and it pays better than pre-school teaching!!!
suppose 8am comes (they everyday late) and go home on the dot (4pm exact clock out).
it is pretty good pay for this kind of job...listen to music, pack cds (sometimes super busy sometimes very free).
and 2 of my boys recently kana sacked for being lazy ... ask them to do work..drag their feet and slowly siamed work..(cos they did nite part time job...and slept at midnight).
now they both wasted their jobs...!
i think if i ever find a part time job outside, i'll get paid better than the crap i'm getting now.
and WITHOUT the 24hr duties.
I think Singapore may be a developed country but when it comes to employee benefits and treatment of staff, the govt probably ranks only slightly better than China.
She can..mpb got $$$
Oh yeah hor... damnit... I also want a double-income household! ![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
suppose 8am comes (they everyday late) and go home on the dot (4pm exact clock out).
it is pretty good pay for this kind of job...listen to music, pack cds (sometimes super busy sometimes very free).
and 2 of my boys recently kana sacked for being lazy ... ask them to do work..drag their feet and slowly siamed work..(cos they did nite part time job...and slept at midnight).
now they both wasted their jobs...!
sounds like a nice job leh..do near brainless sai kang for short hours...still got ..I assume can get around 1.5k?
Originally posted by Rhonda:I think Singapore may be a developed country but when it comes to employee benefits and treatment of staff, the govt probably ranks only slightly better than China.
our gahmen wants to be competitive mah...so they do all they can to ensure employers that they will not be subject to the same laws that are usually present in developed countries
we're also one of the few countries on this planet with no unions!
nothing beats brainless when it comes to cabin crew.
those waiters / waitresses in the skies get more than a technically skilled person.
Originally posted by Rhonda:I remember donkey years ago, when I went to the wet market, one large fresh fish would cost anything from SGD8-15. Plus vegetables and stuff for another two dishes, all in would cost about SGD 30 or so. That's for two home-cooked meals for two... albeit large portions and everything's nice and fresh and 'the best'.
I think it IS possible to raise a family on that income, but I don't think elindra nor I can do it lor. It means having to forsake too many things that we've grown to love and be used to.
I remember going to marketing with mom and I'd ask her, "What vegetable / fish is this? How come we never had it before? " and she'll say "Cheap vegetables, only really poor families eat them."
I think she meant those living in rented HDB one-room apartments. It's quite sad because they really have to scrimp.
I don't think we can too
We only eat the expensive fishes like red garoupa at home before I got married and we are kinda fussy too :P
Heck we don't even eat pomfret >.<" (I know we're teochew but I HATE pomfret) unless it is deep fried and drenched in black vinegar coz pomfret has this 'unique' taste to it's flesh.
And somemore my mum will buy back stuff like lobster or giant prawns to cook one :x
So spoilt :x
Up till today I dunno how to appreciate fish like selar?? You know those you eat with nasi lemak
"As a true Christian, we must refrain from alcohol and caffeine and drink only plain water from the water cooler.Not only it's free and saves money, it's also eco-friendly.Fasting helps us overcome satan.Thanks for replying."
this is so damn funny
Originally posted by Rhonda:But think lor, if you take that huge pay cut, no more luxuries like L'Occitane and stuff. You can meh?
MPB buys L'Occitane stuff to use too lor
Of course can ma
He gave me 3 sub cards
though I have my own CC
Originally posted by av98m:sounds like a nice job leh..do near brainless sai kang for short hours...still got ..I assume can get around 1.5k?
the boys getting more than that leh..
Originally posted by kopiosatu:"As a true Christian, we must refrain from alcohol and caffeine and drink only plain water from the water cooler.Not only it's free and saves money, it's also eco-friendly.Fasting helps us overcome satan.Thanks for replying."
this is so damn funny
that guy is a troll but damned fun to prod
Originally posted by av98m:sounds like a nice job leh..do near brainless sai kang for short hours...still got ..I assume can get around 1.5k?
I dun mind this pay man enough to pay my bills and somemore got left over
wtf? so good!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by elindra:I don't think we can too
We only eat the expensive fishes like red garoupa at home before I got married and we are kinda fussy too :P
Heck we don't even eat pomfret >.<" (I know we're teochew but I HATE pomfret) unless it is deep fried and drenched in black vinegar coz pomfret has this 'unique' taste to it's flesh.
