Originally posted by av98m:wah lau eh...maybe I should just lead a simple and stress free life. quit my job and be a CD packer instead!
I will fight with you for this job
It's much better than HM's job ok
Originally posted by av98m:wah lau eh...maybe I should just lead a simple and stress free life. quit my job and be a CD packer instead!
got to factor in the amount you spend on gluttony into the pay.. whether enough or not..
such are the sacrifices for being a professional glutton ![]()
our gahmen wants to be competitive mah...so they do all they can to ensure employers that they will not be subject to the same laws that are usually present in developed countries
we're also one of the few countries on this planet with no unions!
Got Unions! But tripartite, which is like WTF, for show only nia. ![]()
The nurses' union in Singapore, I didn't even bother to join because WTH you only benefit by getting some free stupid bag or something from them once a year.
Here, I joined the union very soon upon arrival because they provide legal advice and if *touch wood you become embroiled in a legal case, the union will provide lawyers for you.
The unions here are very active in negotiating work conditions, pay rises and all that. I've seen how powerful they can be.
A flip side - having powerful unions do affect productivity to some extent. The union for the PSA's here (equivalent to ah mah's in Singapore hospitals) are too powerful and the PSA's end up doing sooooo much less work and getting away with bloody murder.
Standards of cleanliness and thoroughness of work is bloody low, and worse, they skiive openly on the job. You can't exactly dismiss them easily because the union will be on your case.
All said, I still support unions because the nurses' union ensure that I get paid equitably (ie. extremely well) and that my working conditions will not end up overworking me and 'compromising patient safety'. I support! I support!! ![]()
Sibei tiring one laI want a job now where I can go home early play WoW or watch TV
I dun ask for much in life
oki...but i do appreciate my job... less stressful..and supposed to be energetic...but i din lose weight leh.
there's no union in the military ![]()
that is so f-ed up when they don't even protect their own men
Originally posted by the Bear:got to factor in the amount you spend on gluttony into the pay.. whether enough or not..
such are the sacrifices for being a professional glutton
must find rich wife!!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:there's no union in the military
got union, no union, same thing lah...
people are treated like chattel and thrown to the dogs..
Originally posted by kopiosatu:there's no union in the military
Kinda like the engineer union for SIA
The Union leaders kiss management ass and the engineers are seriously screwed from behind :(
Originally posted by kopiosatu:nothing beats brainless when it comes to cabin crew.
those waiters / waitresses in the skies get more than a technically skilled person.
If they consistently travel across time zones, it's actually bad for health, esp if it's for a prolonged period.
But yeah... the stewards and stewardesses aren't exactly highly-trained professionals. But I guess it's the upheavals the shift work and time zones inflict in their lives that they get paid for.
I did, at one stage, think of becoming an air paramedic but then, I realised how bloody OBESE some of the folks here can be and I think, my back is more important, thanks, but no thanks! ![]()
must find rich wife!!
if u find a rich wife, u dun even need to pack cd liao.
u only need to stay at home and listen to music whole day..![]()
Originally posted by elindra:Kinda like the engineer union for SIA
The Union leaders kiss management ass and the engineers are seriously screwed from behind :(
oh yes, i heard wonderful stories from my uncle ![]()
that's problem with having a union in SG.
no wonder they rated it one of the easiest places to do business because no one can go on a strike without feeling the after effects of the garmen
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
if u find a rich wife, u dun even need to pack cd liao.u only need to stay at home and listen to music whole day..
*dreams*
Really??? The last time when I was in Perth, most ppl were not very large
Originally posted by kopiosatu:oh yes, i heard wonderful stories from my uncle
no wonder they rated it one of the easiest places to do business because no one can go on a strike without feeling the after effects of the garmen
it's rated the easiest because the gabrament helps the corporations financially sodomise the people...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:oh yes, i heard wonderful stories from my uncle
I hear stories from MPB
The union for engineers really lousy la
They got no balls unlike the pilot union
Originally posted by Rhonda:
But yeah... the stewards and stewardesses aren't exactly highly-trained professionals. But I guess it's the upheavals the shift work and time zones inflict in their lives that they get paid for.
i don't get benefits from shift work and 24hr duties.
i really hate the organisation.
i also dislike stewardesses unless they prove to me they've got a brain.
