Originally posted by kopiosatu:i don't know my working timing until the day before leh
4am, 3am, 1pm, u name it... i get the timing.
24hr duty, 3am aircraft fly.
report at 8am, 9am activated.
i still don't see any compensation.
even my air steward friend shake his head when he hears about my hours... and the lack of pay
Biang!! That's really shitty working conditions!! ![]()
Unions... tsk tsk. causing american airlines to go bust. ![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i don't know my working timing until the day before leh
4am, 3am, 1pm, u name it... i get the timing.
24hr duty, 3am aircraft fly.
report at 8am, 9am activated.
i still don't see any compensation.
even my air steward friend shake his head when he hears about my hours... and the lack of pay
oki..poor kopi..
u really sound like "budget" crew liao.
Originally posted by the Bear:got to factor in the amount you spend on gluttony into the pay.. whether enough or not..
such are the sacrifices for being a professional glutton
yah hor..u probably eat more than u earn leh...
so...*strike off waiting list for warehouse job for av*
if i didn't flip table (which will last till end of this week)
you can ask me "what time are you working tomorrow? what time do u finish?"
i can't answer at all because i really don't know.
at my workplace they used to tell us "don't plan anything until u step out of the workplace at the end of your shift"
the only thing u can plan is your day off, your leave, your courses.
even the official "morale boosting" rubbish like going for trips have 50% chance of cancelling. its like we're looking forward to NOT working and we get news we still have to work on the day before.
and with NDP... its total nonsense. $1.6K. 
Hi missy rhonda, how are you?! *hugs*
One of my sisters just had a baby.... a boy!!! Yay.... I have now got a niece and a nephew.... :-D
How's thing with you?
oh wait, they can call u back during your day offs too.
KNN.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
yeah..she told me she kana a lot of the old timers when she just got in.. "bully culture". she endured.
next...she kana lip dry, sick...etc.....and have to get moisturing her skin cos it cracks easily at the cabin.
Yeah, they do have to face a lot of crap. Don't forget the difficult passengers too.
In fact, I think shift workers AND those who have to deal with the public, ought to be compensated. Hell, it can be torturous dealing with unreasonably demanding members of the public sometimes.
Bully culture? It's rampant in nursing too. In fact, BEFORE I even stepped into my ward, apparently, the unit's SNM went around boasting that there's going to be a new nurse joining the ward who was the top student, went to Johns Hopkins, blah blah... NO WONDER when I turned up on my first day at work, there were hostile looks cast my way and snide, sarcastic, mak-neknek remarks like, "Oh! SO... you are the new nurse here, right?" *looks down at me from an upturned nose...
I got bullied a lot because of that. TMD... not even my fault!!
I'm just thankful that nursing wasn't my first job because I learnt how to be a royal bitch and I fought back like one, but of course, after tolerating until I couldn't bear it. Somehow, when the new batch of students enter the ward, they turned their attention on the new batch. I fought to defend a few of them against the seniors who wanted to make life difficult for the newbies and again, I kena fire. But like one Senior nurse yelled in exasperation, "Yeah lah! Yeah lah! Your English damn powerful, none of us can out-talk you one!"
That kinda environment, even your 'friends' are just enemies that you can tahan more.
And on top of all that hostility and bullying, we have to face *(#)$(&*@#$ KNS patients and their relatives.
AND get paid shit at the end of the month.
Now that I realise how good life is for nurses here, I'm never returning to work! NEVER.
kopiosatu working as steward?

people get upset when I say the only way to make employees happy is by paying them more or giving them less work
Originally posted by Rhonda:Biang!! That's really shitty working conditions!!
i have to be there 4hrs before the aircraft flies.
if it flies at 7am, i gotta be there at 3am.
if it flies at 1pm, i'll be there at 9am.
flight programs are planned the night before.
unlikes SIA, they get the flight schedule one month before hand (no horse run)
and their standbys (not their day off, they just MIGHT have to work if people take MC), they just wait to be activated (at home) which i think isn't much to ask.
people get upset when I say the only way to make employees happy is by paying them more or giving them less work
precisely, i wouldn't be bitching so much if i was paid well.
one of the pilots said "now go brunei for one month, allowance is only $600-700 right? and no one wants to go."
"but if i give you $3000... ok that's too much, $2000, will u go?"
personally for me, hell yeah i'll go.
Originally posted by honeymouse:Hi missy rhonda, how are you?! *hugs*
One of my sisters just had a baby.... a boy!!! Yay.... I have now got a niece and a nephew.... :-D
How's thing with you?
Congrats! ![]()
I'm having my 2nd day off. Waiting for delivery of my printer. I'm supposed to start studying too. ![]()
How are you? How's your mousehubby and Dr Evil? ![]()
I'm off Sat and Sun this week too!