And somemore my mum will buy back stuff like lobster or giant prawns to cook one :x
So spoilt :x
Up till today I dunno how to appreciate fish like selar?? You know those you eat with nasi lemak
those fish.. just peel it can eat it le, but i never dare to buy those kind of fish... cos i'm e only one at home knowing how to eat it
actually my dad and mum last time most of e time steam fishes in Teochew style regularly...
oki...from today onwards, i will be good gal and save money.
money hard to earn...
I must be contented....70-200mm be good...i get u next month..
Whitley Road Detention Centre to Become Luxury Condos
Posted on Monday, June 09, 2008
Topic: Local News![]()
by Pak Cham Kai
As studio apartments continue to shrink in size, the Gahmen has decided
to repurpose the Whitley Road Detention Centre by converting it into a
luxury condominium.

“It
has come to our attention that property developers in Singapore are
churning out more and more studio tiny apartments that are less than
500 square feet in size,” said Hum Affairs Ministry spokeswoman Mdm
Rumah bte Kechil. “As we face an uncertain economy, we at the Ministry
thought it was prudent to try to maximize revenue while we can.”
Accordingly, the notorious Whitley Road Detention Centre, which once
housed former solicitor-general Francis Seow and more recently,
terrorist Mat Alamak until his dramatic escape from a toilet, will be
converted into high-end studio apartments.
“If people want to live in kichi cells, well, why not give them real
ones instead of faux ones?” explained Mdm Rumah. “Each ce… sorry,
sorry, studio apartment has very airy bathrooms with large windows, a
24 hour concierge manned by recently laid-off Gurkhas, and close
proximity to Orchard Road as well as fine educational institutions like
SJI, SCGS and the Old Police Academy.”
Mdm Rumah also dismissed the centre’s reputation as being a turn-off
for buyers. “We’re known for our strong air-con treatment, but with the
weather so bleddy hot nowadays, that’s exactly what people are looking
for.”
If the Whitley Road experiment goes well, said Mdm Rumah, the Gahmen
might consider repurposing Changi Prison too. “I mean, it’s a popular
site. Near to the sea and great eateries… and we also keep getting
repeat tenants, like Dr. Chee Don Juan.”
Meanwhile, home furnishings retailer Courts has reported a marked drop
in the number of customer complaints following the jail sentences
imposed on Dr Chee Don Juan and his sister Ms Chee Shiok Sial. "We
can't entirely explain it," said a spokesman. "But we think that after
wha'ppen to the Chees, people are scared they'll also kena for contempt
of Courts."
@@ If your workplace need to hire for that job I want @@
I don't mind dirty and dusty work
Heck I worked in a warehouse before on Jurong Island
Shoik man everyday wear old T-shirt and jeans to work
Wahahhahaa
i should be taking home 2+ to 3K
stupid organisation
Originally posted by sbst275:
those fish.. just peel it can eat it le, but i never dare to buy those kind of fish... cos i'm e only one at home knowing how to eat itactually my dad and mum last time most of e time steam fishes in Teochew style regularly...
No la I dun like the taste of it
my expats here getting "a lot" for take home...so my boss quite sayang the local staffs here... we dun get much increment, we get a reasonable good start for pay when we are once employed...
and time off (if we need to run home for emergency..)
Exposé: Civil Servants Training to Respond to Citizens' Complaints
Posted on Tuesday, June 10, 2008
Topic: Politics![]()
We bring you a secretly-taped video of civil serpents and gahmen officials undergoing training to learn how to deal with citizens' complaints and feedback on a range of topics from human rights demands, to calls for resignation after cockups, to the world's highest salaries...
This training session took place at the headquarters of Temasekshimaya
Holdings, which might explain the name that the participants are
chanting at the start of the video... Now you'll know why their
response to our feedback is all the same...
Click here to see!
Note: Someone has pointed out that this video may actually be of
Koreans, not Singaporeans. If that's the case, we apologize, though in
our defence, we must say it's easy to confuse countries which have so
much in common, like a secretive government, a tightly-controlled
media, a Great Leader who's succeeded by a Dear Leader, etc...
@@ If your workplace need to hire for that job I want @@I don't mind dirty and dusty work
Heck I worked in a warehouse before on Jurong Island
Shoik man everyday wear old T-shirt and jeans to work
Wahahhahaa
but i admire your job...can travel...i want..
wah lau eh...maybe I should just lead a simple and stress free life. quit my job and be a CD packer instead!
but i admire your job...can travel...i want..
Sibei tiring one la
I want a job now where I can go home early play WoW or watch TV
I dun ask for much in life