Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I take my hat off to your mum for not giving in to them.
Hohoho she has to slowly explain to them why she believes I'm doing the right thing :P
That's something I don't have which is my mum's patience
Originally posted by Rhonda:Ferret, don't let it get to you lah. Even my Hokkien-speaking traditional ah mah can be convinced to leave me alone. Just be a bit braver and brazen. Hehehe!
thanks ... sometimes its just a little hard to explain myself to others...
Hohoho she has to slowly explain to them why she believes I'm doing the right thing :PThat's something I don't have which is my mum's patience
Better though than most of the alternatives that come with a lack of patience. ![]()
My nan's already got a great-grandchild through my older cousin, and she doesn't nag at us to get partners, but to "open your eyes" before falling in love.
Yeah and forcing your child to get married or pressurizing them is not necessary for the best at all
*&$%#
later i got to go do some looking around IMM for some things needed at work ![]()
why the hell is it that the stupidity of the boss has to be cleared up by me?? ![]()
Originally posted by elindra:Yeah and forcing your child to get married or pressurizing them is not necessary for the best at all
that's not what the older generation are thinking...
haiz.. my mum is nagging at me too..
Sooo funny! Just on TV, a man in Northern Queensland was taking a pee out in the bush when an angry snake shot out and bit him right in his buddy!
The TV interviewer asked if he and his buddy is alright and he said it's been 'tried and tested' and it's recovered. ![]()
To parents.. their "job" is only complete when they are raised their kids properly, the kids get proper education, got a career, get married and start a family.. ![]()
Originally posted by bluejuice:that's not what the older generation are thinking...
haiz.. my mum is nagging at me too..
hur hur hur
same boat. but u probably get more nagging than me. >.<"
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:You? Redneck? You're too open-minded to become one.
Well, living here, it's not surprising if I do become one. A lot of trends and what-not you guys talk about, I'm no longer privy to. ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:*&$%#
later i got to go do some looking around IMM for some things needed at work
why the hell is it that the stupidity of the boss has to be cleared up by me??
getting a shovel or a hammer? ![]()
Originally posted by Ferret:
hur hur hur
same boat. but u probably get more nagging than me. >.<"
hanor.. i getting old liao mah..
mum's worried that i will not get married..
nb....my supplier called 15 mins ago and ask if i am still at the office..."coming up now" he said.
so i thought he was at the carpark downstair...
it's 5pm...where the hell is he!
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Better though than most of the alternatives that come with a lack of patience.
My nan's already got a great-grandchild through my older cousin, and she doesn't nag at us to get partners, but to "open your eyes" before falling in love.
You know, too many old grandma's here, when they ask me if I'm married and I say, 'single', they all go something like "Good / Smart Girl! Stay single! Marriage is over-rated!"
Originally posted by Rhonda:
Well, living here, it's not surprising if I do become one. A lot of trends and what-not you guys talk about, I'm no longer privy to.
Stay in touch with us then, but even if you don't, I doubt you'd sink to their self-absorbed ways. ![]()
Originally posted by bluejuice:hanor.. i getting old liao mah..
my parents have given up asking me....
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
my parents have given up asking me....
good leh.. i hope my mum stops asking soon..
Originally posted by bluejuice:hanor.. i getting old liao mah..
would u settle... for anything less just to be married ?
Originally posted by bluejuice:To parents.. their "job" is only complete when they are raised their kids properly, the kids get proper education, got a career, get married and start a family..
I thought the cycle is complete when their children can survive on their own. As it is, some married people can't even do that and always need a crutch.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Stay in touch with us then, but even if you don't, I doubt you'd sink to their self-absorbed ways.
Guess why I still think the big-city American men are more attractive than Aussie men? ![]()
I only like those Aussie men who are very well-travelled and humble enough to acknowledge that their country is screwed up in certain ways. That shows wisdom that transcends race and pride. ![]()
For me my dad is starting to nag about playing with his grandchild
So far nothing from my mum yet
KB, you know, the only truly open-minded people here who will get into an intellectual debate with me are other well-educated migrants. The Aussies here don't find it fun to discuss issues. They do, however, find it fun to go to pubs and get pissed drunk.
I have not had an intellectually-stimulating conversation the way I could have with you guys, esp with elindra, av and Bear since I got here. ![]()
U have the forums but yeah it's different from talking
And I sux at speaking on the phone coz it reminds me of work :x
Originally posted by elindra:For me my dad is starting to nag about playing with his grandchild
So far nothing from my mum yet
You know, speaking of moms and dads, my mom was complaining to me the other night over the phone that dad is machiam acting 'strange' and overly sensitive. She wanted to go to my brother's place to play with baby niece the other week, and dad wanted to go, but decided 'not to interrupt them' and 'be a burden'.
Mom said alamak, just a casual visit also over-sensitise the whole issue! ![]()
I guess that's where my own defective genes come from! ![]()