From now on, I will have about seven days off in a fortnight. ![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i have to be there 4hrs before the aircraft flies.
if it flies at 7am, i gotta be there at 3am.
if it flies at 1pm, i'll be there at 9am.
flight programs are planned the night before.
unlikes SIA, they get the flight schedule one month before hand (no horse run)
and their standbys (not their day off, they just MIGHT have to work if people take MC), they just wait to be activated (at home) which i think isn't much to ask.
kopi, if you can find the same type of job here, you'll be compensated for all these inconveniences until your nose bleeds from laughing too much!
and yet, when it comes to making ministers happy, only one method works, according to our leaders..... which is to pay them more money!!
Originally posted by wonderamazement:kopiosatu working as steward?
my jogging kaki is.
he's so free to call me all the time to go jogging.
when i come back late from work and i'm sleeping, he wakes me up to go jogging.
he wants to go out at night, i end up calling him at 1am/2am and tell him "eh i just finished work"
we calculated his schedule and he concluded that he works slightly more than half a year and he gets alot more money than me.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Yeah, they do have to face a lot of crap. Don't forget the difficult passengers too.
In fact, I think shift workers AND those who have to deal with the public, ought to be compensated. Hell, it can be torturous dealing with unreasonably demanding members of the public sometimes.
Bully culture? It's rampant in nursing too. In fact, BEFORE I even stepped into my ward, apparently, the unit's SNM went around boasting that there's going to be a new nurse joining the ward who was the top student, went to Johns Hopkins, blah blah... NO WONDER when I turned up on my first day at work, there were hostile looks cast my way and snide, sarcastic, mak-neknek remarks like, "Oh! SO... you are the new nurse here, right?" *looks down at me from an upturned nose...
I got bullied a lot because of that. TMD... not even my fault!!
I'm just thankful that nursing wasn't my first job because I learnt how to be a royal bitch and I fought back like one, but of course, after tolerating until I couldn't bear it. Somehow, when the new batch of students enter the ward, they turned their attention on the new batch. I fought to defend a few of them against the seniors who wanted to make life difficult for the newbies and again, I kena fire. But like one Senior nurse yelled in exasperation, "Yeah lah! Yeah lah! Your English damn powerful, none of us can out-talk you one!"
That kinda environment, even your 'friends' are just enemies that you can tahan more.
And on top of all that hostility and bullying, we have to face *(#)$(&*@#$ KNS patients and their relatives.
AND get paid shit at the end of the month.
Now that I realise how good life is for nurses here, I'm never returning to work! NEVER.
yah...that's what happening everywhere...especially in organisation...
some pple just cant take the truth ..... ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:
kopi, if you can find the same type of job here, you'll be compensated for all these inconveniences until your nose bleeds from laughing too much!
bah~
i'll just endure till april 09 if the stupid manpower section sits on their "policy" excuse to NOT release me earlier.
give me a day off, don't fly, don't let me hear the damn aircraft.
morale confirm high.
somehow they think that National Education trips will make us happy.
yeah, the second half of the day where we OTOT
I had the privilege of working in an American MNC that was run mainly by the Americans themselves and they brought over American-style work benefits for all of us. That was my first taste of how good life CAN be and should be and I think the seed of migration was planted back then. ![]()
I liked how they acknowledged that the majority of us go to work because we have to, not because we want to. They also recognised the fact that we all have lives outside work, and therefore they were extremely flexible in a lot of areas. We got to choose our working hours and we weren't expected to work overtime and if we projected an increase in work activities, we could request for temporary staff. In the end, we did OT anyways, but we were happy doing it, cause the bosses practised empowerment and basically, after they entrust a task to you, they left you to it to get things accomplished and meet the goals without breathing down your back, unless you proved to be inefficient.
THAT is the way working life is meant to be, not work you dry of your blood, and then pay you so little it's outrageous and then expect you to put your entire life on hold for the organisation. ![]()
grrrrr... the boss is effing idiotic..
knn, meeting dunno how to close door in meeting room.. then voice damned grating macam fingernails down chalkboard.. and getting louder and louder ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:and yet, when it comes to making ministers happy, only one method works, according to our leaders..... which is to pay them more money!!
There are some things done here which is unfair too, but the difference is this, here, we can write, talk about it openly, and even go on TV and complain about the ministers, no one will get jailed.
In the end, things may or may not change, but you feel a bit happier knowing that your grievance has been heard and that there are many others out there who have aired their grievances too and so sooner or later, change just might happen. Even if it doesn't, you feel a bit 'sorng' about it, cause you are not repressed and it's not a thinly-disguised socialist state.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Congrats!
I'm having my 2nd day off. Waiting for delivery of my printer. I'm supposed to start studying too.
How are you? How's your mousehubby and Dr Evil?
I'm off Sat and Sun this week too!
From now on, I will have about seven days off in a fortnight.
Hey, since you're not working on the weekend, do you want to come up on Sunday? The new Eastlink is having an open day this sunday (before officially open to traffic on 29/6) for people to walk through the tunnel. It will be fun to be able to walk along the new road....
Originally posted by the Bear:grrrrr... the boss is effing idiotic..
knn, meeting dunno how to close door in meeting room.. then voice damned grating macam fingernails down chalkboard.. and getting louder and louder
This has happened to me before. Just walk up, say, "Excuse me, may I shut the door please?"
Easy-peasy.