Originally posted by Ferret:zora we same same
Originally posted by the Bear:i remember someone blew up the microwave in my hostel
something about a slice of pizza in aluminium foil...
the oven was a charred and melted mess when i saw it
...... my distant cousin ?
could be..
i remember he was from sarawak
Originally posted by zoragirl:
Later mabbe i start a thread on living room....
I haven't really thought of it, but the humongous refrigerator and a teapot will definitely be there.
If you look at the showflats these days, the hoods are really low and the hobs are tiny. How does anybody cook anything other than stews and soups in those kitchens?
How can there be a thread on food / cooking / recipes / kitchen without my participation?
A lot of nice-looking kitchens aren't practical. I dislike open-spaced kitchens, where there's no separation between the living area and the kitchen. No matter how strong the rangehood is, cooking fumes and smells will permeate through the entire area and long after the food has been consumed, the living area will STILL smell.
I was ooh'ing and aah'ing at the self-cleaning oven a while back, when I flipped through either the Gourmet or Bon Appetit mags and saw glossy photo ads on it. And then, I read this :
http://www.ovenu.co.uk/self-cleaning-ovens.cfm?gclid=CLCDieXn0ZICFR-kiQodimY_dQ
which reveals that in reality, the self-cleaning function is not just a huge energy guzzler, it doesn't really do the job well, plus the smoke that is emitted can be harmful to pets who linger near the oven.
You may also read more about how the self-cleaning function works here : http://recipes.howstuffworks.com/question559.htm
So basically, nothing beats the good ol' getting on your knees and cleaning out your oven the good ol' way.
The most important thing for oven owners, is to get to know their oven well enough to be able to guesstimate the amont of time and the settings needed to yield good results every time they use it. The same goes for microwave ovens and cooking ranges. You don't really need top-end devices and instruments to get yummy results because I recall my maternal grandma used to cook absolutely delicious food, cause she had a stern and strict Peranakan grandma-in-law who would lord it over her in the kitchen and back then in her era, it was expected of all wives to be good cooks and domestic goddesses, and so, she had astounding cooking skills.
But you know what, all she had was a tiny cooking area in the old 2-bedroom HDB apartment at Commonwealth, with just one charcoal stove, and one tiny gas stove. And right at the end, a sink. That was it, and yet, you won't believe the absolutely awesome food that comes out from that little kitchen!
I do dream of fanciful pro kitchens, as well as at least one other person to cook for regularly. I also dream of having groups of friends over for dinner where all they have to do is bring themselves and all the makan, etc is provided by me. However, unless I marry a rich man and can therefore be blissfully self-confined to the kitchen and do all the cooking and entertaining I want, my reality is a pretty good kick-ass kitchen by Aussie rental apartment standards, and which also turns out to be the best-equipped kitchen I've ever cooked in, and I'm happy enough dishing out food that I want to eat, getting good results almost all of the time.
LF, let's hang out someday, we go marketing together early in the morning, and then let's cook based on whatever's freshest in the market that morning!
i forgot to add : A GARDEN outside my Kitchen where i can grow my own vege and SPICES..:)
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I haven't really thought of it, but the humongous refrigerator and a teapot will definitely be there.
If you look at the showflats these days, the hoods are really low and the hobs are tiny. How does anybody cook anything other than stews and soups in those kitchens?
KB, I think growing up amongst good Peranakan cooks at home has given you a good eye for what's practical and what's not.
Most of the spanking new kitchens you see in mags these days are good only for cooking instant ramen, TV dinners, salads, and all manner of sandwiches and that's about it. Nothing 'heavy-duty' is to be done there because it's too pretty and most importantly, not practical.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:i forgot to add : A GARDEN outside my Kitchen where i can grow my own vege and SPICES..:)
LF, how good are your cooking skills? What are your specialty dishes? Really curious!
I know here, elindra, littlestream and jetta are all good cooks. Me... I would love to say I'm a good cook although there are some things I'm not even skilled in the basics.
Originally posted by Rhonda:
LF, how good are your cooking skills? What are your specialty dishes? Really curious!
I know here, elindra, littlestream and jetta are all good cooks. Me... I would love to say I'm a good cook although there are some things I'm not even skilled in the basics.
rhonda, i cant cook at all...
so having that kitchen really gets me into cooking... i swear i want to be a housewife (hopefully), after i quit my music job.
here's some pics of what i want for my dream future kitchen..
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Err... I very not utilitarian one... I love country style kitchens
with lots of natural wood, tiling on the walls.. painted plates... bla bla bla
ceiling beams...
My favourite item I have in my current kitchen is this...
heavy recycle pine wood table with slate tiles on top from Spanish Madrid furniture.. but they no more liao :(
Miss Cat same same...I love your pics too..
HOkays NOted
Haha my dream kitchen would be like the one my mum had at our old place where it is semi-open :P
I want a charcoal grill in my kitchen too :P and a giant hot plate as well!
LF, you don't start cooking AFTER you have spent your life savings outfitting a kitchen to pro standard.
