environment with their noise just when I was having my afternoon nap! ![]()
Basically for the SC ppl, they are so dim that they will even use an article to prove that PRC is more democratic than Singapore
In SC, I've been hit pretty badly (and irrationally) by both sides of the coin.
At one end, I've been called a 'textbook idiot' for trying to analyze the effects of the GST hike using Keynesian macroeconomic theory.
At the other end, I've been accused of being anti-Christian..... all because I described a falling tree branch as an 'Act of God'.
Originally posted by fudgester:In SC, I've been hit pretty badly (and irrationally) by both sides of the coin.
At one end, I've been called a 'textbook idiot' for trying to analyze the effects of the GST hike using Keynesian macroeconomic theory.
At the other end, I've been accused of being anti-Christian..... all because I described a falling tree branch as an 'Act of God'.
I don't think they understand the term 'Act of God' ![]()
I don't think they understand the term 'Act of God'
I know I keep bringing it up....
..... but it's still incredibly hilarious when I think about it.
Originally posted by fudgester:I know I keep bringing it up....
..... but it's still incredibly hilarious when I think about it.
Maybe next time use 'Force Majeure' ![]()