I hear stories from MPBThe union for engineers really lousy la
They got no balls unlike the pilot union
well actually... the typical singaporean way of doing things is to punish the guy who complaints for the union.
which is wrong already.
the union brings an issue up, the company should resolve it and after that leave the union as it is.
the stupid SG mentality is, you give me problem... i take u away and put someone else there who can tickle me and make me laugh.
pilot union has balls but now they replace the top guy with someone who confirm has no balls so that they don't have to argue.
Originally posted by Rhonda:If they consistently travel across time zones, it's actually bad for health, esp if it's for a prolonged period.
I did, at one stage, think of becoming an air paramedic but then, I realised how bloody OBESE some of the folks here can be and I think, my back is more important, thanks, but no thanks!
i got a friend who is an air stewardess..
wake up wee morning must be trim and proper..
rush to airport at 4am/5am/6am...reach home 5pm -----midnight and sometimes next day....very very irregular...
the family members/kids/husband must adapt to their timing..
her timing @ work is so irregular... must be very discpline.... for the sake of the take home of $3K.
if for long haul flight, they have to leave 2-3 days..emergency may have problem to fly back to attend to family..
so..that's good...that's bad.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i don't get benefits from shift work and 24hr duties.
i really hate the organisation.
i also dislike stewardesses unless they prove to me they've got a brain.
Biangz... that's violating human rights! ![]()
The last time I took SIA, I got frightened when I saw the stewardesses... extremely heavy and unnatural make-up with hair piled up high-high machiam like how women did their hair in the '60's.
Then, when my family took an SIA flight to Perth, mom got horrified and exclaimed, "What the hell is wrong with the SIA girls? So ugly these days! They used to be prettier and classier but why is their makeup and hair so horrible these days?" ![]()
i got a friend who is an air stewardess..wake up wee morning must be trim and proper..
rush to airport at 4am/5am/6am...reach home 5pm -----midnight and sometimes next day....very very irregular...
her timing @ work is so irregular... must be very discpline.... for the sake of the take home of $3K.
if for long haul flight, they have to leave 2-3 days..emergency may have problem to fly back to attend to family..
Understood. That's why I say they are probably compensated richly for all these sacrifices they have to make.
It's easy to fall ill travelling so much too.
*dreams*
i got one encik who's family runs a fish farm
he comes to work and gets f-ed by everyone.
and he still gets his bonus for being incompetent.
he doesn't need to work and we dunno why he's making like difficult for us by doing nothing at work
i got a friend who is an air stewardess..wake up wee morning must be trim and proper..
i don't know my working timing until the day before leh
4am, 3am, 1pm, u name it... i get the timing.
24hr duty, 3am aircraft fly.
report at 8am, 9am activated.
i still don't see any compensation.
even my air steward friend shake his head when he hears about my hours... and the lack of pay
Originally posted by kopiosatu:well actually... the typical singaporean way of doing things is to punish the guy who complaints for the union.
which is wrong already.
the union brings an issue up, the company should resolve it and after that leave the union as it is.
the stupid SG mentality is, you give me problem... i take u away and put someone else there who can tickle me and make me laugh.
pilot union has balls but now they replace the top guy with someone who confirm has no balls so that they don't have to argue.
You know, when I first arrived here, the Union was trying to champion for something in the workplace and the hospitals had to charter buses to ferry the nurses who wanted to participate in the union rally in the stadium!
That is so unheard of, to me! I mean, the hospital PAYS for hiring buses to bring nurses who want to participate to the stadium to join the rally to fight for better working conditions which they ultimately have to foot the bill for! ![]()
I asked a colleague who took me under her wing... I asked, "Cheryl, will we get in trouble for participating? Will we be blackmarked?" (typical Singaporean question, right?)
Cheryl laughed and said, "No, dear! You are in Australia now. It's a democracy. No one can give you problems for joining Union activities. If they do, complain to the Union and they will take action!" (Cheryl herself came from Sri Lanka decades ago).
Waaaaaah!!
Power!! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Understood. That's why I say they are probably compensated richly for all these sacrifices they have to make.
It's easy to fall ill travelling so much too.
yeah..
she told me she kana a lot of the old timers when she just got in.. "bully culture". she endured.
next...she kana lip dry, sick...etc.....and have to get moisturing her skin cos it cracks easily at the cabin.