You learn to cook in the here and now. All you need is a wok, a saucepan, a stove, and other utensils. You really don't need a kickass kitchen to start with, esp since you haven't even discovered if you can cook, if you can take the heat in the kitchen both literally and figuratively, and if you even like to cook in the first place. Don't buy a $2,000 food processor if you're only going to use it twice in a year because if that's going to be the case, you'll do just as well with an $80 model.
How come do things in reverse one?
OK, elindra is going to kill me, but I can't help wondering how many times she has used her posh Kitchen Aid appliance. *quickly get out of harm's way...
Originally posted by elindra:Haha my dream kitchen would be like the one my mum had at our old place where it is semi-open :P
I want a charcoal grill in my kitchen too :P and a giant hot plate as well!
I wanna be like Violet Oon - have an indoor as well as an outdoor kitchen! One of those outdoor brick ovens for making lovely pizza would be great for Club 30 feasts! And definitely, one of those kickass stainless steel BBQ stoves... needless to say, that's a must-have here!
I want one of those ranges where the center is a burner that's an elongated oval ... for a griddle plate to be placed over it! Yippeeee!!! I've always wanted to own a griddle of sorts! Good for roti prata, some Asian (in particular, Indian) food, and good ol' big and heavy breakfast!
Originally posted by Rhonda:I wanna be like Violet Oon - have an indoor as well as an outdoor kitchen! One of those outdoor brick ovens for making lovely pizza would be great for Club 30 feasts! And definitely, one of those kickass stainless steel BBQ stoves... needless to say, that's a must-have here!
I want one of those ranges where the center is a burner that's an elongated oval ... for a griddle plate to be placed over it! Yippeeee!!! I've always wanted to own a griddle of sorts! Good for roti prata, some Asian (in particular, Indian) food, and good ol' big and heavy breakfast!
Actually I want of this stainless steel roasters for the chinese style roast duck
You can't get the same effect in the ang mo style ovens
Ok I use my posh oven very often ok
This is my best investment
As for the kitchen aid. HOHOHOHO
We use the meat grinder function more than for baking ><"
For baking so far it's only for cookies during X'mas :P
I've been too lazy to try making meringues
You know, I watched Travel-Food documentaries and there was this show where they stepped into an old family house in China and there was a huge wok on a custom-made brick kinda stove where there was a huge round hole at the top for the wok to sit on, and the base of the wok rested on a gas stove. I think the fire generated had a large enough BTU for stir-frying the way it should be, and the wok was sitting securely and safely.
There's no modern-day equivalent to this, but if I had the $$, I'd love to design a stainless-steel version, and then manufacture it and sell! And to market and promote the product, do a food show where I head to the market to get fresh produce and all, then head back to cook impromptu on my wok and my appliance. And then print a cookbook with colour photos, and put up a website. Hehehehehe!!!
Dream on ...
Originally posted by elindra:Ok I use my posh oven very often ok
This is my best investment
As for the kitchen aid. HOHOHOHO
We use the meat grinder function more than for baking ><"
For baking so far it's only for cookies during X'mas :P
I've been too lazy to try making meringues
If you ever wanna make Pavlova's, I will point you to a recipe that's a guaranteed success and that's not too cloyingly sweet, according to those who have used the aforesaid recipe.
Originally posted by Rhonda:You know, I watched Travel-Food documentaries and there was this show where they stepped into an old family house in China and there was a huge wok on a custom-made brick kinda stove where there was a huge round hole at the top for the wok to sit on, and the base of the wok rested on a gas stove. I think the fire generated had a large enough BTU for stir-frying the way it should be, and the wok was sitting securely and safely.
There's no modern-day equivalent to this, but if I had the $$, I'd love to design a stainless-steel version, and then manufacture it and sell! And to market and promote the product, do a food show where I head to the market to get fresh produce and all, then head back to cook impromptu on my wok and my appliance. And then print a cookbook with colour photos, and put up a website. Hehehehehe!!!
Dream on ...
I saw the big wok on brick thingy in china....cos i homestay in one of those... food came out...yummy...
Actually I want of this stainless steel roasters for the chinese style roast duckYou can't get the same effect in the ang mo style ovens
They sell all manner of rotisseries here, but I think the best are those at the souvlavki places. It's so awesome to see the glistening meat with juice dripping onto the base... Mmmm....
Originally posted by Rhonda:If you ever wanna make Pavlova's, I will point you to a recipe that's a guaranteed success and that's not too cloyingly sweet, according to those who have used the aforesaid recipe.
Give me the recipe pls
i am going to make devil eggs this sunday...my lunch.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:I saw the big wok on brick thingy in china....cos i homestay in one of those... food came out...yummy...
Waaaah!! Got take photos or not?
Those are simple, but very practical and effective contraptions. With the large wok sitting snugly, you can toss the food around and ensure even cooking. Nice!
I'm proud of my wok... it has a nice dark sheen to it now, because I took proper care of it. It started as a cold, nondescript stainless steel wok, but now, it has 'guo1 qi4' and is my formidable tool in the kitchen for churning out my meals.
Someday, in the distant future, I will invest in a good set of pots and pans.
My kitchen is too small for all the equipment I want :(