Originally posted by the Bear:and you know the gabrament always want to "achieve" more than their target so i wager they're thinking 7 million
6.5 million?!? Holy sh...
Originally posted by stellazio:well that one, when there's demand, there's always supply! but the funny thing is how they enter the vice scene so easily..
i mean jaywalkers la
you thinking where?
Originally posted by Rhonda:Major cities all over the world face the same problem, but Singaporeans are still hung up on kpkb'ing over this inevitable issue.
I myself am an FT over here. I think the economic and social contributions I make far outweight whatever social issues I might have caused. Actually, I don't think I've caused ANY issues at all!
There was a candidate representing the BNP running for the position of Mayor of London who said he was going to rid London of its 1 million immgrants, but he came undone when the tabloids found out that he was two-timing with an immigrant himself. ![]()
Anyway, the same noises are also being made in other countries, but they come mainly from the right wingers. I find it hypocritical that people here should complain about FTs and think about shipping out at the same time - they're doing the same thing!
Originally posted by stellazio:of coruse there's a quota what.. since when doesn't schools have quotas?
quota liao... still kpkb
not everyone can go on to uni... and put it esp these days how education sector has devt... JC is no more the only route to uni
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
6.5 million?!? Holy sh...
Actually, 6.5 million minus one, because you're no longer part of the population! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:"Singapore does not target a specific population number or a population growth. What we are looking for is a viable and self-sustaining population profile — one which helps us to grow a bigger economic pie, and a livelier and more vibrant society," he said.
What a joke... in the end, the govt IS targeting a specific population no.!!
Joker!
It's Mabok Tongue after all - my dad's ex-classmate. ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:i mean jaywalkers la
you thinking where?
He confused 'jaywalkers' with 'streetwalkers'. ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:
quota liao... still kpkbnot everyone can go on to uni... and put it esp these days how education sector has devt... JC is no more the only route to uni
Competition will always be a way of life. You want something, you just have to work hard for it. Resources shall always be limited, so of course there will always be quotas.
I think Singaporeans should remember that very few things are 'birthrights'. You want something, you work hard for it. Don't ask the govt for handouts, and then complain on the other hand that Singapore is a nanny state. ![]()
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:It's Mabok Tongue after all - my dad's ex-classmate.
only know him cos he lost to Chiam See Tong
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:It's Mabok Tongue after all - my dad's ex-classmate.
He has truly tripped by his own tongue!
His rhetoric is so hilarious!
i mean jaywalkers layou thinking where?
you're right.. but then again jaywalking has always been a problem everywhere in the world..
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, 6.5 million minus one, because you're no longer part of the population!
The 10 FTs who replaced me, have my blessing! ![]()
By the way, Rhonda, are you taking any steps toward securing PR in Oz?
quota liao... still kpkbnot everyone can go on to uni... and put it esp these days how education sector has devt... JC is no more the only route to uni
all along it wasnt what..but the poly places has not increased much either.. for some courses it still has yet to.
Originally posted by Rhonda:"Singapore does not target a specific population number or a population growth. What we are looking for is a viable and self-sustaining population profile — one which helps us to grow a bigger economic pie, and a livelier and more vibrant society," he said.
What a joke... in the end, the govt IS targeting a specific population no.!!
Joker!
When I re-read this, I find it more and more amusing!
It's like self-denial! It's like saying, "I'm not counting the no. of plates of char kway teow I have eaten. I just need to know how many plates is a healthy quota and I'm only concerned with knowing the no. of plates I have eaten because of health reasons. But I'm not counting the no. of plates!"
Win liao lor! No matter how you say it, also must win lor! ![]()
i just want the gabrament to stop treating the foreigners better than the locals... where if both are equal in ability, the gabrament will treat the foreigner better..
heck! even if the foreigner is nowhere as good as the local, the gabrament will still give the foreigner more perks..
that's what the locals are pissed off with
Originally posted by stellazio:you're right.. but then again jaywalking has always been a problem everywhere in the world..
well, it wasn't as bad last time in Singapore
Originally posted by stellazio:all along it wasnt what..but the poly places has not increased much either.. for some courses it still has yet to.
for poly because it becomes more specialised
as for uni, maybe increase cos of coming 4th public funded uni and SMU
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
The 10 FTs who replaced me, have my blessing!
By the way, Rhonda, are you taking any steps toward securing PR in Oz?
Yup yup!! I almost wanted to go down on my knees and thank God when some living human FINALLY answered the call and I didn't get booted out of the queue and get automatically hung up on! ![]()
Everything's in order. Think by July or so, I should have my PR.
I'm thinking of postponing my Deakin course because the current batch says that their income drop by about 40-50% when they take up the course, because working hours are cut by lecture time.
I'm more concerned with assets acquisition at this stage. Either delay enrolling for an entire year to save up for the drop in income and to learn driving and maybe even, purchase a car first. And if property prices fall enough, get into the market quickly and secure my very own apartment and pay mortgage instead of rent. So... see how... too many variables at this stage.
So what are your plans now that you are a bona fide American? ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:i just want the gabrament to stop treating the foreigners better than the locals... where if both are equal in ability, the gabrament will treat the foreigner better..
heck! even if the foreigner is nowhere as good as the local, the gabrament will still give the foreigner more perks..
sometime back LHL says we got to live w/ outflow of local talents
i dunno
Originally posted by the Bear:i just want the gabrament to stop treating the foreigners better than the locals... where if both are equal in ability, the gabrament will treat the foreigner better..
yeah and not to mention the fact that all singaporean males have to sacrifice 2 years of their life to serve the nation, and yet the foreigners gets treated better then us?
sometime back LHL says we got to live w/ outflow of local talentsi dunno
Already, I see an alarming number of Singaporean nurses here in Melbourne. In my own hospital alone, I know of at least 20 other Singaporean nurses, and another 8 foreign nurses who have worked in Singapore hospitals before.
The way Singaporeans treat nurses, I won't be surprised if someday, you'll see more foreign nurses than local ones.
Originally posted by stellazio:yeah and not to mention the fact that all singaporean males have to sacrifice 2 years of their life to serve the nation, and yet the foreigners gets treated better then us?
Easy. Most of you have nowhere else to go to, even if you're pissed and unhappy.
FT's, they can uproot themselves and leave anytime, but Singapore needs them, therefore, you kinda have to appease them and keep them happy.
Or, on a level that most males would be able to understand, your wife has no choice but to tolerate your nonsense unless she wants a divorce, but you have to work hard to keep your mistress happy because she can leave you for another man anytime. ![]()
now SBS drivers really kena big prob
anything also kena booked... some of the things like passengers fall down also kena booked... but sometimes, you see the way passengers stand wun be surprised incidents would occur
Originally posted by Rhonda:Already, I see an alarming number of Singaporean nurses here in Melbourne. In my own hospital alone, I know of at least 20 other Singaporean nurses, and another 8 foreign nurses who have worked in Singapore hospitals before.
The way Singaporeans treat nurses, I won't be surprised if someday, you'll see more foreign nurses than local ones.
I wouldn't be surprised, especially if there are lots of dickwads out there like the one Ferret met today among both customers and management.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Easy. Most of you have nowhere else to go to, even if you're pissed and unhappy.
FT's, they can uproot themselves and leave anytime, but Singapore needs them, therefore, you kinda have to appease them and keep them happy.
Or, on a level that most males would be able to understand, your wife has no choice but to tolerate your nonsense unless she wants a divorce, but you have to work hard to keep your mistress happy because she can leave you for another man anytime.
ehh do we really need soo many of those foreign talents? i'm not referring to the foreign workers that are definitely essential.